Bright Horizons Family Solutions Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Bright Horizons Family Solutions Chief Executive Officer Stephen Kramer (no image)
Stephen Kramer
169 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Like all companies, achieving work-life balance works some days better than others but much better than other companies I have worked for in my past(in 49 reviews)

  • "Long hours, support and no work perks(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing location to work at with great family like staff"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Coconut Creek, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and family like staff. Bosses who stood up for you and made sure you were treated fairly and kindly by parents. Accommodating and understanding of personal situations. Raise every year on one year anniversary. Very diverse and accepting of all cultures.

    Cons

    Some days are long hours when too many teachers are out. Lunch breaks aren’t on a exact schedule it’s based on when someone can come sit in your class and relieve you.

    Continue reading
    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2019-04-30

    Bright Horizons Family Solutions Response

    August 20, 2019Human Resources Business Partner, Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience working at Bright Horizons. We definitely think that this is a great place to work and are so glad to know you experienced our HEART principles at work. Our goal is to make Bright Horizons feel like family to our employees so it is especially wonderful to hear that you felt at home and supported by your colleagues and leaders. Thank you for your contributions toward making Bright Horizons such a special place for our children, families and colleagues.

  2. "Professional Development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Strong professional development for your career path.

    Cons

    Something else, I enjoyed working at BH.

    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-05-27
  3. "Great environment"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bright Horizons Family Solutions part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Welcoming supervisor that genuinely cares for your thoughts and input

    Cons

    I didn’t have any negative experiences with my employment

    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-05-12
  4. "Excellent company to be employed with."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Teacher in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The company is focused and organized on the growth of children and staff.

    Cons

    No centers are located in Hawaii

    Continue reading
    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-05-09
  5. "Illusion of caring, red tape wrapped around the entire company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The ability to occasionally work from home, free food sometimes, business trips once or twice a year

    Cons

    Micromanagement, low pay, zero work/life balance, after hours work constantly, corrupt management, subpar technology, an aversion to change. Red Tape is a major problem here. A task that could be completed by one person requires input from 4-5 different departments and no one wants to take ownership of a problem.

    Continue reading
    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-05-21
  6. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time

    Pros

    Admin provides a great deal of freedom to teachers.

    Cons

    Staffing was tight at times.

    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-05-05
  7. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, flexibility, focus on diversity and inclusion

    Cons

    Pay scale due to industry

    Continue reading
    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-05-05
  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef 

    I worked at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time

    Pros

    great focus on working with the development of the kids and at tentative to their employers through their many benefits opportunities.

    Cons

    Low pay, but competitive for preschools.

    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-04-24
  9. "overall excellent company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Twos Teacher in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    caring, quality of early childhood education, interesting clientelle

    Cons

    difficult to take care of any personal needs while on duty

    Continue reading
    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-04-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Declining commitment to organizational value system and overall execution within senior management team"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bright Horizons Family Solutions full-time

    Pros

    There are some very wonderful and committed people in this organization who sincerely and actively mentor, coach and develop others. Great career potential and development programs at junior to mid levels.

    Cons

    Unfortunate hesitancy at highest level of leadership to respond to critical business problems, practice the value system that is preached and promoted and engage with authenticity and caring. As a function of this, the career growth/learning that is fostered at the junior and mid levels does not translate into more senior roles. There is substantial change in these positions and not particularly equal treatment of employees.

    Bright Horizons Family Solutions2020-04-30
Found 1524 reviews