Cover image for BrightStar Care
Logo

BrightStar Care

Engaged Employer

BrightStar Care

Add a Review

BrightStar Care Reviews

Updated Dec 1, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 984 of over 1K reviews
3.8
72% Recommend to a Friend
BrightStar Care CEO Shelly Sun
82% Approve of CEO

Found 984 of over 1K reviews

3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
BrightStar Care CEO Shelly Sun
Shelly Sun
373 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

84.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=BrightStar Care~570588
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The staff is great and they try very hard to keep you as busy as you would like.(in 56 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours and no minimum hours needed a week.(in 42 reviews)
  • "the owner and office mgr are both great people and the feel is like working amongst friends in the office.(in 38 reviews)
  • "Easy and flexible scheduling.(in 37 reviews)
  • "There was a good Flexible schedule(in 30 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay and house cleaner role(in 68 reviews)
  • "No benefits to speak of despite mentioning offering them but not following through(in 59 reviews)
  • "Management is poor.(in 34 reviews)
  • "Poor communication and not proactive.(in 20 reviews)
  • "there is absolutly no training for caregivers alot of people dont even know how to put a bed pan under people.(in 16 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of BrightStar Care and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company!

    Oct 31, 2022 - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA in Saint Simons, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Home care setting with one patient.

    Cons

    Boring and slow at times.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Low Key job for experiences nurses

    Oct 30, 2022 - Infusion Registered Nurse in Milford, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly and supportive leadership/ office. Provides bag/ scrub tops/ couple work gatherings/ year. Otherwise communication via phone or email and you just completely handle your clients on your own. I personally love the autonomy. This job is also considerably less stressful than my regular Hospital nursing job.

    Cons

    Like working for any small business it can be hard to keep good workers. Have had trouble getting my clients visits covered if I'm going away for any reason or sick. You also don't get a ton of training in the beginning you have to have some prior experience and the ability to learning on your own as you go. The money is decent but not amazing especially when you take into account the cost of gas these days in the amount of driving you're going to do.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the BrightStar Care team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Okay company

    Nov 13, 2022 - Certified Nursing Assistant CNA 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked for brightstar for 7 years. I loved it at first. They gave me good clients and the hours I wanted. I was working 48 hours a week UNTIL I mentioned that I was pregnant. As soon as they found out they completely stopped giving me work, I would ask over and over for work and they wouldn’t give me any for months. I let it go but they could have got in serious trouble for that and they finally gave me a couple shifts but nothing permanent and I ended up doing a no call no show which I admit I was wrong and shouldn’t have done. It’s been 5 years and I want to re apply but they won’t hire me. Just be aware if you get pregnant don’t tell them until your ready to not work anymore.

    Cons

    They have Flexible work schedules

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Nursing work

    Dec 1, 2022 - Licensed Vocational Nurse (LVN) in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overtime cases for work available

    Cons

    Sometimes you have to drive far for work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great

    Dec 1, 2022 - Registered Nurse in Lenexa, KS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very open and nice company

    Cons

    The new management can be a little tough

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Fills the gap

    Nov 20, 2022 - Healthcare Worker in North Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Regular pay and it is timely

    Cons

    Must create your own work life balance

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Be Warned

    Nov 9, 2022 - CHHA 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to meet the sweetest elderly people. Or people who need service.

    Cons

    The thing I didn't like was not consistent with the same employers. They change frequently. And I will stress out 1 Important thing. READ THE APPLICATION WELL. ESPECIALLY THE CERIFATION OF EMPLOYMENT. Or any of it. Apparently you can't contact the brightstar clients after you quit. I didn't get fired. But as I read through mine it clearly doesn't say after you quit that you can't check on them. Just can't take them as a client yourself.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Opportunities for Growth

    Nov 10, 2022 - Recruiter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Autonomy - Resume Builder - WFH options - Teamwork

    Cons

    - Communication could be better

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome

    Oct 28, 2022 - Human Resources in Rancho Santa Fe, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work Great health care benefits

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about BrightStar Care

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Clientele

    Oct 20, 2022 - Caregiver in Bloomfield Hills, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company makes sure everything that you need for your client was always provided. Communication was always available whenever needed.

    Cons

    When the clientele is low, then hours get cut.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 984 Reviews
</>Embed

BrightStar Care Reviews FAQs

BrightStar Care has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 1,078 reviews left anonymously by employees. 72% of employees would recommend working at BrightStar Care to a friend and 62% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, BrightStar Care employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at BrightStar Care. This rating has decreased by -6% over the last 12 months.

72% of BrightStar Care employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated BrightStar Care 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at BrightStar Care to be career development, work life balance, coworkers and the cons to be management, culture, benefits.

Popular Careers with BrightStar Care Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at BrightStar Care? Share Your Experiences

BrightStar Care logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

BrightStar Care Photos

+ Add Photo
BrightStar Care photo of: Stephanie Fradette, BSN, RN-BC, CCRN
BrightStar Care photo of: Kay Madlingozi, CHHA 2021 Northeast Caregiver of the Year
BrightStar Care photo of: Employee of the Month Office Lunch
BrightStar Care photo of: Bright star
BrightStar Care photo of: Office Staff
BrightStar Care photo of: Halloween Costume Competition for office and field staff
BrightStar Care photo of: Bright Star
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

BrightStar Care Job Seekers Also Viewed

Likewize Logo
Likewize

3.0

839 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,078 BrightStar Care reviews submitted anonymously by BrightStar Care employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if BrightStar Care is right for you.