BrightTALK Reviews | Glassdoor

BrightTALK Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
BrightTALK CEO Paul Heald (no image)
Paul Heald
29 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Great company and product, with even better people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone here is intelligent and believes in collaborating to make an impact. The culture and values are great, and everyone really adheres to them. There has been focus directed toward creating more transparency around development/growth potential, which is fantastic.

    Cons

    Haven't really seen any "Cons". We don't get free lunch? (but we get plenty of healthy snacks and have a free gym in the building)

    Advice to Management

    We are at an important juncture in time for the company, so as products/services mature and change, so do teams and expectations of people. It will be important for Leadership to maintain awareness around individuals or teams being stretched thin. It happens with any growing organization, or as companies mature, so we must make sure we do what we can to maintain a high level of productivity and employee... engagement/happiness.

    Show More
    BrightTALK2019-04-26

    BrightTALK Response

    May 15, 2019Vice President, People Operations

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the company! We really appreciate your perspective and are excited to hear that our culture reinforces our values. For company values to be impactful, the entire business has to believe in them - and we are really proud of them! ...

    Show More
  2. "Great Company - Learn how to become a real solution based seller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    BrightTALK is a company where you truly learn what it means to be a solution based seller. Early on in my career at BrightTALK, I had your typical sales struggles and learning the product suite does take a little time. BrightTALK never wavered in their belief in me and is a key reason I am successful now. I've been at other sales organizations, but I have never felt so empowered and motivated to succeed than I am at... BrightTALK. If you take ownership of your day to day, you will be successful at BrightTALK. Plus, the office culture in Denver is second to none!

    Show More

    Cons

    Not really much to put down as cons. As a sales professional, you deal with the same "stresses" you would anywhere else. Sales isn't for everyone, but if you work hard, are willing to learn and grow, this is the place for you!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work and culture you are developing in Denver!

    BrightTALK2019-09-04
  3. "The culture makes it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is extremely nice, helpful, and collaborative. No one is ever too busy to help you or ask questions. The feedback given is always very constructive so you know your path to improvement. They are very open to improve and take your input seriously and make adjustments very quickly. Great culture, people, and product!

    Cons

    None, I would say anything you surface with management gets heard and addressed.

    BrightTALK2019-08-30
  4. "Great place to work & collaborate with all parts of the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Executive, Growth in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked at several large companies before coming to BrightTALK, and I have to say, this place really brings the collaboration to life. Everyone on the sales team is helpful when it comes to advice, working on deals together, or just being a listening ear, both peers and management. Across different parts of the business, everyone is willing to get involved with client questions or closing business including... the finance, communities team, events team, customer success, and even the product team. All teams are willing to extend a hand when you ask. Lots of good snacks in the office too, on occasion we overbook ourselves, and it is nice to know that there are always ingredients to make a sandwich or bagel sandwich if needed, or just snack until you have time to grab food. Several offices located in NY, Denver, SF, & London.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are no puppies allowed in the office, also difficult to work with co-workers in the UK (this could be a timezone thing).

    BrightTALK2019-08-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Weird vibes..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BrightTALK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Centrally located in FiDi Decent food options around (no free lunches here) Nice office equipment Few nice folks To be honest, I’m reaching for pros

    Cons

    This place has a weird vibe. I wasn’t expecting a dynamic, fun office... but this is just dreadful. No on cleans after themselves because nightly housekeeping comes in and as a result, there are flies that congregate around the sink. People here seem tired and spaced out half the time. In sales, prepare to be here for 12 hours with some of the lowest pay in the industry. Prepare to be embarrassingly reprimanded in... front of your peers if your question is deemed elementary. Head numbing and soul crushing.

    Show More
    BrightTALK2019-07-30
  6. "Great environment to learn and be challenged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Sales Executive in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are very supportive and collaborative. There is constant opportunity to learn and grow in your role if you initiate that interest. The Denver office is a smaller group than the SF headquarters but very collaborative and great working environment. The general feeling is that the company wants each individual to succeed and they have a process in place to help you do so. You will be surrounded by people who... take initiative. The product is strong and well received by the client base. The company is alway thinking about what is next in terms of product development.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are someone who needs a lot of guidance and do not like a challenge to figure things out and become independent in your role, you may not feel this is the perfect fit.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the good work you have started.

    BrightTALK2019-07-03
  7. "A great place to be successful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Individual Contributor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    BrightTALK is a great place to work for people who are ambitious and driven. You don't have to wait for the job above yours to open up to move forward, new roles get created so that successful people can be promoted into new responsibilities. The company is very committed to having a positive culture and workplace and it's reflected in the people you work with every day.

    Cons

    People who want to coast in their jobs should look elsewhere.

    BrightTALK2019-07-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity to grow with the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Outstanding blue chip customer base and a platform that's adding real value to the world by giving professionals free access to educational presentations by the world's top companies and experts. If you're the kind of person that wants to learn and grow with a company, apply now. There's opportunity to develop new skills and move up quickly.

    Cons

    Working at BrightTALK means you're building a brand and its products and services. That means coming to work every day ready to solve problems, build new processes and create opportunities. That level of ownership isn't for everyone and hiring the right people, especially for entry level positions, can be a challenge.

    BrightTALK2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Best place to learn and manage your own business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working for the company for close to 7 months now and have learned a lot about how B2B sales and companies operate. The greatest things about BrightTALK is that they help you not only learn but enhance the skills that you have acquired in another layer of depth. As well, you get what you out of the role from what you put in. It has taught me about time management and drive to continue to find my... own success. The office culture helps greatly with this and the people are a joy to be around.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only cons that I would have about the job would be the normal ones of waking up early to work. But the culture in the office wakes me up right away after coming in.

    BrightTALK2019-06-25
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Apply with Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BrightTALK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of ownership opportunities. Flexible working "to a point". Nice offices.

    Cons

    Lack of transparency. The executives say there are clear ways to develop, but it is obvious they only want to promote and assist their clique within BrightTALK. The career development program is failing all the entry-level employees and only serves the people who've managed to escape. The culture in the various offices varies, but overall the company is toxic, lacks diversity, and isn't innovating at all. The... SF office is hyper cliquey, very exclusive, and tend to shun people who don't fit the normal "BrightTALKer" persona. The Denver office is great people wise, but there is no visibility and communication with the other opffices. Thus the promotion and development paths are hindered and the same people are always at the top while the rest struggle to hit targets. The NY office is so siloed and separate it's hard to say what they're like. The London office is also siloed and very removed from the rest of the company. There is no collaboration between any of the offices and it hardly feels like their your colleagues, mostly just feel like a competition and a who can cut as many throats to get to the top. The SDR role at BrightTALK encompasses much more than your typical SDR role. You take on many tasks that normally would fall under marketing ops, content marketing, social media, event management/planning, account management, customer relationships, and more...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop your internal talents and stop holding people back from exploring new positions. The "merit" based promotions are failing and are driving good people away from the company. The current culture is toxic and will end up purging BrightTALK of all the people who want to cultivate new ideas, push new products,a and develop your customer's experience.

    BrightTALK2019-06-24
Found 39 reviews