Brightcove Reviews | Glassdoor

Brightcove Reviews

Updated December 6, 2017
99 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Andrew Feinberg
6 Ratings

99 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Great benefits and work-life balance (in 10 reviews)

  • The flexibility to work from home when needed is key and the main reason why I love my job (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • We have a solid benefits package overall and I was thrilled to get company stock but I wish there was a higher 401K match (in 6 reviews)

  • Unfortunately some of the major issues plaguing Brightcove started at the top with inconsistent decision making and lack of accountability (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (4)

    "Technical Support Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time

    Pros

    Amazing work culture, people are very nice and smart. Great benefits and work-life balance.

    Cons

    No cons at this time!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing it's great .

    Brightcove Response

    Nov 29, 2017

    Thank you for your wonderful review! We work hard to keep this great culture alive and it is great to hear that you are experiencing it this way!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "The shine wears off eventually"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Support Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Rotating beers on tap, lots of snacks, frequent parties. Gorgeous office, great location. Made some great friends there.

    Cons

    The young, fun culture is just a facade that hides the crumbling shell of a workplace underneath. The hours are long and the benefits are nonexistant. No 401k match and the stock is in the toilet. Management is unprofessional and borderline abusive at times, treating employees like misbehaving children.

    The company is in a downward spiral, and to save money they've been laying off people who have been there long enough to make a decent salary. The people they do hire are typically fresh out of college and underpaid. Turnover is very high. Teams are understaffed and overworked. Career growth dead-ends quickly, one promotion until there's nowhere else to go within the team.

    Advice to Management

    Reassess who is and is not qualified for management or VP roles. There are certain people who have no business managing large teams, and certainly not qualified for managing multiple large teams.

  3. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance. Untracked vacation time which allows people to take the time they need to live their lives and a management team that is onboard with this. Constantly changing environment with new challenges ensures you will never be bored. Overall, good people who genuinely want to work together. Management is good at hiring people who fit the culture.

    Cons

    There is not always room for advancement in your department forcing a move to different departments or companies. Many complicated products to know makes it difficult to be sufficiently up to speed on everything.

    Advice to Management

    Get more low fee index funds in that 401k.

    Brightcove Response

    Nov 29, 2017

    Thank you for your review. Internal mobility continues to be a top priority for the HR team and management. We will keep your feedback in mind in regards to mobility within the department. I've... More


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Culture, awesome location in Boston and vacation benefits. Very nice people to work with and a lot of work flexibility.

    Cons

    I don't really have anything con. I might say that the stocks usually vary a lot, but I don't think this is a problem.

    Brightcove Response

    Nov 29, 2017

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts here - it means a lot to both the current team and anyone considering Brightcove in the future.


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The best and brightest people I've ever met.

    Cons

    Market pressures can be challenging.

    Brightcove Response

    Nov 29, 2017

    I agree that we have a great team. Thank you for providing feedback!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "GREAT COMPANY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great office culture and the people are awesome

    Cons

    Keep up the good work, No cons!

    Advice to Management

    Great leadership and continue to help us grow. Much appreciated.

    Brightcove Response

    Nov 29, 2017

    Thank you for your positive review! We definitely agree that the culture and people are awesome!


  7. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Strong company culture with great people across the organization. The company really cares about its people.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything specific.

    Brightcove Response

    Nov 29, 2017

    Thanks for your thoughtful review and sharing your experience. I hope we continue to live up to your expectations for the next 5 years!

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    This is such a great place to work. I have been here for a few years and have seen the company grow with new products and more people, I think I joined at an exciting time. We make really cool products, have the best clients in the business, and have fun while we get it done. The culture is great, I feel lucky to work with such great people - my team and the other departments are awesome. We do fun things like the ping pong tournaments and poker nights, we just got cold brew on tap, and we get to dress casual and just be trusted to work hard and do our jobs.

    We just had a CEO change and I am hoping that the change keeps the culture the same but with more transparency and helps us continue to grow. The new CEO is already from Brightcove, knows our business and has a great track record for success so I think this is going to continue to be a great company to be at - and I am betting on it becoming even better. He has big shoes to fill, but if anyone can do it, this is the guy.

    Cons

    We have a solid benefits package overall and I was thrilled to get company stock but I wish there was a higher 401K match.

    Advice to Management

    Keep sharing with us, transparency and communication is something all employees want. Partner with the new CEO, he is well positioned to help us all succeed, let's give him what he needs.

    Brightcove Response

    Nov 29, 2017

    Thank you for your review. Hopefully, some of the new initiatives around Townhall meetings, video comms, etc help to increase transparency across the globe.


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Don't expect to grow your career here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time

    Pros

    + nice office / location
    + good at promoting themselves in local press

    Cons

    - new leadership doesn't know what they're doing and overly focused on political moves
    - have just promoted two sales execs who haven't made their numbers in years
    - have not grown significantly in the last 4-5 years
    - they claim to be "nice" but that's just a veneer for back-stabbing politics
    - they consistently underpay
    - few women in senior leadership roles
    - no work-life balance
    - no career development

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of Andy Feinberg and Neil Lieberman - worthless and over-rated. Stop promoting execs who haven't made their numbers for multiple years in a row.

    Brightcove Response

    Sep 11, 2017

    Ouch. I’m sorry to hear that your experience at Brightcove has not been pleasant. We strive to create an environment where everyone has the opportunity to grow his or her careers, paychecks, skill... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The engineering group is comprised of really smart and really nice people. Good benefits package.

    Cons

    Hard to think of. Mostly that employees sometimes forget how good they have it.

    Brightcove Response

    Nov 29, 2017

    Thank you for the wonderful review. As a fellow member of the 10 year club, I know what a great team we have too :)


Showing 99 of 111 reviews
Reset Filters