Brightcove Reviews | Glassdoor

Brightcove Reviews

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Brightcove CEO Jeff Ray (no image)
Jeff Ray
24 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People. There is not one person who is not willing to assist each other. The culture here is really special. - Leadership. The new leadership team has a clear vision and has put together a very detailed plan to execute on their goals. - Flexibility. Hours are flexible and management is very lenient with PTO, extended holidays etc. Great work life balance. - Challenging. Brightcove is a place that challenges you to be your best daily. Management does well in acknowledging successes and is quick to help reps work through the lulls by any means. - Plan for promotions. Prior to new management, there was never a clear path to promotion. Now employees have a clear idea of what that path is and how to get there.

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Brightcove2019-06-24

    Brightcove Response

    July 17, 2019SVP, HR

    Thank you for sharing this perspective from the sales team. We are building something special and from culture to career paths, I hope your experiences here continue to get better each year.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Brightcove"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time

    Pros

    Brightcove has opportunity within the video space. Work life balance

    Cons

    There aren't too many cons

    Brightcove2019-06-27
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Great Things Are Happening Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brightcove is the leading video platform in the space and the newer management is proving this internally and externally. The company is dedicated to staying at the top of the OVP space and is smartly investing in products and team members. The organization has gone through a lot of change over the past 24 months, but that is to be expected in growing from 250-500 employees. People are motivated, closing deals, and working together in unison. Keep up the good work - happy to be here.

    Cons

    We have come a long way, embrace the change.

    Continue reading
    Brightcove2019-06-04

    Brightcove Response

    June 10, 2019SVP, HR

    Thanks for taking your time to share your thoughts on the on the changes, growth and incredibly rich market opportunity for Brightcove! I'm glad you're sharing this chapter with us. Katie

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Worst of both worlds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support Engineer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The Boston office is in a good location, with a lot of "tech startup" amenities (tons of snacks, cold brew/beer on tap, etc).

    Cons

    Brightcove is a company that for a long time has been trying to transition from a fun, startup-y culture and modus operandi into a Real Business that makes Real Money and now they are finally on the path to do so. Here are some of the biggest changes they've made: - almost total replacement of core leadership, swapping out people with a vision for the future of video technology for sociopaths who have a vision of giant piles of money and not much else - large portions of the Customer Experience (support, onboarding, etc) division are now outsourced (with more to follow) - HR team has substituted the "first grade teacher voice" in for actual compassion and understanding (the same tone they use to reply to any negative Glassdoor reviews) - large scale layoffs Brightcove has exchanged their fun welcoming atmosphere for the trappings of a Very Corporate Corporation, while maintaining all of the negative parts of startup culture (poor work-life balance, low pay, benefits are average at best)

    Continue reading
    Brightcove2019-07-19
  5. Helpful (21)

    "Is it really moving in the right direction?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove full-time

    Pros

    Brightcove is in an interesting, fast moving tech space. The balance is tipping towards video and the tech behind it is really innovative. There is lots of opportunity to be at the forefront and do the leadership.

    Cons

    Companies evolve, often for the better, sometimes for the worse. Unfortunately, in this case for the later. The slogan "we hire smart and nice people" that the company has used and still uses is misleading, because the smart and nice people that were hired over the last couple years either got laid off or quit (and we are talking 100+ people here). There is a tremendous gap of technical knowledge in the dev org and it shows. (When was the last time something innovative was released in terms of features? Or, when was even the last release?) The CPO has no experience in the online video space, which results in the implementation of a lot of processes, but very little forward vision. The customer event, PLAY, this year was a total bust, mostly due to the fact the new CMO has no vision and uses a playbook that may have worked at the large organizations she was at previously. Lack of knowledge in the video space runs rampant in the marketing org, where all female senior leadership over 40 was laid off (and yes, it was replaced with cronies or consultants). Only one original VP in the org is left (and most likely because he is the only person who knows anything about the Media landscape). Below the CMO are a couple VPs and then you have no middle management, but a crowd of young and inexperienced marketers. Historical intelligence into the space and customer base has become completely eroded, and the org strives on high school behavior, such as back channeling, bullying, backstabbing, gossiping. Jeff Ray, the CEO, was brought in to shake things up and so he did. If the goal is to sell the company at all cost, i.e. technical or human, he is probably succeeding. However, the company should be honest about it and stop touting its non-existing innovations or its company "culture". A couple more notes on culture. Culture currently means fear of getting laid off. This fear is prevalent in each organization throughout the company. People look over their shoulder twice and do what their boss wants instead of what is best for the company. The HR function does not nothing but attend meetings to lay people off, and then gets promoted because they did the dirty works. If you are looking for an innovative tech start up, there are better ones to chose from in Boston. Brightcove is not one of them.

    Brightcove2019-07-11

    Brightcove Response

    July 17, 2019SVP, HR

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am truly sorry to hear that you feel this way, and I hope that since moving on from Brightcove you have found a place that better suits you and your career aspirations. Brightcove is growing rapidly, and scaling the business requires new ideas, new backgrounds and new processes to achieve record growth. We have hired incredible people at all levels into the organization who are bringing new, fresh, innovative perspectives and best in class knowledge to the company, as well as many "Brightcove Boomerangs" who have brought their careers and new skills back to Brightcove to help us continue to grow. The entire leadership team is confident that these Brightcove employees who are “smart, nice, and can get things done” will achieve the breakout growth that we, our customers, and the market expect. If you want to see for yourself, I personally invite you to join us at our PLAY user conference next Spring to see what we are up to and hear from our current employees and customers why they chose Brightcove. We are proud to host the industry’s largest event focused on streaming video, PLAY and it will grow even more next year. I hope that you take the opportunity to revisit us with a fresh perspective from the other side.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Good Opportunities But in Need of More Diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture that encourages innovation and ownership of work. Great support for flexible schedules/work-life balance - they believe in their people and trust them to get the job done. Good health insurance benefits.

    Cons

    More women and minorities in senior leadership, please

    Brightcove2019-05-08
  7. Helpful (13)

    "Don't Waste Your Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good coworkers, good location.

    Cons

    What's happening is beyond a shame. The current leadership took a fun company and totally drove it into the ground. Employees are just a number, and are at the mercy of management's flavor-of-the-month roadmap priorities. Diversity is almost nonexistent, including no women in product and almost none in engineering. This has been a serious issue for years and will be for the foreseeable future, no matter how many women's events HR hosts, or how many tobacco-chewing men they invite to speak at them. It's beyond embarrassing. Morale is in the toilet and turnover continues to cripple almost every team, especially Applications and Data. Both teams are managed by the same incompetent leaders, which is not a coincidence. When a team loses half a dozen people over the course of two months, including an entire front-end team, you'd think management would take notice and question the leadership of that team. Not here.

    Continue reading
    Brightcove2019-05-14
  8. Helpful (18)

    "It's a real shame what is happening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people - very talented - great location - cool product - market potential for growth

    Cons

    I truly loved working at Brightcove, but the new leadership team, especially the CPO lacks humanity. They do not care that they are killing the culture and driving people away at a record pace. Once talent leaves, they are hard to replace. This leadership does not care. It becomes more and more corporate every day.

    Continue reading
    Brightcove2019-03-12

    Brightcove Response

    March 13, 2019SVP, HR

    I am so sorry to read this -lacking passion for where you spend your day sounds like a day not well spent. I understand that the changes on which we have embarked may not be for everyone - if we can help you figure out what that looks like for you, my door is open and I would welcome a collaborative conversation and additional feedback or insights we may not be considering. Katie

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Changing for the better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There has been constant change since I joined Brightcove, however, it is all for the best. The new CEO and executive team have a clear vision for the future and path to success which they are transparent about it with employees. There is no guessing what our focus is anymore, we are one (global) team that is focused on delivering the best for our customers. Marketing has seen the biggest change. There are no more favorites, everyone is treated with respect and opinions are valued. The silos have been removed and the team is working together better than it ever has and that is largely due to our new CMO. All marketing departments (product, revenue, & comms) reporting into one leader has made us more efficient with less frustration. The VPs have been invaluable in setting expectations and ushering their teams through the reorg with a positive attitude. While its not perfect (yet), it is above and beyond what it was 6 months ago, and still trending in the right direction.

    Cons

    With any big reorg there are still a lot of moving pieces and work to be done but the right team and people are in place to make this successful for everyone at the company.

    Continue reading
    Brightcove2019-03-05

    Brightcove Response

    March 13, 2019SVP, HR

    We really appreciate this feedback and the investment you are evidently making in helping to contribute to growing Brightcove to the next level! I hope you feel the investments we are making in this amazing company are benefiting you and making you proud to work here. It is a journey and we are fortunate to have you with us on the path. Katie

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Impressive leadership team and overall good people

    Cons

    Majority of company Boston based - need more distributed employee base

    Continue reading
    Brightcove2019-01-16

    Brightcove Response

    March 13, 2019SVP, HR

    Thank you for sharing this feedback and it is great to hear that you feel positively about the leadership team in place. Our people are the best in the business! Our offices outside of Boston are critical to our success and our growth strategy, so appreciate you raising that as well. Katie

    Continue reading
Found 140 reviews