Brightcove Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Brightcove Sales Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Brightcove CEO Jeff Ray (no image)
Jeff Ray
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great sales org with huge opportunity for people who want to step up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Leader in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The absolute leader in video platforms for media companies and enterprises. Everyone is very friendly, execs can be engaged easily, and everyone wants to help. There has been new senior leadership brought in who is doing a great job of positioning the company for big revenue growth. The CRO is making big progress in creating a sales-driven culture and a world-class sales team.

    Cons

    There has been a lot of transition. If you aren't comfortable with change and the need to figure some stuff out on your own, this may not be the place for you. A lot of the leaders are new and looking to the employees to make big decisions and provide feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. The new leadership team and all of the managers and reps they have brought in will capitalize on our product leadership and the explosive growth in the video streaming space.

    Brightcove2019-08-22
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - People. There is not one person who is not willing to assist each other. The culture here is really special. - Leadership. The new leadership team has a clear vision and has put together a very detailed plan to execute on their goals. - Flexibility. Hours are flexible and management is very lenient with PTO, extended holidays etc. Great work life balance. - Challenging. Brightcove is a place that challenges... you to be your best daily. Management does well in acknowledging successes and is quick to help reps work through the lulls by any means. - Plan for promotions. Prior to new management, there was never a clear path to promotion. Now employees have a clear idea of what that path is and how to get there.

    Show More

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Brightcove2019-06-24

    Brightcove Response

    July 17, 2019SVP, HR

    Thank you for sharing this perspective from the sales team. We are building something special and from culture to career paths, I hope your experiences here continue to get better each year.

  3. "Sales Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Sales Operations in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove for less than a year

    Pros

    Committed workforce Terrific management solid values and ideals

    Cons

    Not enough market recognition

    Brightcove2018-12-13
  4. Helpful (6)

    "SDR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Management genuinely wants the entire team to succeed - I learn more about technology and how to become better at sales every day - I have a career path at Brightcove and a company I want to grow with - The positivity in the SDR department is infectious, and it makes me excited to come in every day

    Cons

    - I honestly don't have any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for being so flexible, understanding, motivating and positive. By far the best management I've ever had in my career.

    Brightcove2018-01-26

    Brightcove Response

    March 22, 2018SVP, HR

    That's awesome - I'm glad your experience is off to a great start and I hope you continue to learn, grow and succeed throughout your tenure!

  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Sales Operations Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove for less than a year

    Pros

    Very bubbly atmosphere; good balance of youth and experience

    Cons

    At times too much fun

    Advice to Management

    I loved my time at BC. Although I believe it could have been more challenging.

    Brightcove2017-12-02
  6. Helpful (5)

    "GREAT COMPANY!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office culture and the people are awesome

    Cons

    Keep up the good work, No cons!

    Advice to Management

    Great leadership and continue to help us grow. Much appreciated.

    Brightcove2017-08-25

    Brightcove Response

    November 29, 2017

    Thank you for your positive review! We definitely agree that the culture and people are awesome!

  7. Helpful (4)

    "Brightcove is fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture, people are friendly although not always the best

    Cons

    Turnover is a serious issue

    Advice to Management

    Work on retention and better expectations wrt bonus

    Brightcove2017-02-03

    Brightcove Response

    March 9, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. We strive very hard to maintain a culture that attracts and retains world-class employees. Like most post IPO companies, we did experience a changing of the guards that impacted our employee retention Our team's top priority is employee retention-- through a variety of programs and our leadership team we are happy to say that our retention rate is now well below industry. All the best.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brightcove part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company has great culture. Fun place to work.

    Cons

    Business model can be improved.

    Brightcove2015-12-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "loved working for this innovative tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good strategic direction unlimited vacation decent pay room for growth for employees achieving their quota sales training +++

    Cons

    cultural change after IPO in 2012 very competitive and saturated market to compete in inside sales requires very high volume of calls/emails

    Brightcove2014-08-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great leadership, competitive industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brightcove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The leader in a very competitive field, although Youtube is always lurking as a disruptor. Leadership that has done it all before, is honest, meritocratic, and makes tough decisions. The company will take care of you if you work hard and are willing to ask for what you want. Great office in downtown Boston. The CEO is very hands on. Everyone is happy to come to work and there are employees who have been there for... a long tme.

    Show More

    Cons

    They have let some bad hires stick around for too long. The company could use a more aggressive R&D focus, to build products that can allow it to kick into the next phase of growth.

    Brightcove2014-02-17
Found 14 reviews