Brightedge Technologies Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 334 of over 338 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Brightedge Technologies Founder & CEO Jim Yu
Jim Yu
244 Ratings
Pros
  • "there is a clear path to promotion if you hit your numbers - you can go from SDR to AE in a year which is unheard in the Bay Area(in 19 reviews)

  • "Yeah it is hard work at Brightedge, but I get paid more money than any of my friends and I never have to worry about buying a drink again(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work-life balance is less than sub-par(in 27 reviews)

  • "One of BrightEdge's core values is "Today", which results in upper management constantly micromanaging your work when they are free to do so(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to learn, grow, and accelerate your career

      Apr 20, 2021 - Senior Sales Manager in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth opportunities--clear promotion paths in New Logos with lots of opportunities for advancement. Support--company invests a lot into training and enablement opportunities through regularly scheduled team training sessions, a dedicated enablement and operations team, and a best in class technology stack. The product -- far superior to anything else on the market, which is a dream to sell. Supporting teams within the organization (finance, legal) are accommodating and helpful. Company invests in over the top events (team dinners, sales kickoffs, President's Club.) But best thing about BrightEdge hands down is the people--with how much BrightEdge stretches us it creates a really close bond with the team and a group of people that I'm constantly inspired by, proud to support, and look forward to seeing each day.

      Cons

      Sometimes priorities, administrative workflows, and focus areas can shift quickly without vetting the true impact on the org. Top down communication can sometimes flow through the wrong channels and there isn't always transparency into process changes or the reasoning behind them.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Do Not Take a Job Here

      Jun 11, 2021 - Client Facing Role 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some people here who actually want to help you succeed. They are not in leadership. Pay isn't horrible compared to the industry

      Cons

      If you ever want a good example of how not to lead, BrightEdge would make a fantastic example. The Executive level would be a HR Department's nightmare if they actually paid attention. Clients talk about their immature and drunken behavior and it has gotten to the point where they have been kicked out of venues. The Execs are running the same tired plays both internally and externally thinking that it actually makes a difference. Competitors have gained on or passed BrightEdge in terms of function vs. cost. People are blamed for any type of negative client feedback or attrition vs. looking at the lack of innovation or strength in industry. Within the offices, certain teams are enabled to treat others in the organization like garbage. Office Managers have quit due to the staff's behavior and lack of accountability. I guess this may be their internal career growth plan. Thankfully everyone was remote and didn't have to deal with the behavior in person. People continue to leave BrightEdge week in and week out without so much of a care. Exit interviews go nowhere in terms of improvement and change in behavior. Sure, they say they care about staff but ultimately nothing is done outside of a shallow one-off effort that everyone in the organization identified as fake. Competitors even highlight how poor the culture is here comparatively.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Toxic Environment- Terrible Leaders - Unethical Sales Practices

      Jun 4, 2021 - Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the people I met and worked with were fantastic, but miserable in everything that had to do with BrightEdge

      Cons

      Terrible leadership from the top down. Micromanagement of every process, yet no process is ever improved. If you enjoy selling a product that has not been updated in years, yet is still priced the highest in the market, this is the place for you. If you enjoy being subjected to countless meetings... about meetings...for meetings that are coming up...this is the place for you. If you enjoy building PPT slides over and over again, only to be told they aren't good enough, this is the place for you. If you want to work for executive leadership that is not capable of speaking with a client without several hours of prep work and a script of exactly what to say...this is the place for you. If you like making up prices and embellishing ROI and results, this is the place for you. If you like badgering clients until they submit or fire you...this is the place for you. If you are a client or potential client reading this...DO NOT do business with BrightEdge. they will tell you anything and make up any price to win business, and then forget about you immediately after you sign the agreement.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Never ending barrier to success

      May 21, 2021 - Recruiter in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My co workers were awesome and we learned a lot together through all the challenges and roadblocks we had.

      Cons

      Never ending barriers to being successful. We had no leadership the majority of the time and for most of the team this was the first post-grad job (where leadership is necessary for obvious reasons). Dealt with a lot of barriers and rules with no direction on how to navigate them. Extremely unrealistic expectations. We were given metrics to hit that came out of absolutely no where and were not based off of previous performance-no one came close to hitting the goals. Severely underpaid-doesn’t even come close to comparing to most lateral moves. Even as a high performer, there was very little opportunity for growth and it was a slow movement. Absolutely no transparency. False promises on promotions, leadership, and opportunities. I was at the point where recruiting another person to work at BrightEdge felt morally unethical due to the lack of “success” past hires were having. Would 100% never recommend any friend to any role with this company. Complete waste of time.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good product and good money

      Apr 15, 2021 - Senior Account Executive in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The compensation model is very strong and I make more than nearly all my other AE friends at other companies. The product is solid and most of the time the prospects will say they are super impressed, but it is the most expensive option in the space. I also had (and continue to have) a ton of help from my manager when I first joined to help me learn the industry as I was new to SEO and selling to marketers. I do feel like they do a good job of providing solid sales training and development and my manager was actually and SDR, then an AE and now a sales manager so I know the company really values career progression for their employees.

      Cons

      The lead generation program is not always fair as some SDRs favor some AEs over others.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Lots of opportunity!

      Oct 15, 2020 - Account Executive in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been with BrightEdge for about two years and recently was promoted to an Account Executive a few months ago. I surpassed my goal as an AE each month and the money that goes along with that has been very substantial. LOVE the product and I really like selling to marketing teams. It's not an easy sale but BrightEdge has a great AE enablement program and your sales manager truly supports you right out the gate to help you close deals. I simply don't agree with most of the bad reviews posted by previous SDRs and AEs. No doubt the SDR job is a grind, but I went into it knowing that and choose BrightEdge because of the growth potential they outlined when I started. In less than two years out of college I am an AE with a quickly growing Saas company and I am on target to make more than triple what most of my friends I graduated with are going to make this year. My manager was an SDR just three and half years ago, then an AE and now leads an entire team. Long story short, if you work hard here and use the training they give you, your going to make money and get promoted.

      Cons

      All SDR work is tough work. No one really loves cold calling and that's the core part of this job. That said, the light at the end of the tunnel is 100% worth it. Lots and lots and lots of change in this company which can sometimes feel overwhelming as well.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Challenging Company where I learned a lot and propelled my career

      Feb 12, 2021 - Head of Talent Acquisition in San Mateo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very smart management team that pushed staff to do more with less. This led to developing some great problems solving skills. Equally, got staff to think of their role support the business as a whole. As a result, helped me start my own business when I left. Quite a few have this same story.

      Cons

      Hired great people but often put them into roles not on par with career growth...at least initially. Led to lots of turnover and hurt morale.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Sure its hard, but we are in sales!!!!

      Mar 2, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Before you take any role or even before you interview for sure take look at reviews, speak to the recruiter and spk to anyone that is/has been in the role. But be aware, that a lot of people add comments/reviews when things haven't gone well and guess what they always blame the company/their manager and sometimes maybe they should look at themselves. Not all the time but there are lots of occasions.. Sales is tough period! The SDR role is the toughest role within sales period! If you want the opportunity to earn six figures within 24 months you sure have to work hard , you have to sacrifice, you have to go above & beyond. I earn more money than most of my friends, yeah i work longer hours but i get paid more and i can do more things. THIS IS SALES! Brightedge is pretty tough, you are accountable to achieve numbers, you are pushed but it is all to make you best and prepare you to be the best AE so you can earn money. Have they done things wrong? For sure who hasnt? But the training, on-boarding , enablement and on-going support is pretty darn good. People have left Brightedge and returned, and others who have been through the process here talk about how it has set them up in other roles and their new employees are blown away by our process. People that leave will call up and say how did Brightedge on-board, what was their for this or that. If you are reading this and want an easy ride, if you want to finish at 5pm, if you dont want to work hard, if you dont want to be better and you are not 100% sure sales is right for you then this is not the right place - But if you want to earn a ton of money, willing to put the hours in, willing to understand that you are going to fail but be better then this is the place for you!!!

      Cons

      It is tough, a lot is expected of you from early on which can be hard to deal with especially me when i started straight out of college. Need to bring back more fun stuff/free lunches/happy hours and i wish they would recognize everyone rather than just the best of the best. Lots of young leaders which can be positive and negative ...

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Place to Start a Sales Career

      Apr 28, 2021 - Sales Representative in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growing company and great training and fun SDR teams

      Cons

      hard work and very long hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      LOL

      Jun 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You meet (some) good people.

      Cons

      LOL - way too many for me to type out.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 334 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Brightedge Technologies Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Brightedge Technologies? Share Your Experiences

    Brightedge Technologies logo
    or