Brighton House Associates Reviews | Glassdoor

Brighton House Associates Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Brighton House Associates Founder & CEO Daniel McDermott (no image)
Daniel McDermott
19 Ratings
  1. "All-in-all, a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraising Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brighton House Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had to relocate to a different state otherwise wouldn't have left. Was very happy.

    Cons

    None. Both co-workers and clients were great

    Brighton House Associates2019-07-24
  2. "Summer Associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Private Equity Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brighton House Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot about Private Equity market

    Cons

    Small firm, less structure and support systems

    Advice to Management

    Use more systems to make information easier to manage

    Brighton House Associates2019-08-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent experience and opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PE Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brighton House Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome place to work and learn, plenty of room for growth. The positive and professional environment was super helpful. The combination of considerate management, always respectful towards employees and pretty much open-door policy even on the busiest of days will definitely be hard to find elsewhere.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Brighton House Associates2019-07-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Analyst 

    I worked at Brighton House Associates full-time

    Pros

    Good team and knowledgeable CEO.

    Cons

    Heavy work load. For me, it was challenging in the aspect of work/life balance.

    Brighton House Associates2019-07-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "pretty much the worst company of all time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brighton House Associates full-time

    Pros

    i think i could make it in jail now

    Cons

    where do i begin?

    Advice to Management

    get real

    Brighton House Associates2018-02-27
  6. "Positive Experience at Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brighton House Associates

    Pros

    Friendly environment, great first job experience

    Cons

    Management seems overwhelmed at times

    Brighton House Associates2017-05-28
  7. "Research Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brighton House Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good experience working with great people

    Cons

    Not many cons to mention

    Brighton House Associates2017-02-08
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Questionable Management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brighton House Associates full-time

    Pros

    Start up experience if you are looking to get financial experience.

    Cons

    No organization or structure. People are regularly fired and the company executives admit the company might not be around for another year.

    Advice to Management

    Close up shop

    Brighton House Associates2017-01-04
  9. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brighton House Associates

    Pros

    Good people to work with, most are very motivated and make working there pretty fun. The CEO is a nice guy that enjoys talking to people. its a pretty good learning environment where you can sit in on meetings and ask anybody anything about the industry.

    Cons

    very tedious work involving a ton of pouring over databases, cleaning up salesforce, and cold calling investors.

    Advice to Management

    nothing much to say, other than the tedious nature of intern work it was very enjoyable working there.

    Brighton House Associates2016-11-27
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Dont fall for it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Brighton House Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office location, young employees.

    Cons

    Simply put, the business model has failed, they engage in very dishonest hiring practices, and over promise on what you will earn. Basically I was told one thing to get me in the door/hired and once in, I realized that it was the complete opposite. The company has struggled for many years, has had very high turnover, and has deemed it as "growing pains" for a "growing young company". Problem is- the company is 10... years old and has not grown at all-it is not a young company anymore, it is a failing, sinking ship with a delusional management team. Do not fall for this company- they have promised a lot, not delivered, and ruined young peoples careers.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close the business, re org the business model, or fire the CEO. From what I witnessed, the CEO changes his mind daily, changes the business model monthly, and changes employees annually to "start over". Close the doors and figure out what you want to do and stop testing out a failed business model, lying to your clients and employees, and start over. Also- several sales meetings a week are non productive and... unhealthy.

    Show More
    Brighton House Associates2016-09-14
Found 32 reviews