Brighton Jones LLC Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 of over 31 reviews

4.8
94%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Brighton Jones LLC Co-CEOs and Co-Founders Charles Brighton and Jon Jones (no image)
Charles Brighton and Jon Jones
24 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years
    Featured Review

    Amazing place to work, grow and become your best self!

    Jul 30, 2020 - Operations Team Member in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brighton Jones has some of the most amazing people I have ever met or worked with. This team is all about helping others - whether our clients, colleagues or people in our community. Growth opportunities are everywhere given how collaborative we are, how much we want to accomplish together, and the passion we share for helping more people find happiness. There hasn't been a day that has gone by where I haven't learned something new, felt the care from a team member, or felt the impact I am making in this organization. We are a team that wants to be the thought leader in our industry and we do things differently because we believe it is a better way to serve our clients. We work hard, learn a lot, form amazing relationships, and have amazing experiences together. I feel so lucky to be a part of this amazing team!

    Cons

    Because we have been growing so quickly, we have to stay nimble, adapt and flex with the growth. If you don't like change, you won't like it here. We've been around for 20 years but still feel innovative and fresh like a start-up operates. We're always looking to be better and to do that, you are always assessing, evaluating, pivoting as necessary and coming up with the next strategic action plan. We work hard because we are all very passionate about the work we do and work doesn't feel like work as it becomes a natural extension of who we are.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Brighton Jones LLC Response

    Director of Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback! We continue to prioritize our goals and objectives based on feedback from all who will share it. Keep using your voice!

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great team and great experience

    Oct 13, 2020 - Tax Senior Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You'll be able to have a diverse range of work with some of the nicest people around.

    Cons

    Long hours and management can sometimes be tone-deaf.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    May 31, 2020 - Associate Advisor - Senior Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    1. Culture. Culture. Culture. It's the best. 2. Leadership is very open with all employees. No hesitation to discuss the opportunities and risks that the company faces. 3. You are given the opportunity to problem solve and if you find a better way to do something, you will be supported in taking that on. 4. The company is growing quickly. Lots of opportunity for employees to take on new responsibilities and build their own role.

    Cons

    1. While growth is a great thing, it does cause changes in the company. Management has been really good at managing these changes but will continue to need to monitor how current employees are adapting.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Brighton Jones LLC Response

    Director of Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're continuing to focus on our change management as we continue to grow and scale rapidly. Keep your feedback coming!

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A never-ending marathon (with free alcohol handouts along the way)...

    Jul 14, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I'll preface by stating that this company pushed me to my limits (both +/-): challenging my work, my relationships, my approach to solutioning, my values, my personality, my dedication, my health (esp. mental), my intolerance toward BS, etc. I learned a lot about myself at BJ, and while I am now in a better opportunity outside of BJ, I do credit and am in gratitude for much of what BJ taught me. Hands down, the people are the biggest perk to life at BJ. The People Team does an incredible job at hiring smart, funny, caring, and dedicated individuals who are willing and eager to give their all. If it's not the camaraderie experienced working late nights alongside your peers while cranking out reports and deliverables, it'll be the compassion you'll feel for one another as you joke over the fact that your babysitter gets paid more than you when calculating the number of hours worked every week. You realize, that instead of a well-deserved raise or bonus, your "bonus" goes toward the free-flowing booze in BJ's secret Mezz (speakeasy). That could be a perk to you: if the idea of a work drinking culture and the occasional social events are up your alley. But alas, that was all pre-COVID times. The sense of #oneteam aka camaraderie is strong because everyone is trying to commit to an insane work schedule and prove their self-worth in a business with an established pecking order with set "Ivy League" working/quality standards. It's stressful and chaotic the majority of the time, but yes, you'll make some life-long friends here, no doubt. So pros= friends, booze, and acquiring the strongest work ethic ever.

    Cons

    If you've worked at BJ for a year or less, you'll experience your worklife through the most supreme rose-colored glasses. Everything and everyone is AWESOME. I caution jobseekers from reading GlassDoor reviews from BJ employees with noted employment under a year of work history for that reason. From a year onward, you'll either start drinking the "culture" koolaid from your very own name-etched pint glass which the CEO churns heavily along with his subservient exec staff, or you'll begin to question whether the company mission, values, and messaging are purely a marketing ploy to generate more clients, retain its ideal employees and hire new ones. When distilled to the basics, BJ wants to drum up business like any other firm and the ultra wealthy, white, male business partners of BJ want continue the perception that the company promotes all things equal and fair and hires "diverse" employees who are well-compensated for the demands undertaken. You are strategically hired for two things: 1. the skills and endurance you can bring to advance the company's/partner's profits, and 2. your physical image to build the company's brand. If you're a BIPOC, get ready to be featured in their marketing/hiring campaigns. What type of employee will have the capacity to bend over backward and work until midnight to meet the demands of their leaders? Inexpensive post-grads who do not have the leverage to negotiate a fair wage of the hours they will soon put in, and 30 something-year olds who are attempting to build their careers and meet crazy deadlines without the balancing act of having a family and prioritizing which comes first. Skeptical? Just take a look at the team page on their website.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Brighton Jones LLC Response

    Director of Talent Management

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree that people are our best asset and we put a lot of care and intentionality around trying to support our team so they are healthy, happy, and are given opportunities for both personal and professional development. While we do work hard and enjoy spending time together collaborating and celebrating, we strive to support every individual to find the right balance for their work life, as it is truly different for everyone. We are very supportive of helping a teammate who doesn’t feel that a role isn’t the right fit for them and support them to find one that is a better fit, whether at Brighton Jones or elsewhere. We hope you have found an opportunity that is more in line with your personal and professional needs. All the best!

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Personal Growth and Company Culture

    Oct 9, 2018 - Associate Advisor in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Endless opportunities to learn and build your professional skill set. Always was told how big of a difference company culture makes to the quality of work life, but never fully realized how true that was until I started working here. One cohesive team all focused on providing the best possible service and growing on a business level as well as personal. Having self-efficacy and compassion for others is essential to succeeding here, which I have found to be a Pro.

    Cons

    I can not think of a con

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Manager

    Nov 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful culture and values, which are lived every day. Fun team events. Opportunity for career advancement. Best service offering in the industry. MESI training. The Mezz.

    Cons

    None that come to mind. Feel lucky to work at Brighton Jones.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Brighton Jones LLC Response

    Director of Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Advisor

    Oct 4, 2018 - Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positive team oriented culture. You are truly the CEO of your own career here. A lot of growth at the company which is creating opportunity for advancement. The fee only business model is well positioned to eat the wirehouses' lunch. Everyone is super approachable.

    Cons

    There are a lot of specific roles (specialists, etc) that the firm really wants based in Seattle, but still cool that those roles are here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    An innovative environment that's retaining its culture amid growth

    Jun 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many companies pay lip service to the idea of employee well-being, whether that's measured in financial terms, career trajectory, or personal fulfillment. Not Brighton Jones. The firm has created an environment that provides you ample opportunities to interact with mentors, devise and assess career goals, and take part in training on mindfulness and emotional intelligence. It's a thoughtful and innovative approach to building a company culture that I believe is quite rare, especially for a wealth management firm experiencing rapid growth. What's more, philanthropy is a central theme in day-to-day operations. Employees are encouraged to take an active role in the community, share their favorite causes with their peers, and contribute to the decision-making process when it comes to where and how the firm devotes its volunteer man-hours. Finally, I've been impressed with the company's transparency around growth projections and hiring plans. While it can be difficult at times to gain insight into the dynamics of the firm's individual divisions, I appreciate the willingness of senior leaders to disseminate both their short- and long-term vision for the company.

    Cons

    I have nothing of note.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Operations Coordinator

    Oct 4, 2018 - Operations Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing culture Great benefits and pay Good co-workers Challenging Philanthropic committees Great career opportunities

    Cons

    I have not found any cons yet.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Great co-workers, but poor people management and work-life balance.

    Feb 3, 2009 - Planner in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people they hire are great. They tend to hire smart, hard-working, concientious people, who also enjoy having a good time. When the work-load permits, the employees like to spend time together away from the office either at happy hour or playing team sports like dodgeball and soccer. They also sponsor off-site employee retreats and outings that allow you to get to know your teammembers on a more personal level.

    Cons

    They have created an environment where employees are not comfortable providing their honest feedback. The partners spend a lot of time focused on developing the business and generating revenue, but at the detriment of the employees. There is not a lot of emphasis on work-life balance, and the work-week typically run 50-60 hours. The expectation is that you always exceed expectations which does not set most people up for success. There is no training program, so new hires are expected to sink or swim. Since the majority of recruits seem to be new college grads with little to no experience, there tends to be a lot of turnover.

    Continue reading
    13 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews

Popular Careers with Brighton Jones LLC Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Brighton Jones LLC? Share Your Experiences

Brighton Jones LLC logo
or