KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Brightview Senior Living

Engaged Employer

Brightview Senior Living

Add a Review

Brightview Senior Living Employee Reviews about "resident"

Updated Aug 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 263 reviews

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Brightview Senior Living Chief Executive Officer Marilynn K. Duker
Marilynn K. Duker
118 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible schedule for a part time employee(in 10 reviews)

  • "Brightview on New Canaan won three awards for Significant Operations, Chairman’s Club and Resident Satisfaction Award(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Perspective of upper management is they have a title that gives them an air of superiority but not seen taking much action(in 8 reviews)

  • "sometimes short staffed, always high expectations, lots of meetings(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Reviews about "resident"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dedicated Management

      Aug 25, 2020 - Hospitality Assistant in Catonsville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Scheduling Dedicated and kind management Ethical workplace Resident-first community

      Cons

      Understaffed, Mediocre communication, Steep learning curve

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Exceeded my expectation once again......

      Oct 28, 2018 - Business Office Manager in Norwalk, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been a part of Brightview on New Canaan for a year. When I started I was sent to the Home office in Baltimore, Maryland where I attended New Director Orientation. It was a wonderful 3 days of meeting the Home Office support I would be working with as well as Senior Leadership, Administration, Accounting & Finance and Operations. The next trip to Home office was for the Gala that was held for Associates who were nominated for superior work and for the communities who performed well. Brightview on New Canaan won three awards for Significant Operations, Chairman’s Club and Resident Satisfaction Award. This was also a great time to see everyone that I met at New Director Orientation and see how they are doing. Brightview may have over 40 communities but still has the ma and pop feeling of family. There are many things that Brightview does for their Associates but the most recent announcement blew me away. “Our company-wide efforts to make smart, healthy choices have resulted in health plan costs that have been lower than expected. Because we’re all in this together, Brightview is sharing those savings with the plan members. There will be no medical plan withholdings for the entire month of December!” Just when I think Brightview has exceeded my expectations, they do it again.

      Cons

      I will let you know if and when I come across any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Brightview Senior Living Response

      VP of HR

      You touch on many positive experiences in the past year. We are so thankful you have appreciated all the programs but we are so glad you are excited about the premiums. We are too! This is one of the great outcomes of taking care of ourselves and using the money-saving tools available in the plan. Remember, we are all in this together so keep up the great work.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best of the Best!

      Apr 8, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Having worked for several organizations in the past, I can honestly say that Brightview Senior Living is one of the best. In it's goal to provide the best possible living environment for its residents, Brightview sets the stage by providing beautiful communities, activities to stimulate a wide variety of resident interests, and by screening for and hiring excellent associates who genuinely care for seniors. I am impressed with the manager of my department and community, and believe that they sincerely care about creating an environment that allow both residents and associates to thrive. Brightview has good benefits, offers excellent training to new hires and has provides ongoing in-service training. Employee feedback on improving community operations is encouraged.

      Cons

      I came to Brightview from a non-senior living/healthcare environment where salaries were much higher than at Brightview, and while my salary is adequate for my needs at this time, I find salaries for most support staff to be rather low for dedicated staff who are working long hours to support families and try to get ahead.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Genuinely good - they are picky and proficient. You MUST be empathetic and innately caring/fun-loving.

      Apr 1, 2016 - ALM in Annandale, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They see the value and relationship between employee satisfaction and resident care, happiness, health and resiliency. They find and promote talent and genuinely good people. It's not easy to 'get in' but what a true blessing it is to find an organization that 'gets it'.

      Cons

      It's not easy to get hired - the interview process is lengthy; however, the benefit is directly for the residents and employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Executive Director, New Jersey Region

      Jun 2, 2018 - Executive Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Moving my family to New Jersey to become a part of this team was the best decision I could have made. Having worked for other senior living providers in my career, it is my opinion that Brightview's unique approach to resident independence and choice that make it so successful. I am not just the Executive Director of the building, but the Captain of a team of vibrant, dedicated associates who enter the community each and every day with a mindset to providing an excellent experience for our residents, families, and each other. We have everything that we need to succeed. Our expectations are set out for us in a consistent, easy to follow manner. Those questions that we do have are answered by our supporting regional and home office team. We have the autonomy to provide a tailored experience to our residents, and empower them to enjoy the communities to the fullest, yet we have the support when opportunities or challenges arise. Personally, I know that many ED's have felt "alone" at the helm of the ship with other providers (or at least that their compass might be broken, pulling them in different directions). My experience with Brightview has never been this way. My RDO provides feedback, support, and guidance, without micromanaging the community. Further, I feel recognized for the work that I do and the achievements we make as a community. I know that I have a "voice", and my team knows that they, too, are valued. I've never felt badgered or beleaguered into writing a review; in fact, I only felt prompted after seeing reviews that others had. It's unfortunate that others have had a negative experience, and the only opinion I can offer is my own. I know that when I have an issue or concern, there is a wealth of experienced, knowledgeable team members, be it our community front line, fellow ED's and Department Heads, regional support, and our home office team there to assist in whatever way they can. Thank you, to my community and Brightview, for continuing to be a great place to work and live.

      Cons

      None that I can list.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Resident Assistant

      Jun 7, 2015 - Resident Assistant in Towson, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very nice senior living facility. The residents are wonderful and like for you to talk to them. The interview process was extensive. It consisted of a series of 3 interviews. The first interview is a group interview, then an interview with the resident director and then the final interview is with the executive director.

      Cons

      The turnover rate for management and staff is very high. The employees come and go often so you are always working with someone new wether a manager or another resident assistant.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Community Sales Director

      May 30, 2016 - Community Sales Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Caring, engaged senior leadership Resident-centered approach to all philosophies Privately-held Strategic growth Paid benefits to all associates Amazing company culture

      Cons

      In start-up... it's not for the feint of heart Brightview wants to be the best - and excels at doing so - but requires a lot of energy to maintain this drive

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Resident Assistant

      Apr 8, 2016 - Resident Assistant in Woburn, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Brightview it's very nice place to work, we find respect from employer to coworkers.we have great team,we know how to take care for the resident

      Cons

      I was the hourly rate was higher

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place to work

      Feb 2, 2013 - Nursing Assistant in Bel Air, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very beautiful, clean, lots of activities for the resident to participate it.

      Cons

      The money is not great for all the work that you have to do.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Brightview Senior Living Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Brightview Senior Living? Share Your Experiences

    Brightview Senior Living logo
    or