Brightwave (UK) Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
60%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Brilliant company with brilliant people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightwave (UK) full-time

    Pros

    The company really cares about it's people and to make sure they're happy and motivated The company is full of incredibly talented people, some of the best in the industry. It's a pleasure to work with such smart colleagues The company is diverse and embracing. Almost all people who have left say that their new employment isn't like Brightwave and quite often some want to come back. Being owned by Capita provides job greater job security and options to collaborative with wider services to improve our offering.

    Cons

    As with many organisations there are some people who could be a lot more committed

    Brightwave (UK)2020-02-09
  2. "Fantastic place with fantastic people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Learning Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Brightwave (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture and working environment was fantastic in all my time there. Everyone had a positive attitude, and always wanted to push boundaries or exceed expectations no matter what the limitations of scope, time, or budget were. There's also a genuine understanding of the people who work there, with an appreciation that they have a life outside of the office. In my experience, the balance was always spot on, and I felt properly supported in and out of work.

    Cons

    Once you approach a senior level, opportunities for progression aren't always immediately clear.

    Brightwave (UK)2019-08-14
  3. "Brilliant place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Brightwave (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brightwave has an incredible culture. The vibe and the energy of the teams is something which is truly hard to find in a work environment, it makes going to work every day easy and enjoyable. The on boarding process is fantastic, and so is the support and encouragement you receive from your manager. Amazing career opportunities and room for progression.

    Cons

    Low starting wage and not a lot of room for negotiation.

    Brightwave (UK)2019-08-06
  4. "Brilliant people and a positive atmosphere"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Newquay, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Brightwave (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Brightwave for just over three years and remotely for just over a year. I've had the pleasure of working with some wonderfully inspiring and talented people in that time. Brightwave have also been very flexible with my working requirements, allowing me to work remotely. There are also great incentives and fun activities such as Beer Friday and Stinky Cheese Wednesday! It has been a pleasure to work with such an awesome team and I'm sad to have to leave.

    Cons

    Lack of stinky cheese for remote workers ;)

    Brightwave (UK)2019-07-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Back on the up"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightwave (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Brightwave for over 6 years and it's been through a few changes in leadership and one change of ownership. After a few ups and downs the company feels like it's back on the up again. The company is doing well, has some great people working for it and there's a positive, supportive and fun atmosphere. The work can be challenging, but we work with a lot of different clients so there is usually a lot of variety. Professional development / induction is also a lot better now.

    Cons

    Working to tight client deadlines can sometimes be stressful.

    Continue reading
    Brightwave (UK)2018-12-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work, thoroughly recommended"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brightwave (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in a few of the Brighton elearning companies and Brightwave has the nicest culture by a long shot. Great team, interesting projects, huge pride over what people produce. I feel valued and respected by colleagues and management. Lots of examples of people progressing within the company. Good benefits package and nice quirks like Fruit Monday, Pizza Tuesday, Beer Friday, Brightwave & Beyond nominations and more. Been here a year or so and have already recommended to a few people.

    Cons

    Company went through a bad patch a few years ago but current management is turning the business and the culture around.

    Continue reading
    Brightwave (UK)2018-11-27
  7. "Great people taken for granted"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Brightwave (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing bunch of people, central location

    Cons

    Good people pushed out due to new CEO taking over/not being appreciated/being paid an appalling wage. Use and abuse culture

    Continue reading
    Brightwave (UK)2018-10-01
  8. "Poor management lets down great teams"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Brightwave (UK)

    Pros

    There are no pros to this company

    Cons

    Great workers are left in wrong roles and ignored until they leave, while "managers" do nothing and pretend everything is ok.

    Continue reading
    Brightwave (UK)2016-11-12
  9. "Use and abuse"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Brightwave (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Cool Office Some great people

    Cons

    CEO is a control freak, and is poor at making decisions Some staff are treated like messiahs, the rest like idiots in a sausage factory

    Continue reading
    Brightwave (UK)2016-08-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Should be good... Isn't."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Brightwave (UK)

    Pros

    Cool office, nice view, great tea/coffee selection.

    Cons

    My training consisted of a half hour, frantic speed through of some company documents after which I was left to fend for myself for a few months. On the outside, Brightwave looks like a fun exciting workplace but for the most part, it was an office full of people sitting in silence, desperately trying to pad out time sheets to keep management happy. You're flung from project to project and rarely spend more than 10 minutes working on something before having to change track. (Making the aforementioned time-sheeting difficult) If I were a client I'd be deeply concerned about just how little attention is actually being paid to their project. You're copied into seemingly every e-mail being sent around the office and no-one seems to want to take responsibility for anything. The lack of training was a huge barrier as I had to try and learn literally everything on the go as and when things came up, this was frustrating as I knew my timesheet was being studied very closely by the looming eyes of senior management. Unfortunately there was not a "training myself on, a, b, c" section available in my timesheet. I was really excited to start work at Brightwave and am still very disappointed at how it all panned out. This should be an amazing company and probably could be, but as it stands - my advice would be to avoid. I would add that there are some truly talented people working at Brightwave, especially on the programming/development side of things and this as far as I can see is the saving grace of the company. It's sad to see such talent being restrained by the weight of too many projects.

    Continue reading
    Brightwave (UK)2015-10-24
Found 12 reviews