Cover image for Brightwheel
Logo

Brightwheel

Engaged Employer

Brightwheel

Add a Review

Brightwheel Reviews

Updated Jan 31, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 133 of over 136 reviews
3.9
75% Recommend to a Friend
87% Approve of CEO

Found 133 of over 136 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Brightwheel Founder and CEO Dave Vasen  (no image)
Dave Vasen
96 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,950

984 Comments

Teachers

217K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/teachers/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Brightwheel~2033968
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Brightwheel? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Brightwheel employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "The lack of autonomy at the top trickles down into all the teams, however, if you have a good manager, they will be able to shield you from a lot of it.(in 3 reviews)
  • "Pay could be better.(in 3 reviews)
  • "Compensation is low, but there's long term upside give growth potential(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company culture

    Jan 13, 2023 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management and upper management were amazing! They were so supportive and will give you all the tools you need to be successful. Unlimited PTO however if you're not working you're not making money and you have to hit a quota every month. Benefits were the best I've ever had.

    Cons

    Leads were old and very recycled Cold calling 100-150 calls a day

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong Company Culture

    Jan 31, 2023 - Sales Lead 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Product that changes the game for Early Childhood Educators.

    Cons

    Systems are too numerous and not intuitive. Need simplification.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Brightwheel team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Mid-Tier Company with minimal room to grow

    Jan 3, 2023 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Constant work, expectations, you will never be bored

    Cons

    Promise of growth into other departments. Fails to prepare individuals for hard decisions.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    great place to build a career that cares about your wellbeing

    Dec 16, 2022 - Senior Account Executive in Austin, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    growing in a competitive market, the company focuses on culture and making sure that in a remote environment we feel connected, supported and are treated like human beings with real lives. If you're driven and self motivated it can be a great place to make money that you feel good about, everyone is out to help others achieve their goals, whether its coworkers or our customers

    Cons

    growing in a competitive market; the space can be tough with competition trying to one-up us all of the time. we move quickly so if you're change averse this isn't the company for you. Its not just growing pains but a mindset that acknowledging that adapting and changing is core to the business.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Leadership doesn't take accountability - they fire people instead

    Jan 12, 2023 - Post Sales 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Best product in the space

    Cons

    When something goes wrong leaders don't get fired, their subordinates do. If you're considering Brightwheel, ask the hiring manager about turnover at the level 2-4 positions. Those past employees can't speak publicly as BW follows the common-practice of exchanging 1 month severance for a gag-order. Additionally, BW is headed in the wrong direction on every financial measure of success (well before the economy turned south).

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    No place is perfect, but BW comes close!

    Dec 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Brightwheel has been one of my favorite places I have ever worked! The people are kind and are aligned on cultural fit. My manager is supportive, gives constructive feedback and supports me in my goals. I enjoy working with each and every BWer! -unlimited PTO -room for growth and improving your career -flexible, WFH -tech symptoms that are in place work well -People team is always adding new benefits and small, nice surprises for employee morale -mission based, trust in BW success and ELT -upper management is always looking for ways to improve and are open-minded -options to meet colleagues in person

    Cons

    - no 401k match - health care plan options could be made more affordable -things move really fast and work is plenty! if you're not giving it your 110%, you will likely fail as the culture is for top performers -the only thing that is constant is change!

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to start with sales

    Dec 13, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth and career paths

    Cons

    It is a startup so there are constant changes, especially in sales

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company with growth opportunities

    Nov 29, 2022 - Onboarding Coordinator in Wentzville, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay, flexible time off, great opportunities for former teachers

    Cons

    The workload can be a bit overbearing at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    I love it here at brightwheel.

    Nov 3, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company culture has absolutely been awesome. I cannot wait to advance my career with Brightwheel.

    Cons

    There are no cons at all.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee

    If you’re white… sure. If you’re voice sounds… not that

    Dec 5, 2022 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO. Not having to be in actual rooms with these people.

    Cons

    Micro aggressions disguised as coaching.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Brightwheel Response

    We are deeply sorry that you had a negative experience working with us. We believe that everyone — from our employees to the students, teachers, and administrators we serve — should be given the opportunity to learn and thrive, whatever their background may be. We offer diversity and inclusion training to our managers and have assigned HR partners to provide ongoing coaching on topics like leading with inclusion and fairness. We acknowledge that there may be occasions where our efforts to create an inclusive space fall short, and we take these situations very seriously. We are committed to continuing to improve in this area, which includes supporting a growing number of employee affinity groups and providing ongoing coaching to managers and employees. We welcome additional feedback or ideas on how we can better support our teammates. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at jordann.mitchell@mybrightwheel.com, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 133 Reviews
</>Embed

Brightwheel Reviews FAQs

Brightwheel has an overall rating of 3.9 out of 5, based on over 136 reviews left anonymously by employees. 75% of employees would recommend working at Brightwheel to a friend and 64% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -12% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Brightwheel employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Brightwheel. This rating has improved by 5% over the last 12 months.

75% of Brightwheel employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Brightwheel 4.1 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.4 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Brightwheel to be career development, senior leadership, benefits and the cons to be compensation .

Popular Careers with Brightwheel Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Brightwheel? Share Your Experiences

Brightwheel logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Brightwheel Photos

+ Add Photo
Brightwheel photo of: Brightwheel! Frightwheel!
Brightwheel photo of: brightwheel Austin employees 2019
Brightwheel photo of: brightwheel SF employees 2019
Brightwheel photo of: SF brightwheelers celebrating the company's 4th birthday!
Brightwheel photo of: Celebrating Post Back to School!
Brightwheel photo of: Happy Hour San Francisco

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 136 Brightwheel reviews submitted anonymously by Brightwheel employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Brightwheel is right for you.