British Council Language Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

British Council Language Assistant Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
British Council CEO Ciarán Devane
Ciarán Devane
1 Ratings
  1. "English Language Assistant in France (Seconde)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Language Assistant in Clermont-Ferrand
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Council part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - relatively good pay for the amount of hours worked - you get to learn another language while living there - good insight into teacher life if you are trying to figure out whether teaching is suitable for you - you can get a real insight into a place, in this case I know for sure that France isn't for me - it's rewarding to work with young people on days when they pay attention - since I had little to no instructions,...

    Show More

    Cons

    - long wait to get placement confirmed - the programme was not very well organised, I did not get any introduction from my teachers (this depends on your school) - timetable very random and not efficient - 12 h per week but another at least 12h waiting time in-between classes and for daily commute - teachers did not seem to value me, I felt like I was wasting my time - they gave me BTS classes which I am not supposed...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please consider collaborating with schools who value their assistants and don't ignore them most of the time. Otherwise you are wasting a valuable assistant's time.

    British Council2019-02-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Language Assistant Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Language Assistant in Madrid
    Recommends

    I worked at British Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gives you the opportunity to live and work in another country and meet amazing people in the same position as you.

    Cons

    Little room for academic development

    Advice to Management

    More structured programme in order for employees to develop themselves

    British Council2018-12-16
  3. "Language Assistantship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Language Assistant in Coutances
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Council for more than a year

    Pros

    - Gives you the chance to work at state schools in a number of countries (you pick one). State schools are otherwise very difficult if not impossible to get into without a teaching qualification from that country. - Very varied work - Transferable skills (how to give presentations, adapt to different audiences, plan lessons and activities, teamwork with people from different backgrounds, general life skills etc.) -...

    Show More

    Cons

    - You can choose country and region preferences, but may not get sent where you wanted to go - The type of class you are given, the activities you are expected to do with them and the respect you get greatly depends on your school(s), but you have no control over the school(s) to which you are allocated. - It takes a long time to hear back from them

    Advice to Management

    Try to link schools with the applicants which best suit them.

    British Council2018-01-23
  4. "A good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Language Assistant in Córdoba
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Council for more than a year

    Pros

    A well thought out programme, with the opportunity to engage culturally in the country of choice

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, difficulty getting in contact with organisation once problems arose

    British Council2017-12-04
  5. "Language assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Language Assistant in Toulouse

      I worked at British Council for more than a year

      Pros

      Good at communicating. Effectively organised my year abroad as a language assistant. Quite good pay considering the contract was limited to 12 hours a week. Application process was straight forward.

      Cons

      In terms of being a language assistant abroad, when applying you can put several preferences as to where you would like to be placed. However, you sign the contract before you receive your location, and you may end up being placed somewhere entirely different. I got my first choice location and had a great time, but I know others who were placed in small, obscure countryside towns and did't enjoy their year much

      British Council2017-08-20
    • "English Language Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - English Language Assistant in Mulhouse
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Council

      Pros

      Easy application process, good work-life balance, good opportunities for travel. Good pay for the hours worked (12 per week)

      Cons

      Slow to hear about placement information. Little contact/help regarding relocating/adapting to the job role.

      Advice to Management

      Should speed up the application process so that they applicant will know where they are being placed at an earlier date.

      British Council2017-05-21
    • "Great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Language Assistant in Paris
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Council for less than a year

      Pros

      Easy to get the job Provided decent support during my year abroad

      Cons

      They were unable to help me find accommodation in the foreign country I was present. Pay is pretty average, but adequate.

      British Council2017-03-15
    • "language assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Language Assistant 
      Recommends

      I worked at British Council part-time

      Pros

      The pay is very good for a year abroad, as are the working hours, holidays and length of weekends! The job itself is interesting and fulfilling.

      Cons

      Sometimes it can be difficult to fill the time, as you only work roughly twelve hours a week, but this is a minor con!

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you are doing, it's a great way to enable students to live abroad and to get some great work experience along the way!

      British Council2016-09-18
    • "British Council ETA, Thailand"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Language Assistant for the British Council in Samut Prakan
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at British Council full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Some of the best reasons to work for the British Council include the huge network of contacts available to you throughout your time on the programme, which ensure you're never alone or unsure- someone is always there to answer your queries and help you along your journey. The British council treat everyone as individuals, you receive care and assistant throughout the process of application, and whilst engaging in the...

      Show More

      Cons

      Sometimes the British Council are a little late when responding to emails, but that would be the only downside I could name.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing!

      British Council2015-08-15
    • "An active input into language training"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Language Assistant in London, England

      I have been working at British Council for more than a year

      Pros

      A good environment where to contribute to the spanish education.

      Cons

      Breaking into Catalan cuture can sometimes pose as a challenge.

      British Council2015-05-07
    Found 12 reviews