British Council Project Officer Reviews | Glassdoor

British Council Project Officer Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
British Council CEO Ciarán Devane
Ciarán Devane
4 Ratings
  1. "Worked there for 3 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Officer in Lagos
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Council full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work, multicultural environment and the experience is worthwhile.

    Cons

    Not so much training and growth opportunity is minimal.

    British Council2019-02-17
  2. "Team work truly exists here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Officer in Abuja, Niger

    I worked at British Council for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are really willing to help get you on track the moment you join the organisation. It is also a good environment to grow and learn new skills.

    Cons

    The salary is really low for an organisation of its calibre. Induction training is also not cohesive which could make it difficult for new additions to the team to make positive contributions early.

    British Council2019-01-23
  3. "Great Org but lots of pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Project Officer in Lagos

      I worked at British Council for more than a year

      Pros

      Highly intelligent colleagues and team members Lots of opportunities to improve yourself

      Cons

      Too much work pressure on staff

      British Council2018-03-02
    • "British Council Nigeria"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Officer in Abuja, Federal Capital Territory
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at British Council for more than a year

      Pros

      It is a good organization for women; it gives them the opportunity to build their career without neglecting their families. Work mode is flexible; you can choose o work from home whenever you're not fit to come to work

      Cons

      The pay is quite small compared to other International organisations around. The HMO plan for staffs is very low

      Advice to Management

      Kindly review the pay and upgrade staffs to higher HMO plan.

      British Council2018-01-14
    • "Job review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Officer in Jakarta
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at British Council full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - flexible hours - generous leave - professional development scheme

      Cons

      - travel allowance based on actual receipt - low salary compared to other IO

      Advice to Management

      - improve on staff line management

      British Council2017-04-09
    • "Project officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Officer in Rabat
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at British Council full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      - diversity -equal opportunities -understanding - open mildness

      Cons

      -long working hours and no compensation, very little communication with management

      British Council2017-02-02
    • "Great employee benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Officer in Manchester, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Council full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Plenty of benefits as an employee. Such as working from home where all the equipment is supplied and fitted. Flexible hours. Great people to work with and for.

      Cons

      Sometimes the customers can get a bit hard to deal with but that is like anywhere you go you will get complaints from customers but the quality and knowledge you provide overcomes it.

      Advice to Management

      Go easy on your staff you should know what it feel likes working at the bottom of the scale

      British Council2016-01-19
    • "Awesome place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Project Officer in Lagos
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at British Council full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      No visible hierarchy, great learning environment, personal development opportunities

      Cons

      Management interference in HR and improper recruitment process

      Advice to Management

      Get proper HR

      British Council2013-10-29
    • "Good place good people good growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Officer in Cape Town
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at British Council for more than a year

      Pros

      Nothing in my life could give me the kind of experience and stepping stone as effectively as the British Council did. A passion for people, diversity and learning.

      Cons

      I can't think of any

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work.

      British Council2012-11-13
    • Helpful (1)

      "The British Council is a great place and I enjoyed working with a diverse group of people on a range on projects"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Project Officer in London, England
      Recommends

      I worked at British Council

      Pros

      The people The reputation The work/life balance The British Council is a great place to work with a fantastic history. With flexi-time, generous annual leave packages and a range of opportunities for international travel, I would not hesitate to recommend it to people as a place of work.

      Cons

      Lack of opportunity for involvement in the strategic direction of the organisation and somethimes a distance between senior management and staff.

      Advice to Management

      Improve internal communications processes to all employees.

      British Council2012-01-04
    Found 10 reviews