British Council Reviews | Glassdoor

British Council Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 575 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
British Council CEO Ciarán Devane
Ciarán Devane
159 Ratings
  1. "Exams Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at British Council full-time

      Pros

      Good welfare, 22 days annual leaves.

      Cons

      Nothing to complain really as long as you enjoy a slow space of work.

      British Council2017-02-20
    • Helpful (17)

      "Don't do it"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - English Teacher 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Council

      Pros

      Looks OK on your CV

      Cons

      Get in, get it on your CV, get a DELTA, than get out and enjoy life, I've never met any ex-BC employee who regrets leaving.

      Advice to Management

      BC Values mean nothing, this is how cults work!!

      British Council2016-12-06
    • Helpful (6)

      "Good company for beginners"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Flushing, NY
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at British Council full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Flexible working, super friendly environment. One will be able to achieve good work-life balance.

      Cons

      comparatively lower salaries and non aggressive company. Learning and development opportunities are rare and growth is very slow. Company is good for entry level jobs.

      British Council2016-10-20
    • "Good People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at British Council full-time

      Pros

      very good work life balance and people around are supportive and willing to provide learning advices

      Cons

      job promotion is really rare

      British Council2016-10-21
    • Helpful (4)

      "Bureaucracy and there worst managers ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Council full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Looks OK on your CV

      Cons

      Too many to mention here

      Advice to Management

      Major changes. Structural review. Re organisation to get rid of dead wood. Recruit and promote excellence, not mediocrity.

      British Council2016-11-22
    • Helpful (5)

      "Exams Operations Officer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at British Council

      Pros

      No good came to me off this place.

      Cons

      Pathetic workplace to be honest. The line manager lacked people management competence.

      Advice to Management

      Hire competent people as line managers.

      British Council2016-09-10
    • "Head of Finance, HR and Resources"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - HEAD of FINANCE, RESOURCES and Human Resources in Philadelphia, PA

        I have been working at British Council full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Regional Finance Analysis NGO Industry People development

        Cons

        Slow processes Clarity in Country Strategy Governance and Organization Sturcture

        Advice to Management

        Empower Management and Staff to execute Strategies for Staff Retention and Business Continuity Clear Goals and Incentive Models ffor the business

        British Council2016-08-23
      • Helpful (6)

        "Teacher of English"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Teacher 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at British Council full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Working at the British Council allows you to share with a great number of very diverse people, in a wide range of society sectors. As a teacher, I've had many opportunities for professional development, and I've always felt compelled to challenge myself further! This is usually achieved by great organizations. It also helps a lot that I just love working here, as I believe in the wider aims of the work we do.

        Cons

        1. Management structure is not horizontal enough. 2. Managers aren't generally open to criticism and advice.

        British Council2016-07-07
      • Helpful (7)

        "Not recommend, BC is downgrading itself in terms of everything"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at British Council

        Pros

        Not much to recommend, overally it's not a pleasant experience, the atmosphere is so fake

        Cons

        The big boss doesn't know what's going on from the people who close the deal, the lower level people focus just on internal fighting with each other and are afraid to speak out, well, everthing is superficially beautiful but wounded deeply underneath. BC. You have your own fate

        British Council2016-06-09
      • Helpful (2)

        "Good enough to be in your c.v, nothing more"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Examinations Services Officer in Jordan, MN
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at British Council full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Good environment, good medical coverage and there is job safety

        Cons

        They must practice what they preach, doesn't give chances to improve

        Advice to Management

        More British people in the management level

        British Council2016-06-10
      Found 575 reviews