British Council Reviews | Glassdoor

British Council Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 577 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
British Council CEO Ciarán Devane
Ciarán Devane
162 Ratings
  1. "Examinations Marketing Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Council

    Pros

    great opportunity to work with. It provides a professional workplace and individual trainings to staff.

    Cons

    it d better show respects to staff who are on entry level.

    Advice to Management

    pls do acknowledge all staff contribution.

    British Council2016-05-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher of English"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at British Council

    Pros

    Great way to travel and teach Best resources Great professional development

    Cons

    Poor management Not very much freedom

    British Council2016-01-25
  3. "volunteer trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at British Council part-time

    Pros

    amazing people , very good content structure and amazing trainers to train you first

    Cons

    less opportunities , more qualification required for full time job

    Advice to Management

    to provide more job opportunities, or small scale projects for college youth

    British Council2015-12-01
  4. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Operations and Compliance in Egypt, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Council

    Pros

    They really consider developing staff, and consider their career development and safety

    Cons

    the work life balance is an issue, and it is really one big problem that staff face

    Advice to Management

    Restructuring and work load needs an immediate attention from management as the work life balance needs to be considered ASAP

    British Council2015-08-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting projects, but a lack of direction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Council

    Pros

    I think people genuinely believe in the mission of the Council. That is great if you are interested in working in public projects such as education or the arts. The brand recognition is quite strong, which can lead to some very interesting partnerships. My supervisor was also fantastic, very understanding and easy to talk to.

    Cons

    The Council lacked direction, which was incredibly frustrating. There seemed to be poor communication between London and the country offices, so I never felt that we had an international team that really knew how to work together and learn from each other. I found this to be the most challenging element of my job, as it sometimes felt we were going nowhere.

    Advice to Management

    Adopt more corporate tools and project management schemes. Acknowledge that this will make the organisation more successful and effective in reaching its goals.

    British Council2015-07-27
  6. "Great mission, great people, huge opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing brand Amazing work The people are phenomenal

    Cons

    Funding concerns Usual big organisation stuff

    Advice to Management

    Resolve funding concerns.

    British Council2015-07-07
  7. "World of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at British Council full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues in offices around the world Global workforce community Supportive of teamwork, new ideas, and hard work Strong support of mission and purpose throughout staff Fantastic career opportunities to really leverage and grow your own talents

    Cons

    Experiences are different depending upon programs, offices and individuals. To provide "Cons" is to speak upon individual experience and cannot help inform potential employees of what their specific experience could be.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support your mission and your team

    British Council2015-07-07
  8. "Lovely colleagues, fairly low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Examiner in Remote, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Council

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues. Flexible job. There seem to be lots of opportunities to not exactly progress, but to take on various roles.

    Cons

    Pay is fairly low considering you need postgraduate level qualification for the position. Zero hours contract - usually plenty of work, but it varies and I've had weeks, particularly around January, when there was no work at all.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, the ones that I deal with are very good.

    British Council2015-05-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great teams overseas, poor leadership in UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Council full-time

    Pros

    Working with people from very varied cultural backgrounds; educated and friendly local staff in overseas offices

    Cons

    Very limited career development options for local staff; poor senior leadership; low salary; culture resistant to change

    Advice to Management

    Walk your talk

    British Council2013-06-25
  10. "Wonderful friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at British Council

    Pros

    Great environment, friendly community, supportive, willing to wear several different hats. Relaxed and supportive, it seems.

    Cons

    None that I can think of...

    British Council2013-02-06
Found 577 reviews