British Gas Analyst Reviews | Glassdoor

British Gas Analyst Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
British Gas Chief Executive, Centrica Consumer Sarwjit Sambhi (no image)
Sarwjit Sambhi
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Hostile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Credit Risk Analyst in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas

    Pros

    Good Benefits compared to other companies.

    Cons

    Bad leadership in the Finance Department.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair

    British Gas2011-11-02
  2. "Great people, but the culture has changed, less focused on people now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Design Analyst in Staines, England

    I worked at British Gas part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    wonderful people, great development, and a good level of flexibility if you are in the right role, the ability to move around a large company in different roles

    Cons

    Leadership don't listen to the employees, they don't always know the answer but they often have very valid points - they are not all about maintaining the status quo

    Advice to Management

    remember your employees are people and have legitimate passion for their customers. increasingly staff are treated like numbers, the huge wealth of talent is leaving because this.

    British Gas2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Company falling apart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Commercial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    BG are a brand name and it is respected in amongst the market place.

    Cons

    When I first arrived at BG if was great, opportunities were plentiful but a number of issues caused a string of redundancies over a 3 year period. I got put at risk twice in the time I was there and closely avoided a third. Senior leaders talk about customers a lot but they don’t really look after there people at all. They don’t understand what their people need and often don’t manage change very well. Particularly change that impacts the people. In contact centres it can be very political whilst in a commercial forum they like to think they are agile but they are far from that. For a big company they don’t really offer their people real development unless it’s in role. No training or extra courses are offered and they often expect you to self-fund or self study these things. All in all I am happy to be leaving. Employee engagement scores are dreadful and in the main its because of the challenging times they are under however nothing gets changed or done about it. Nobody can take the bull by the horns and really look after the people. Some people managers there really do struggle with any basic skills of managing people. They miss the smaller detail and focus on the bigger picture. Often making you feel under valued.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    To get better results, look after the people. Customer obsession is a great idea however in reality I think you need to become people obsessed to make the customer obsession part work.

    British Gas2019-12-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Big company with opportunities

    Cons

    Business in turmoil- people have become numbers

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people

    British Gas2019-12-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Company transition as caused unsettling times for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Delivery Analyst in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have always worked with great people and British Gas has given me many opportunities to develop.

    Cons

    Since going through a lot of change, the employee engagement has dramatically reduced. You are now seen as a number and no longer a person.

    British Gas2019-11-28
  6. "Downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Design Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, previously good career prospects

    Cons

    leadership, going downhill, seem to be pushing people out to reduce cost, customer commitment isn't acted upon just talked about

    British Gas2019-11-13
  7. "British Gas - an great place to work in analytics and digital transformation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Business Analyst in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas for more than a year

    Pros

    Shift to agile working practices

    Cons

    many single points of contact with regards to SMEs/business/technical knowledge, coupled with little or no documentation gives many single points of failure if said SME becomes unavailable.

    British Gas2019-10-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Can be a great to place to work but need to go back to basics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Design Analyst in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible, hours, location, perks and benefits

    Cons

    Constant Re-Orgs, almost every 6 month. Senior leaders have lost their direction, lack of clear strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Value your long serving staff, they care more about the business than contractors on short term contracts! Promote from within

    British Gas2019-10-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be an amazing place

    Cons

    Everyone is scared and no decisions are made

    British Gas2019-10-21
  10. "Good company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pricing Analyst in Staines, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Good culture Interesting work across the business

    Cons

    Pay can be low Due to too many organisational changes, it can get in the way of career progression

    Advice to Management

    Improve pay otherwise employee retention becomes difficult. Manage re orgs so that employees career trajectories are not compromised.

    British Gas2019-10-01
Found 49 reviews