British Gas Customer Service Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Customer Service Advisor

British Gas Customer Service Advisor Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
23%
Recommend to a Friend
British Gas Chief Executive, Centrica Consumer Sarwjit Sambhi (no image)
Sarwjit Sambhi
0 Rating
  1. "Good Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brilliant employee benefits and lovely staff

    Cons

    Extremely difficult to impossible to book a holiday of your choosing. Holidays need to be booked up to a year in advance to be secured

    British Gas2019-12-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The most boring job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor 

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great if you enjoyed not doing much

    Cons

    I spent most of my days reading books i brought in to stave off the boredom. Immature management team

    British Gas2019-10-15
  3. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Helpful and supportive colleagues, sharing knowledge, and advice. Break times.

    Cons

    Relentless, low morale, high turn over, lots of unrea

    Advice to Management

    Show your staff they are valued through rewards and recognition.

    British Gas2019-09-26
  4. "British Gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Cardiff, Wales

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their training scheme fully prepares you for the role. I started off with no experience in the job and by the end of training was confident to handle most if not all procedures and queries from customers.

    Cons

    A lot of customer complaints were made worse by some colleagues cold transferring unhappy customers so that they didnt have to deal with them. Some technical problems with smart meters or with customer accounts were never fixed whilst I was there so we had to keep telling customers that it was just being worked on but we dont know when it would be fixed.

    British Gas2019-09-10
  5. "Csa at Cardiff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor 

    I have been working at British Gas part-time

    Pros

    The pay is pretty awesome and much higher than similar roles with other companies

    Cons

    You're treated like children when it comes to health and safety in the office. The job is so repetitive

    British Gas2019-07-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Working at British gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training received from Compnany, good support from trainers they will really help and try to get u to pass your calls and be conducting calls

    Cons

    Terrible management, team leaders did not really know what they were doing, shift pattern was terrible, no room for flexibility whatsoever

    Advice to Management

    Need better team leaders and better management in general

    British Gas2019-06-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Long hours - Management not flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Easy money Free fruits and drinks

    Cons

    Long shifts (10h) Management is not very flexible in its approach Difficult to develop into new roles Job is boring

    Advice to Management

    Improve retention by offering development of skills, diversity in the job

    British Gas2019-03-13
  8. "Customer Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great office In Edinburgh. Rate of pay is great in comparison to other call centres.

    Cons

    There are none other that hitting targets and promoting services which is standard for call centres.

    Advice to Management

    None

    British Gas2019-02-23
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Birchgrove, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, literally nothing. I cant even say the people because everyone felt so miserable.

    Cons

    Everyone became so miserable. Never seen so many people signed off sick with stress before. Management are terrible and are bullies. Constant threat of being disciplined. No support when dealing with abusive customers. I was once told to get on with it as that is what I was paid for.

    Advice to Management

    Start from the beginning again. Customers hate you and so do your staff.

    British Gas2019-03-21
  10. "Customer Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Salford, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Working and good training

    Cons

    pressure to sell and complex processes

    British Gas2019-02-14
Found 70 reviews