British Gas Reviews | Glassdoor

British Gas Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 626 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
British Gas CEO Sarwjit Sambhi (no image)
Sarwjit Sambhi
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Mechanical Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Mechanical Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas for less than a year

    Pros

    learned about the oil and gas industry insights

    Cons

    3 months was a short period of time

    British Gas2017-11-15
  2. "BG Leeds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Assistant in Leeds, ME
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long service amongst staff members

    Cons

    head teacher vs student like culture with management

    British Gas2019-04-17
  3. "Good workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good Salary for what you do - Strong team ethic - Development is there if you want it - Great office environment

    Cons

    - None for me, best ever job I have had

    British Gas2017-09-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Former Field and Office Operations Manager Great Company, Going Downhill with Ian Conn as CEO/Mark Hodges as MD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Mountain Home, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great career over a decade whilst working there. Under the regime of Phil Bentley (former MD), there was excellent growth, and that provided progression.. Good pension scheme, excellent company car options, healthcare plan, great colleagues

    Cons

    Current culture of disregard for staff, cost cutting without thinking of actual consequence.. Current morale is very low at all levels including managerial. Too much bureaucracy and internal politics, with processes created for the sake of them being there, and no actual benefit.. Input seems to be taken away from management team too.. Salary lower than competition, Manager bonus scheme seems to become harder to... achieve in an attempt to cut costs

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember the culture and people that made British Gas who they are today.. Put people before shareholders..

    British Gas2016-05-12
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Project Manager in Houston, TX

    I worked at British Gas for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provides the basis for development that supports both individual and team effort through continuous profession development and training.

    Cons

    Retention of less staff and focuses more on outsourcing workforce...albeit fulfilling their corporate social responsibilities through same effort!

    British Gas2015-05-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Hostile"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Credit Risk Analyst in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas

    Pros

    Good Benefits compared to other companies.

    Cons

    Bad leadership in the Finance Department.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair

    British Gas2011-11-02
  7. "Centrica jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Staines, England

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice place to work with good work life balance

    Cons

    Various overlap and slow on projects

    British Gas2019-09-20
  8. "A good place to work overall but more recently it has become poorly organised, lacking a clear vision and pathways to it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People, Trust, Committed staff, flexibility, mature

    Cons

    Unorganised, lack of hire level commitment, disjointed visions, silo working, slow to change

    British Gas2019-09-20
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Resource Analyst in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent pay

    Cons

    Company going through transition great jobs are scarce

    Advice to Management

    Need to retain talent and remember traditional values

    British Gas2019-09-09
  10. "British Gas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Cardiff, Wales

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their training scheme fully prepares you for the role. I started off with no experience in the job and by the end of training was confident to handle most if not all procedures and queries from customers.

    Cons

    A lot of customer complaints were made worse by some colleagues cold transferring unhappy customers so that they didnt have to deal with them. Some technical problems with smart meters or with customer accounts were never fixed whilst I was there so we had to keep telling customers that it was just being worked on but we dont know when it would be fixed.

    British Gas2019-09-10
Found 626 reviews