British Gas Smart Energy Expert Reviews | Glassdoor

British Gas Smart Energy Expert Reviews

Updated Jan 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
45%
Recommend to a Friend
21%
Approve of CEO
British Gas Chief Executive, Centrica Consumer Sarwjit Sambhi (no image)
Sarwjit Sambhi
4 Ratings
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Energy Expert in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good job and good terms

    Cons

    None it’s a great job

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    British Gas2020-01-22
  2. "Great place to work, enjoyed my time whilst there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Smart Energy Expert in Grimsby, England
    Recommends

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, health and safety, bonus scheme, colleagues,.

    Cons

    Pay, up skill opportunities, lack of meters, poor reconditioned meters.

    Advice to Management

    Look after your engineers, and they will look after you.

    British Gas2019-12-05
  3. "Appalling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Energy Expert in Derby, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None, at all. Terrible place to work

    Cons

    Do not take a job at British Gas as any training they offer you gets bonded and you'll be forced to pay back thousands in fees if you leave before 3 years. The place is a disgrace.

    Advice to Management

    British Gas won't exist in 20 years unless you stop treating your staff and customers like a heard of milking cows

    British Gas2020-01-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Smart Energy Expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Energy Expert in Scunthorpe, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Looks good on a CV

    Cons

    Company do not care about their employees.

    British Gas2019-11-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ok not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Smart Energy Expert in Margate, England

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training academy’s and some decent courses, met some really decent people and mates

    Cons

    Lies, bullying manager, constant ear ache to sell boilers and get hive leads,

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to be people’s best mates and then throw them under the bus as soon as you can

    British Gas2019-09-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "False promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Energy Expert in Norwich, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There's always help there. Company provide tools and van.

    Cons

    No progression. When they promise upskilling... They dangle a carrot just for you to stay. Other providers pay a lot better. They are cost cutting every way possible

    Advice to Management

    They are pushed from their manager on stats and figures. But more praise and rewards would be nice. Rather than constant emails reminding everyone that we need to cut our costs or up our game.

    British Gas2019-08-09
  7. "Low pay, reasonable expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Smart Energy Expert in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Safety was always first, even when it got in the way of productivity. Other SEEs were a good bunch, no matter the team.

    Cons

    Low pay compared to other companies. Almost no chance for progression, despite constant promises of it.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making promises to invest in your workers and actually do it.

    British Gas2019-07-17
  8. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Smart Energy Expert in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really enjoying training, can’t eait to start

    Cons

    N/a nothing to report

    British Gas2019-06-17
  9. "Great company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Smart Energy Expert in Wirral, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They look after their employees with regular training, safety and job security. Van, tools, fuel card and uniform all supplied. Overtime available on a regular basis.

    Cons

    Very stressful job. Working on live equipment. Micromanaged. Managers always wanting more

    Advice to Management

    less micromanagement

    British Gas2019-02-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Smart Energy Expert in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Massive company big name ok.

    Cons

    Low pay and very poor management

    British Gas2019-02-14
Found 24 reviews