British Gas Technical Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Technical Engineer

British Gas Technical Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 11, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
29%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
British Gas Chief Executive, Centrica Consumer Sarwjit Sambhi (no image)
Sarwjit Sambhi
3 Ratings
  1. "Bg working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Engineer in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, days off in summer, plenty of overtime, every day is different

    Cons

    Pressure for sales. Performance targets.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more.

    British Gas2020-01-11
  2. "Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Gas Engineer in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company at the start

    Cons

    Sales sales sales sales sales

    British Gas2019-12-13
  3. "Sales job role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Technical Installation Engineer in Bristol, England

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pension & job security

    Cons

    Time pressure & travelling long distances to jobs

    British Gas2019-12-09
  4. "On their way down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Technical Gas Engineer 
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at British Gas for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great direct management and support from people that cared

    Cons

    High level strategy decisionmaking poor and panicky

    British Gas2019-11-18
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sell sell sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Rest days in summer. And that's all.

    Cons

    Sell sell sell culture. We are losing customers left right and centre. Before you leave us mr customer how about a Hive? Management thinks a good engineer is someone who has the right conversation and sells something. Sorry promote something. A rubbish engineer is one who goes around repairing everything but doesn't sell. Just look at the share price?

    Advice to Management

    Scrap the push for selling We will retain customers just by doing a good job. Anything else is a bonus.

    British Gas2019-08-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "3 stars but getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Gas Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overtime available but seems like they are trying to cut back on that as much as possible at the moment. Great support from fellow engineers. Fault finding software on most common boilers

    Cons

    Constant cost cutting and targets to be met. Have made our pension worse. Offshore call centres that make trying to get anything done hard work.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to sell hives and start bringing value back to customer contract

    British Gas2019-07-19
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Engineer in Bristol, England

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great security, benefits , pension and culture

    Cons

    Lots of targets outside of your day job

    Advice to Management

    Manage your expectations

    British Gas2019-07-18
  8. "I am a good mentor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Gas Engineer in West Thurrock, England

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The job has been very rewarding

    Cons

    Big Organisation Core values not adhered too.

    British Gas2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Service & Repair Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at British Gas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay Don’t have to pay for fuel

    Cons

    Toxic culture Bullying from management Unachievable targets

    Advice to Management

    Look after your workforce and they will look after your customers

    British Gas2019-05-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Service repair engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Breakdown Engineer in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Gas full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Logging off at end of day so you don’t have to take anymore BS FROM SMS

    Cons

    Being forced to sell upgrades to people who don’t need them for sky high prices,and not being left to look after the loyal customers,being made to sell/ hive the so called saviour of the business,,

    Advice to Management

    Work with engineers instead of being senior management s whipping stick cos at the end of the day they will do the same to you

    British Gas2018-12-29
Found 26 reviews