British Heart Foundation Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation Chief Executive Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
Dr. Charmaine Griffiths
4 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly staff, work around your prior commitments(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great office and colleagues who are all working hard to help the BHF achieve its long term strategy(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "In being a charity it’s to be cutting edge in terms of innovation(in 32 reviews)

  • "No cons at all great place to work(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great cause and a great job."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The organisation is constantly looking to improve it's performance and try new ventures. There is freedom to go about your job in the way that you think is best for the charity.

    Cons

    Little training on offer Very London focused, would have I love to London Head Office (GLH) to progress.

    British Heart Foundation2014-07-07
  2. "N/A"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leadership 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No comment to add at this time.

    Cons

    Not an ideal place to work.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2019-07-30

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 31, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are really disappointed to hear you had a negative experience with us. If you would like to discuss the issues confidentially please do reach out to us at careers@bhf.org.uk.

  3. "BHF sales assistant"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with lovely people Get trained in all aspects of the business Staff discount

    Cons

    can sometimes have to deal with very unusual and difficult people but that just gives you the skills to manage any situation that comes your way.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-05-08
  4. "Never again"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Harlow, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The volunteers were lovely to work with.

    Cons

    Sorting bags of donations is hard work. Some stuff was dirty like unclean garments. No gloves were provided for protection and believe me it is a necessity when you don't know what you'll put your hands in. Area managers have lost touch of the sales floor and dont know how to interact with customers or volunteers and would rather look at figure sheets and belittle people.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-05-22
  5. "Amazing place to wok"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So nice to work for a charity with such a good cause

    Cons

    Can be hard to get new ideas running

    British Heart Foundation2020-05-05
  6. "Great fun volunteering here!"

    5.0
    Former Employee - volunteer cashier 

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Friendly colleagues, lots of flexibility with regards to hours, great retail experience

    Cons

    No cons come to mind

    British Heart Foundation2020-05-05

    British Heart Foundation Response

    May 14, 2020

    Thank you for the review , so pleased to read that you had a great experience and found the team friendly and enjoyed the flexibility too. Take care Jo - BHF Volunteering Team

  7. "Great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Meeting new people, broadened my experience

    Cons

    Unfortunately part time no pay

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-04-21
  8. "Hated working here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met some lovely people A lot of training sessions available

    Cons

    Some really toxic managers Big emphasis on hierarchy and a lot of pressure put on teams that ends up put on lower down workers Don't listen to new opinions and ideas Don't care about the people, just making a profit to be "the best charity" Dirty offices, mice live in the vents and poo on the desks Bad cross team collaboration. A lot of pressure to meet team targets rather than whole organisation targets, so teams fight over income streams.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-05-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Frustrating"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Non profit. Good controls on corporate expenditure in comparison to many firms. Some really good employees. Great volunteers. Varied work. Relatively short working week, 35 hours, no late nights or long shifts.

    Cons

    Major conflicts between the charity image & the business requirement. Too much pressure on target & kpi achievement, a charity which threatens letters of concern is not my idea of an understanding employer. They encourage whistle blowing & safeguarding yet a line manager will say "we don't talk about such things". Far too many area & regional managers & directors, not required. Ill thought out notions of what is required while ignoring what the employees & customers need.

    Continue reading
    British Heart Foundation2020-03-25

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 31, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that you don't feel that we, as an organisation, are listening to you. If you feel that we can be of any support in this area, please contact us on careers@bhf.org.uk. We value your feedback, so this and your other points regarding targets and our use of letters of concern, will be shared with the relevant teams. Recruitment Team

  10. "amazing experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor 

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    it was a good experience. built a lot of different transferable skills.

    Cons

    sometimes other employees did not carry their weight.

    British Heart Foundation2020-03-07

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 9, 2020

    Thanks so much for your review. We’re really pleased that you had the opportunities to build new skill. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure! Recruitment Team

Found 361 reviews