British Heart Foundation Sales Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Assistant

British Heart Foundation Sales Assistant Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
British Heart Foundation CEO Simon Gillespie
Simon Gillespie
5 Ratings
  1. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Assistant in Bath, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great pay for relatively easy work (they pay £8.30 hour as a sales assistant regardless of your age) - You can opt into doing additional training and learning and you can shadow anyone in the company to learn about their job - The job can be quite fun and varied. There’s always something different every day to do. But it can also be very repetitive and boring - There is quite a good benefits package you get a... health/dental plan, 25% discount, A good amount of holidays allowance and plenty of overtime offered

    Show More

    Cons

    - The job can be stressful due to the amount of stock that you can get. There is always a very high workload. There are not enough members of staff hired in the shops. It’s usually just a team of a couple of people and volunteers are heavily relied upon - Working conditions are rather dangerous and unsafe to be around - There is an atmosphere of bullying from the management team

    British Heart Foundation2019-10-04

    British Heart Foundation Response

    October 14, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to see that you're enjoying the variety and additional learning that is on offer to all of our employees. It is also good to see that you're making use of our benefits package. This often comes up as a positive comment within our reviews. Regarding your other comments, we want to reassure you that we do take all the points you have raised seriously. If you would like to discuss these points in more detail and confidentially, please do reach out to us at careers@bhf.org.uk

    Show Less
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation for less than a year

    Pros

    Banta is good with peers Good for work experience Plenty of tasks Regular customers are awesome

    Cons

    Organisation of donations isn't the best Small space as the shop is small Obviously, there is no pay

    Advice to Management

    More organisation would be great, although this isn't managements fault entirely.

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-29
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Staff service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Very good staff and fun job to do

    Cons

    Can get a bit crowded

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-30

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 31, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as a Sales Assistant. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure!

  5. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time

    Pros

    Not too busy so not constantly moving

    Cons

    Not too busy so a bit boring

    British Heart Foundation2019-07-15

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 17, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience of working with us. Thank you for making a life-saving difference, we wish you all the best in your new adventure!

  6. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in New Malden, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The manager was lovely and treated all members of staff with respect.

    Cons

    Must stay for a while without pay before and after the shop closes in order to do admin.

    Advice to Management

    Pay staff for the time worked outside of the opening times of the shop.

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-24

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 25, 2019

    Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, and you particularly appreciated the manager's respectful approach to the team. We will ensure your comments regarding working outside of store opening times are shared with the relevant teams.

    Show Less
  7. "Good for retail experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Learn how to use a till

    Cons

    No formal training Often left alone on shop floor as a new volunteer

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-28

    British Heart Foundation Response

    July 9, 2019

    Hi Flexibility and the chance to try new things and learn lots of new skills are some of the many benefits of volunteering at BHF so that's great you enjoyed this aspect . We constantly work at offering a great training induction programme for volunteers and so it's disappointing to hear that this wasn't what you experienced . We are always looking to recruit plenty of new volunteers to help on our sales floors to work alongside each other to avoid volunteers working on their own . Thank you for your comments we really do use feedback to help improve the volunteering journey for our amazing volunteers. Jo - Volunteering Team

    Show Less
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good hours and friendly staff

    Cons

    Changig hours is sometimes annoying

    British Heart Foundation2019-06-12

    British Heart Foundation Response

    June 12, 2019

    Hi, thanks so much for your feedback. It's good to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference, especially the work-life balance. We wish you all the best in your new adventure!

  9. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice people to work with

    Cons

    fat cats lining their own pockets. Managers and downwards paying them peanuts for the jobs that they do and do the minimal they can get away with helping with everybody needs

    Advice to Management

    Very demanding it is about demands not a charity shop anymore

    British Heart Foundation2019-03-19

    British Heart Foundation Response

    March 20, 2019

    Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. It is good to see that you enjoyed working as part of a team that makes a life-saving difference. If you would like to discuss further the other points you have raised, please do reach out to us at careers@bhf.org.uk.

  10. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Bedford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very professional staff and understand the importance of customer service, also very friendly staff

    Cons

    Wasnt paid any money, as i was doing work experience

    Advice to Management

    no advice needed

    British Heart Foundation2018-12-19

    British Heart Foundation Response

    January 8, 2019Recruitment Partner

    Hello - thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the team that you worked with and learnt some valuable customer service skills! We wish you all the best for the future!

  11. "Management were selfish, strict, unappreciative and brutal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at British Heart Foundation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I made lots of friends, in volunteers, other staff and customers, I was trusted with keys, banking and opening/closing the shop which gave me good experience and confidence. Generally happy place to work

    Cons

    Despite being almost immediately trusted with keys, banking and opening/closing shop, and basically doing the job of a manager/assistant manager most days despite being just a sales assistant, they failed my probation for no real reason. I went from running the shop as basically a manager, to being unemployed in just a week - no job security. Management trust you with everything when it suits them and then will turn... around and backstab you. Do lots of work for them and they ultimately don't care. Unrealistic targets set by higher management. Nothing was ever good enough. Picky about everything. They let serious issues slide but pick you up for stupid things like dress code. Job was also boring, yet stressful, always found myself with not very much to do No communication between management, no structure, holidays always getting ignored, rota screwups, etc

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a damn grip

    British Heart Foundation2018-07-20
Found 27 reviews