BroadbandTV Reviews | Glassdoor

BroadbandTV Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 101 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
BroadbandTV CEO 	Shahrzad Rafati (no image)
Shahrzad Rafati
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "BBTV has a great team, which has made it a fun place to come to everyday(in 8 reviews)

  • "Pay and benefits are pretty good, seem fairly standard for Vancouver(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "BBTV is an extremely dysfunctional and demoralizing place to work(in 12 reviews)

  • "The company is essentially a pyramid scheme designed to aggregate content from YouTube(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fun at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BroadbandTV full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere. Fun coworkers. Cool managers.

    Cons

    Industry is up and down.

    Advice to Management

    Keep sales in the loop.

    BroadbandTV2018-08-31
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Content Aggregator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BroadbandTV part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart team around you to coach.

    Cons

    Gloomy company with strategy problems.

    BroadbandTV2017-07-14
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Sadly this is a terribly run company with incompetent management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BroadbandTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unfortunately I can think of any positive attributes... unless you can't get a job anywhere else. Seriously no pros come to mind.

    Cons

    All smoke and mirrors. The sales and marketing team is clueless. They don't effectively manage talent or produce any compelling content. The CEO is self consumed and doesn't manage effectively. There isn't any brand awareness and the PR team is non existent. It's a controlling environment and constant turnover.

    Advice to Management

    Wake up! MCN's are dead and so are you!!!

    BroadbandTV2017-06-23
  4. Helpful (6)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV part-time

    Pros

    Thriving company model and boss in the industry

    Cons

    Terrible in-house communication and staff

    Advice to Management

    Improve HR

    BroadbandTV2017-02-21
  5. Helpful (13)

    "This company will die if there are no changes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy to work for these guys since there's no accountability, save for numbers. As long as you are hitting your numbers, they will keep you. Free food occasionally. Seriously, that's it. There are not many pros to working for this company. They won't even take the time to teach you new skills.

    Cons

    You'll only last a year because that's how long it takes for management to get sick of you. Seriously, you need to be friends with management and suck up to them to even have a chance of sticking around. No raises. No bonuses. No promotions. They rely on your wanting to live in Vancouver to make up for the pay shortage. Management will take credit for the things you do, and not even thank or mention you to... the higher ups. Revolving door of employees makes it hard to feel like an actual company. CEO is so disconnected she doesn't even see what's going on. She's too busy flying out to accept awards to see her company is falling apart.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of everyone in the upper echelons. The cronyism is real and it is ruining your company. Your in-house marketing department and HR are jokes, and your pay scale is laughable compared to other companies in your area. You are bleeding employees because you won't pay them what they are worth. Oh, also, stop trying to convince people to work here with fake reviews. There's a reason people are posting the truth... about working for this company here; it falls on deaf ears in the office. Don't believe the good reviews. They are written by the "Damage Controllers". It legitimately sucks to work for this company, unless you are one of the chosen golden management.

    Show More
    BroadbandTV2017-02-07
  6. Helpful (7)

    "The Fight of Your Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scout 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Riding the YouTube wave. Opportunity for a deep learning experience. Work Remotely. In Vancouver. (Best livable city in the world)

    Cons

    Long hours in comparison to pay. As a recruiter have to wait 45 days for payment. (YouTube rule) No promise for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Better compensation model.

    BroadbandTV2014-08-23
  7. "Great Work Culture and Supportive Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *middle sized company which creates a lot of different departments to get involved with and learn from *great co-workers who are eager to jump in or get involved *interesting workload - I get to work on a lot of creative projects *100% medical benefits covered and personal development allowance *management cares about its employees and HR is approachable and supportive *focus on quadruple bottom line which... means that the company cares about social, community and environmental KPIs as much as financial *fun events to break up the work flow! *great work/life balance for most employees

    Show More

    Cons

    *young employee base can sometimes lead to drama (notable among the sales team) *large amount of entry level employees and few managers which decreases the movement within the company (however they are working on this and do provide personal development allowance to learn these skills) *some internal disapproval of CEO but in my experience these are unfounded as you can actively see the CEO growing and learning... with the company

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More opportunities for CEO and employees to mix

    BroadbandTV2019-09-19
  8. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company shows loyalty and listens to you when you have something to say. The company is growing and is an exciting place to work with new projects coming on board. The CEO is inspiring and the company is always putting on fun events that help bring all the teams together.

    Cons

    Maybe better selection in the vending machine

    BroadbandTV2019-09-12

    BroadbandTV Response

    September 12, 2019

    *Care* is one of our core values, so we're happy to hear that you have felt heard and that you've experienced genuine response to your thoughts and ideas. We have an inspiring team (CEO and yourself included) so we are intentional in working to create a safe and diverse environment ...

    Show More
  9. "Fine place for first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BroadbandTV full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting industry. Very relaxed office. The people I worked with were talented and cared about doing a good job. Opportunities to attend events and gain varied experience. Great for a first job (but be wary of collecting bad habits).

    Cons

    Leadership doesn't have the experience they need to thrive. Egos tend to get in the way of work. Projects are known to be abandoned midway through. The number of sign-offs needed to get projects completed can be frustrating. No real space for growth or career progression. CEO does not respect the work/life balance of employees. Salary is below industry standard and benefits package is weak. Cliquey atmosphere.

    BroadbandTV2019-09-05

    BroadbandTV Response

    September 13, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. It's clear you put thought into this review. First, we're glad you found our industry to be exciting and it sounds like you were able to gain some diverse experience from the opportunities presented and from the talented ...

    Show More
  10. "BroadbandTV provides a great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - PR and Corporate Communications Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BroadbandTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at BroadbandTV for 3 months now and it's been a long time since I've been as happy as I currently am at a place of employment. Here are a few reasons why: * Chance to work for a very smart female CEO * Equality not only in the work force but within the pay structure * Collaborative and supportive work environment * Opportunities to lead work on very exciting company announcements * Wonderful... co-workers who I am lucky enough to work with every day * Opportunity to grow and learn * Good salary * Amazing staff events to keep employees engaged and having fun * Positive work culture * Balance between work and home life

    Show More

    Cons

    At this point I don't have any cons.

    BroadbandTV2019-08-27

    BroadbandTV Response

    August 28, 2019

    Awesome, we love this feedback! While we recognize we're on a learning journey with our team members and are committed to continued growth, we are so happy to hear that the programs and initiatives already launched are making a positive impact - equality, balance and growth are all ...

    Show More
Found 101 reviews