Bronson Methodist Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Bronson Methodist Hospital Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Frank Sardone
50 Ratings
  1. "Lactation Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, IBCLC in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair pay, good staffing, positive environment

    Cons

    No leadership opportunities in lactation department

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-06-27
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are good, and the work kept my interest.

    Cons

    It can be stressful at times but that is to be expected in this line of work

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-06-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A Caring Company with Personal Ties"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst I Customer Support in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Workers are given flexible hours and vacation, great opportunities for internal movement, and benefits including retirement matching, health insurance, and tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    "Who do you know" attitude. The best way to get promotions/moved internally is not necessarily experience, rather networking. While in my opinion both are important to obtain within a company, Bronson leans more toward networking, which is not something most employees are fond of.

    Advice to Management

    IT Management in Particular: - Find better management and consistent employees not through friendships and familiarity, but through evaluation and communication. - Make intervention with new employees easier and less empathetic. If an employee is not performing well, work with them to improve performance or let them go, (departments suffer from ill-working teammates--don't encourage this growth). - Don't cater to other...

    Show More
    Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-06-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Overall, it is mostly pleasant working at Bronson."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Medical Assistant in Kalamazoo, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Communication and teamwork is really stressed in departments. They encourage a lot of interaction and on the floor action from supervisors and managers. There are also tons of learning opportunities. There is opportunity for raises and bonuses, usually annually.

      Cons

      HR doesn't seem to really care about us. They make things such as obtaining short term disability, PTO, and insurance difficult. There is a waiting game for these benefits, and communication isn't often clear.

      Advice to Management

      Ask the little people of the company what they want! We have MANY ideas and feel ignored by the big decision makers.

      Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-04-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "IT department-specific"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Data Analyst in Portage, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Nice coworkers and very nice, new office space with stand-up desks and on-site gym.

      Cons

      I only ever worked in the Information Technology department at Bronson. I can say that I.T. at Bronson is in the dark ages (no work from home opportunities, strict hours, no jeans, etc.). Their salaries are not competitive. Management doesn't care about employee satisfaction and the morale there is really low right now. I was the 10th person on a team of 14 to leave in a year's time because of poor communication between...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees and take action when necessary. Create an environment conducive to innovation; you're not going to attract talented Information Technology professionals running an IT department like a business office. Be willing to let go of leaders who are not demonstrating leadership qualities.

      Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-04-26
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time

      Pros

      Family oriented, people are very supportive, collegiate

      Cons

      Some shift in administrative focus from people to meeting the bottom line, but probably this trend is common in other hospitals nowadays

      Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-03-21
    • "Great hospital to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time

      Pros

      Positive work environment, Bronson truly cares about their patients

      Cons

      Hard workers are overlooked while mediocre and poor performers are rewarded often

      Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-03-14
    • Helpful (3)

      "HR is despicable, MGMT lies to HR"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - IT Specialist in Kalamazoo, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      None that warrants any mention

      Cons

      MGMT is horrific, they lie to HR and won't give you unemployment even if you earned it. HR is a joke, they hire veterans then let them go if their illness interferes with work

      Advice to Management

      Your sickening to hire veterans then let them go for illness then refuse unemployment

      Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-04-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "Patient Repersentative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time

      Pros

      Excellent benefits Great Leadership and good pay for the work.

      Cons

      No room for advancement Employee relations is on the decline

      Advice to Management

      Hold employees more accountable

      Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-03-15
    • "Phlebotomy trainer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great pay, good for coworkers and environment

      Cons

      No chance for advancement and understaffed

      Bronson Methodist Hospital2018-02-26
    Found 91 reviews