Bronson Methodist Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Bronson Methodist Hospital Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 91 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Frank Sardone
50 Ratings
  1. "Most inspiring setting I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital

    Pros

    Generous benefits and compensation package

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    Continue inspiring your employees to achieve greater things every day

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-10-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Apply elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital

    Pros

    Multiple locations in the Michigan area

    Cons

    If you do not have a friend in management you will not be promoted

    Advice to Management

    Hire the people who are right for the job, not the people who are friends with management

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-10-04
  3. Helpful (2)

    "RN Float Pool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Diverse, respecful, kind. Encourages professional degrees.

    Cons

    Lots is walking during shift (8000+ steps).

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-08-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Registered nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly co-workers. Adequate orientation. Lots of support staff (respiratory therapists, transport, phlebotomists, etc.). Typically nurse to patient ratios are acceptable. Many opportunities to switch departments because you only have to stay in your position 6 months. Also if working day shift is important to you, people can quickly get day shift position because many people switch departments quickly and there are...

    Show More

    Cons

    Heavy into middle management, which includes hiring/promoting people with little experience to "lead" staff. There is a huge disconnect between staff and management and a generally feeling of "what the hell just happened?" Management does not support staff and there is a sense that they don't know or care to know anything about what's important to you. Morale is low, and worsening by the day. Great co-workers are the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your staff. Appreciate what they do on a day to day basis. A little investment of time into building a relationship with each person goes a long way. Address concerns/problems before they become huge problems. Follow up with employees regarding their concerns. Don't play favorites with people you are friends with outside of work.

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-07-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The general atmosphere at Bronson is welcoming with a very diverse group of employees. Bronson cares for the welfare of their employees.

    Cons

    Slow decision making, micromanaging employees, requiring useless certifications, not enough positive feedback, and passive agrees I've management. Not much room for promotion in the dept.

    Advice to Management

    Micromanaging employees causes a lot of animosity and diminishes moral.

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-05-12
  6. "Practice Support Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Support Assistant in Saline, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Family/patient oriented, hard-working, awesome supervisors, wonderful co-workers, fun atmosphere, room for growth, fun, exciting

    Cons

    Sitting at a desk all day

    Advice to Management

    Management was amazing. I don't have one bad thing to say about them. They truly are committed to this company and the success of others.

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-04-10
  7. "Intern and employment review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital

    Pros

    Fun environment and great people to work with. Lots of big things happening in the organization.

    Cons

    Very low pay rates for the job titles. This may partially be due to the fact that it is a hospital and it is an none profit.

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-04-22
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Np"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Physician Assistsnt in Portage, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fellow providers in my former office were professional and intelligent but overworked and have no say - Our office was clean and had many windows. Malpractice is covered Cme money is generous

    Cons

    Management hires their friends so they can continue poor leadership and hire/fire who they want Vacation is deducted from production so you don't really get this benefit) Midlevels see more pts than Drs and management does not set up a working relationship as docs love our help with coverage of labs but management only sees volume of pts seen as important. It really is all about money

    Advice to Management

    Change the Rvu system for midlevels. It's biased And unfair. You pay way less than the country Managers turn a blind eye in out patient primary care. Not enough providers since midlevels treated like slaves

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-04-14
  9. "Lifeguard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital

    Pros

    Excellent group of people, very friendly, free gym membership, top of the line facility.

    Cons

    Lifeguarding over time does get boring. When lifeguarding it can get very busy but you are the only guard on duty. Also, one of the pools is in a position where the lifeguard cannot see in the pool. They have a camera monitor setup though.

    Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-03-16
  10. "Not happening"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Battle Creek, MI

      I worked at Bronson Methodist Hospital for less than a year

      Pros

      The atmosphere, and the staff.

      Cons

      The 10 hour shifts were hard to contend with for more than 4 days.

      Advice to Management

      Need to take more time with new trainees.

      Bronson Methodist Hospital2016-02-16
    Found 91 reviews