Brookdale Community College Reviews | Glassdoor

Brookdale Community College Reviews

Updated Jan 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Brookdale Community College CEO David Stout
David Stout
2 Ratings
  1. "A great place to start as an employee."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technician in Lincroft, NJ
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working in the television department, Brookdale has a great facility with an incredibly patient staff. This makes working there a great learning experience. The other employees are very positive and it is a work environment that is often enjoyable.

    Cons

    It's hard to complain about anything in particular. If you intend on getting a job in production where you would learn a great deal, this is a great choice.

    Brookdale Community College2019-01-01
  2. "Adjunct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincroft, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Convenient location, great students, excellent staff

    Cons

    The pay for adjunct professors isn't the best.

    Brookdale Community College2018-04-30
  3. "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Lincroft, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Community College full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some great coworkers and I enjoy the students as well.

    Cons

    Used to love working here; now I bring home less money each year (thank you Chris Christie) and the support we used to get--new laptop every 3 years, conference registration, etc.--is dwindling. They fired many employees several years ago and the morale has never rebounded.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the faculty--and not in a superficial way.

    Brookdale Community College2018-04-15
  4. "Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Community College part-time

    Pros

    Rewarding experience and Casual atmosphere.

    Cons

    Low pay no chance for advancement.

    Brookdale Community College2018-04-07
  5. "Learning Assistant for the Language department, Japanese classes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Assistant in Lincroft, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Brookdale Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent learning environment. Friendly stuff. Great school.

    Cons

    Need to commute. There are no free food. The food in the cafeteria is very expensive.

    Advice to Management

    Be a good listener.

    Brookdale Community College2018-02-08
  6. "Library Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Brookdale Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and PTO Diverse work space

    Cons

    Poor compensation Difficult to advance career

    Advice to Management

    Focus on innovation in all departments

    Brookdale Community College2017-10-14
  7. "adjunct avisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Brookdale Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible, busy, easy-going, casual fridays

    Cons

    cliques, drama, not always professional

    Brookdale Community College2017-01-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "College in Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Brookdale Community College

    Pros

    True sense of community among employees.

    Cons

    Uncertainty of funding streams; amateur Board of Trustees

    Advice to Management

    sync needs of college w political aspirations of board members

    Brookdale Community College2016-05-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Office assistant as student worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lincroft, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brookdale Community College part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours good opportunities lots to do and ways to get involved nice senior management all supporting departments are very knowleagble

    Cons

    does not pay well will gipp student workers because free labor due to state aid Expects too much will lie about potential increases in hourly rate cuts hours

    Advice to Management

    Be up front about pricing and hours as a student worker, we are looking for expirence not to be rattled around. I should have been told early on that i would need a second job because there isnt any raises.

    Brookdale Community College2016-05-28
  10. "adjunct salary never changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Adjunct Faculty in Aberdeen, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Brookdale Community College for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Student feedback is gratifying. Department secretary is helpful.

    Cons

    I have been an adjunct professor at Brookdale since 9/07. I have never had a salary increase. If I am sick, I am docked that day's salary. I was docked for missing class due to my father's funeral!

    Advice to Management

    Pay adjunct a salary more commensurate with the hours we put in both inside and certainly outside the class.

    Brookdale Community College2016-05-19
Found 25 reviews