Brookdale Senior Living Dining Services Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Brookdale Senior Living Dining Services Director Reviews

Updated Aug 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
54%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Brookdale Senior Living President and CEO Lucinda Cindy Baier
Lucinda Cindy Baier
2 Ratings
  1. "Occupancy is everything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Dining Services in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with compassionate people Extensive Benefits

    Cons

    Hiring process Low pay Dated corporate structure

    Advice to Management

    Listen the front line workers. Update your outdated corporate structure to the needs of each individual community

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-08-30
  2. "More pros than cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director of Dining Services in Chapel Hill, NC

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Two days off, paid by the hour, paid holidays, sick and personal days, great bens

    Cons

    No dishwasher or prep guys, too many chiefs, certain other employees are straight up lazy

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-06-12
  3. "Don’t torture yourself"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Services Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The bonds you form with the residents

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive, salaried employees get run all over, always cutting budget, senior management don’t care about employees.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-05-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Dining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Dining Services in Englewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Larger company with career growth potential.

    Cons

    Slow to invest in kitchen maintenance and equipment.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to associates, corporate needs to spend time understanding the limitations of the equipment and space in their buildings and invest more to maintain sanitation and quality.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-04-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Director of Dining Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Services Director in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great residents and good area

    Cons

    Poor management support. Poor support from corporate. Hard getting qualified applicants. Too many chiefs.

    Advice to Management

    When you hire someone for management let them do their job.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-02-06
  6. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Services Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most weekends off and no late nights which is a plus in the food industry. There are some great people that work for the company that are a great help. Making a difference for the residents

    Cons

    They don’t stick to their standards and have unreal expectations sometimes of what is achievable under the conditions presented.

    Advice to Management

    Better understanding of what is happening at the building level. Knowing how to grow your culinary depart from with in.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-02-07
  7. "Dining Services Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dining Services Director in Tiverton, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the residents and our Management team works well together. I feel like my associates are my family. We have great part time associates who are still in school and make the job fun and work hard at providing great service to our residents.

    Cons

    Very difficult to accomplish all my tasks. Our community is complex with 4 different levels of care however the challenge is exciting .

    Advice to Management

    Continue to put our residents first and continue to listen to associates needs.

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-10-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director of Dining Services in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Its great helping out seniors overall it's self rewarding.

    Cons

    hr presents in the community isn't there. different standards for different communities. Departs some times lack the support from other department for overall success of the building.

    Advice to Management

    More team building activities more funds for employee relations and hoilday functions

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-06-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Bringing Horror to Senior Living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Services Director in Clearwater, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Residents are the only pro

    Cons

    Coworkers, Employees if you're a boss, senior management, pay

    Advice to Management

    Learn to treat people, even Management, fairly and not overwork them by letting enough staff be hired

    Brookdale Senior Living2017-12-26
  10. "Pass Them By"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Dining Services Director in Hendersonville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    The people I worked with were great and I loved the residents

    Cons

    Pay was terrible. I was the dining services coordinator and had too many restrictions to do a great job. Top down company

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people in the field.

    Brookdale Senior Living2017-11-15
Found 41 reviews