Brookdale Senior Living Executive Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Brookdale Senior Living Executive Director Reviews

Updated Nov 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Brookdale Senior Living President and CEO Lucinda Cindy Baier
Lucinda Cindy Baier
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good leadership with a lot of longevity. Company works hard to do the right thing. Great systems and technology compared to other long term care companies. Their philosophy is that good people make the difference and they definitely practice what they preach.

    Cons

    Doesn't help pay for Master's degree.

    Advice to Management

    No company is perfect but I do feel like Brookdale tries to improve things when something isn't working. Would like to see more/better benefits to support working mom's and women as a huge part of company is made up of women.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-09-03
  2. "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Large number of communities to find the right fit

    Cons

    Unqualified and uneducated leadership hired into key roles

    Advice to Management

    Stop allowing leaders to hire their friends into senior leadership roles within the communities

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-11-25
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Heavy Middle Management - Zero Accountability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They’re everywhere - you’ll find one.

    Cons

    Heavy on middle management, which buffers corporate folks from knowing what really goes on in their communities.

    Advice to Management

    Pay is competitive & benefits are OK. Surely the folks at the top know that the incessant turn over at the site level is a result of middle management not being accountable for lack of support. They pass the buck & the blame on to the community management. Ed’s get fired all the time. RDO’s rarely get fired. They can’t all be bad.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-09-18
  4. "Executive Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Executive Director 

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Top Rated Company Largest employer in industry

    Cons

    Publicly Traded Company Largest in industry

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-08-19
  5. "Cares about residents"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Regional management supportive, training opportunities, promote within

    Cons

    No work life balance, low pay for caregivers which makes it hard to find good employees

    Advice to Management

    Increase care associate wages

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-08-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Too top heavy and too many layers of management really limiting the facility directors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in North Richland Hills, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My immediate management team were very supportive

    Cons

    Not being able to be make decisions

    Advice to Management

    Reduce layers o for corporate and pay executive directors more

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-07-08
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Shelby, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Company lives it’s mission statement.

    Cons

    No cons to report at this time

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-05-04
  8. "Executive Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Director in Minot, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training programs and upper management support.

    Cons

    I can’t think of any at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Hire me back, I had to leave when my community was transitioned to another company.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-03-07
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Ethics and morales are lacking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Palm Coast, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Residents are the best, blessing to all who work there,

    Cons

    Company treats executive directors like low life. They say “you are the CEO”. They mean you are CEO- crap at office”

    Advice to Management

    Treat your EDs well and respectfully and they will treat residents and associates well

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-12-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Executive Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Director in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture, mission statement and cornerstones, in theory.Amazing residents and front line staff.

    Cons

    In practice, out of touch leadership and culture of fear embedded in poor execution of an otherwise amazing mission statement cornerstones.

    Advice to Management

    Create a vision, and relay it to community level associates in a correct manner so they buy into Brookdale... by the time a message gets down to us, it morphs into the personal objective of our district leaders and rather ends up being utilized to justify their behavior not the successful completion of company objectives.

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-09-29
Found 88 reviews