Brookdale Senior Living Licensed Practical Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Licensed Practical Nurse

Brookdale Senior Living Licensed Practical Nurse Reviews

Updated Jan 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Brookdale Senior Living President and CEO Lucinda Cindy Baier
Lucinda Cindy Baier
4 Ratings
  1. "Heartfelt warmth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Zanesville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at brookdale felt like a family outside of home.

    Cons

    Turnover rate, made extra work for others

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-06-24
  2. "Horrible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Easy Job Nicely kept property

    Cons

    Horrible Management Lazy CNA's and Nurses Abusive and Disrespectful CNA's

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge the extreme problems and learn to care about the residents and not just care about money.

    Brookdale Senior Living2020-01-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Revolving Door of Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Residents are wonderful. Families are great as well.

    Cons

    Poor administration. Cut backs on hours and Staff so management can get their bonuses. They consider thirty hours full time and will play that card when they need to cut Staff. There is zero job security. If you speak up you may as well resign because they will find or make up a reason to get rid of you.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your Staff better. Be up front and honest. Put the Residents and Staff before your bonuses.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-11-18
  4. "I enjoyed my time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Assisted living facility in CT work load manageable

    Cons

    Nursing supervisors changed several times while employed with company

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-09-19
  5. "Home Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good admin. Great communities and patient ya. Pay good.

    Cons

    Case load is high. Benefits could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Try to keep patient. Try to keep continuity by keeping familiar faces in nursing with the same patients.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-08-23
  6. Helpful (2)

    "No advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Residents and some co-workers are great

    Cons

    Poor management and high staff turnover

    Advice to Management

    Be accountable and stop trying to sell lies

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-06-22
  7. "Experience has been good here. No complaints. Straight forward job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pretty easy going (night shift)

    Cons

    Pay isn’t to high but the job isn’t hard

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-06-02
  8. "Wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Palm Coast, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Resident are very nice and appreciated care

    Cons

    Wage for work in not fair

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-05-06
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Confusing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The residents! Love them! I work in a memory care unit and they make my day every day. Most of the staff is great. A few bad apples, but I try to not let them spoil the whole bunch.

    Cons

    Consistency is key!!! Regional directors (so we've been told) are cheap. I think it's most of management.

    Advice to Management

    Stop worrying about the bottom line and focus on what we do....taking care of the residents. They are most important!!! Direct care staff should be next. Pay attention to the cornerstones!!!! Put the residents first and the bottom line will take care of itself.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-01-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Residents... but that is it

    Cons

    Very Understaffed, uneducated health and wellness directors

    Advice to Management

    Hire more aides, it's impossible to do a job when you have 1 aide and 1 nurse for 40 + residents

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-05-02
Found 59 reviews