Brookdale Senior Living Resident Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Resident Assistant

Brookdale Senior Living Resident Assistant Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
51%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Brookdale Senior Living President and CEO Lucinda Cindy Baier
Lucinda Cindy Baier
2 Ratings
  1. "Residental assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant in Charleston, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Help take care of the elderly

    Cons

    Getting attached to the residents

    Continue reading
    Brookdale Senior Living2018-08-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Not the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Programs Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with the residents.

    Cons

    I worked at two different Brookdale communities over the course of 4.5 years, in two different roles. The first 4-6 months of working at each community were fine, but beyond that is when things started to crumble and the ugly underside of senior living corporations started to show. I was constantly overworked and under appreciated. Both communities I worked in were consistently understaffed (mostly due to turnover), and I filled in numerous times for those positions, because if I didn’t, management made me feel guilty for not helping. The next problem I dealt with was the attitude and culture of “profit over people.” The Brookdale mentality was to keep rooms occupied, no matter the cost to the resident. I can’t list how many times I questioned why certain residents were living there, when clearly they were beyond Brookdale’s capacity to care for them. It was frustrating to watch the management staff manipulate and lie about residents’ needs in order to keep them at Brookdale.

    Continue reading
    Brookdale Senior Living2019-12-13
  3. "Decent place to work if committed people would apply."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule is doable for working parents. Some advancement in career possible. Well organized.

    Cons

    Pay should be a lot more, but is equal to industry standards. Hard to keep quality people employed so high turnover rate.

    Continue reading
    Brookdale Senior Living2019-10-15
  4. "Good part time job for students looking to go into healthcare, but expect to be overworked and underpaid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant 

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gain a lot of valuable hands on experience, get to help and get to know the residents, somewhat flexible scheduling for students.

    Cons

    The pay is not great, you are expected to do virtually everything from daily cates and ADL's to medication management to housekeeping to dietary aide duties, and often short staffed. Overtime/double shifts can be common as there are often open shifts/call ins. You cannot request time off without filling your own shifts which can be impossible.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-10-16
  5. "Brookdale can be draining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You don't have to be certified to work as a care aide and the residents are amazing for the most part

    Cons

    Not enough staff on schedule at one time and the management is rude

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-08-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Never again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant in Albany, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros I can think of

    Cons

    Everything is a mess. The turn over rate is insane, the training is not good and nobody seems to know anything.

    Continue reading
    Brookdale Senior Living2019-07-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residents/patients Free meals sometimes

    Cons

    Hours Lack of professionalism Favoritism Slackers

    Continue reading
    Brookdale Senior Living2019-02-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "If you are desperate!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Plymouth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The residents were nice and very few coworkers who worked as a team.

    Cons

    Unprofessional management and coworkers who didn’t care about the job.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-01-30
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resident Assistant 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff and residents relationships

    Cons

    No advancement opportunities..low pay rate raises

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-06-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "currently seeking other employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Assistant in Lancaster, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The residents are very special

    Cons

    Management is horrible, they yell at you in front of other employees, they don't appreciate you, gossipy, very unprofessional management staff

    Continue reading
    Brookdale Senior Living2018-07-19
Found 74 reviews