Brookdale Senior Living Server Reviews | Glassdoor

Brookdale Senior Living Server Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
71%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Brookdale Senior Living President and CEO Lucinda Cindy Baier
Lucinda Cindy Baier
6 Ratings
  1. "Server/Receptionist/Cook/Dishwasher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Albany, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The residents and my Executive Director were amazing, loved them to bits. There is a lot of room for advancement, and I loved being cross-trained in different areas of Brookdale.

    Cons

    Personal experience with other staff is completely subjective and varies, but a lot of the people I had worked with didn't show up, so hard-working staff would get called in frequently.

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-05-08
  2. "Great Community but Heavily Understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Christmas Bonus (given by residents) -Free Meals -Flexible Hours -Nice Coworkers

    Cons

    -No raises -Understaffed (These two are the only cons I can think of)

    Advice to Management

    The workplace would be rated much higher if there were more staff. My coworkers and manager are great. The problem is that I am working as if I am full-time and only getting part-time evidence. My manager has no choice but to fill my hours as much as possible.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-11-12
  3. "It’s alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Quincy, MA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, friendly atmosphere

    Cons

    A lot of work, lazy supervisors, lack of staff

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-10-02
  4. "Server"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    bonuses once a year given by the seniors

    Cons

    fast paced and stressful and no tips

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-09-15
  5. "Mediocre Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Resident interactions, flexibility of schedule

    Cons

    Poor management, passive aggressive behavior

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-07-03
  6. "Dietary Server working 40+ Hours in Fast-Paced Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Hours Available, Culture, Co-Workers

    Cons

    Salary, Hard to advance, No set schedule

    Advice to Management

    Programs in place for advancement in the company.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-05-23
  7. "Decent first job, great for networking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living part-time

    Pros

    Very friendly community, Brookdale sets high standards and always ensures that employees of every department are properly trained

    Cons

    Many employees frequently called off, causing shortage of staff Low pay

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-03-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Demeaning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Met some nice co-workers to share the foxhole.

    Cons

    Terrible top management that hires the wrong middle management - the ones that should be promoted aren't while the unqualified ones get free reign. Poor communication, excessive and unrelateable mandatory meetings, poor pay. If you want to be treated like a child, this is your dream place.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-02-28
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Florence, AL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working at Brookdale! The atmosphere is great and the job is straightforward.

    Cons

    They require you to take quizzes every month that seem unnecessary for servers.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down on the testing.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-02-06
  10. "You will work tour butt off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server/Waiter in West Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living for more than 3 years

    Pros

    After working here you’ll be prepared for any server position.

    Cons

    You start at a low pay rate and you only get a 10 cent raise once a year

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-01-31
Found 77 reviews