Brookdale Senior Living "resident" Reviews | Glassdoor

Brookdale Senior Living Employee Reviews about "resident"

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Brookdale Senior Living CEO Lucinda Cindy Baier
Lucinda Cindy Baier
212 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "resident"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A supportive environment for seniors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concierge in Warwick, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Assist seniors in day-to-day Patience is rewarded Emphasis on resident well-being Generally calm & relaxing environment Super friendly, supportive staff Dining room access, great meals

    Cons

    Impatient family members (rarely) Not charged with many duties

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-06-30
  2. "Clairemont nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Giver in Clairemont, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, spacious resident rooms

    Cons

    Heavily understaffed, horrible management, doesn’t care about residents.

    Advice to Management

    LVN’s give 1 caregiver to cover one whole floor when people call out & they don’t call anyone to cover them because they want to save money. The management advised me to clock out for lunch but to keep working in order to keep up with the work load because we were understaffed.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-10-16
  3. "Mediocre Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Resident interactions, flexibility of schedule

    Cons

    Poor management, passive aggressive behavior

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-07-03
  4. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Manager in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful resident, great team, affordable benefits

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-06-14
  5. "Wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Palm Coast, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Resident are very nice and appreciated care

    Cons

    Wage for work in not fair

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-05-06
  6. "Maintenance supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and has stardards to improve quality of life for its resident

    Cons

    Not to much I can say in this aspect

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-01-11
  7. "Activities Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Activities Coordinator in Medford, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is really a resident driven company

    Cons

    Management not supported enough financially or time wise

    Advice to Management

    Push for what the residents need

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-11-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Used to be a great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good culture and values in individuals. However, the one cornerstone that I truly believed in was "Take care of the resident and the bottom line will take care of itself" was removed from all handouts. I no longer can ethically or morally support this company, which is a shame.

    Cons

    Top heavy management Lower management and associates do all the actual work while regional managers and other upper mgmt swoop in occasionally to criticize. Then they give you a fake smile and leave. Then you're left wondering if your job is in jeopardy. Usually it is. Career opportunities abound if you know the right people. Brown-nosers are very well received.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize and RETAIN valued management. Regional and Divisional Managers are seriously a waste of dollars Brookdale cannot afford to throw away. Lower level managers KNOW the communities/residents/pros & cons, but are never listened to. NEVER.

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-11-20
  9. "Med tech. Ksjdjsjksksjxjjsjxhksks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living

    Pros

    The resident are very nice. And also you make great friends along the way.

    Cons

    Management and the ED needs to think not only of the residents but there hard working employees that keep this place going .

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-09-22
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Where the mission, culture and actuality collide."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    The residents are awesome. Most of the staff is empathetic and seeks the best possible care for each resident.

    Cons

    It appears that those in management are not concerned about proper resident staffing ratios ( especially overnights). Also management is considering docking hours (too much overtime) to improve the " bottom line". By decreasing staff to resident ratios even more, affects both the quality of resident care and ultimately their precious bottom line ( as families transfer their loved ones to another facility).... The mission statement in brief, is " Enriching the lives of those we serve...". Enriching by decreasing staff/hours, providing bare minimum care...? Who's being enriched?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Before cutting hours or staffing as a whole, it would be advantageous if they would actually work in the role of a resident care associate during each shift (especially overnights) to see 1st hand the needs of resident and staff alike.

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-08-30
Found 73 reviews