Brookdale Senior Living "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Brookdale Senior Living Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 2 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Brookdale Senior Living CEO Lucinda Cindy Baier
Lucinda Cindy Baier
211 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Dining Room Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    pay, benefits, great residents, co-workers,

    Cons

    work-life balance, upper management drama

    Brookdale Senior Living2018-12-16
  2. "RAI Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living

    Pros

    I had a flexible schedule

    Cons

    I did not receive my job title and description until I had worked there nearly a year, only to find out that I didn’t have the “title” of all the places I was filling. So, I loved my job but they kept adding responsibilities with no increase in pay. My insurance and benefits cost was through the roof and I only realized at tax time that I had $23,000 taken out of my wages for benefits. What’s worse is I never met... the high deductible for my insurance so none of my medical costs for my family were paid for by my insurance. Therefore, I just basically gave away $23,000 of my wages with nothing in return. The upper management was not very good and lacks any type of people skills as well, bringing down the whole moral of all the other staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be nice. Appreciate the work of your staff. Don’t bully. Try not overworking and underpaying your crew.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-08-03
  3. "Poor upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dining Services Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Loved the residents, decent hours for food service.

    Cons

    Favoritism from upper management created back-stabbing from other managers. Corporate wouldn't pay earned PTO after leaving. On call 24/7. Employees had run of the building.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-07-27
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Worst place I've worked. Company is unethical, wants to hide it, make money, treat families, residents and staff unfair."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Harrisonburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Residents, families and relationships that are built outside of coworkers. As relationships are prevented among employees.

    Cons

    Management, daily negativity and unprofessional environment. Not a place you can grow and no support. Honesty isn't valued or given and morals and ethics aren't important. Managers make fun of staff and each other, family members and visitors. Horrible environment to work in. So much so that visitors and families recognize the dysfunction, rudeness and unprofessionalism. They will do anything to create the outcome... they are wanting, falsify documentation, make up lies, take advantage of families and residents and make fun of people's religious, social, economical and ethnic background. Upper management and corporate leaders are aware and they only want to hide and cover up the truth and condone the behavior. Terrible, stressful work environment due to lack of qualified managers and poor company culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat families, residents and staff the way you would want to be treated. Aim to be leaders and fair to others. Have pride in your position and not the title of a dictator who is allowed to get by with whatever you can get by with. Be honest or evaluate why you can't be and make the appropriate changes so you can be an upstanding person, leader and manager. Improve your culture.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-07-04
  5. "Not terrible, but not great either"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, bonuses if the facility did well

    Cons

    Poor attitude by upper management, long work hours and little support, basically on call 24/7, including weekends and holidays

    Advice to Management

    Provide as much support as you can to your admissions team. They are your most valuable asset and do much more than you realize. Being on call 24/7 is way too much for one person to handle.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-05-28
  6. "Brookdale Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residency Program Coordinator in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice residents. decent benefits highly structured

    Cons

    Corrupt upper management more concerned about hiding problems than resolving them

    Advice to Management

    Audit upper management have subordinates do a routine evaluation of supervisors like Amazon does its Managers

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-05-24
  7. "Poor upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Nurse in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of nursing/cna staff are great and get jobs done.

    Cons

    Upper management, DON specifically has a condescending attitude towards others, makes people not want to be there, a lot of staff has been lost over this.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-06-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Run far far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff i worked. Checks didnt bounce

    Cons

    Extremely poor upper management. Poor benefits. Lack of staff. Lack of leadership.

    Advice to Management

    Not enough space

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-05-02
  9. "The residents make the Job !!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Sun City West, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    LOVE the residents and LOVE making them smile everyday

    Cons

    to many chiefs not enough Indians, When upper management hires their family members, all is off the table.

    Advice to Management

    DO NOT hire family

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-03-25
  10. Helpful (3)

    "I would not recommend this company for employment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personalized Living Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookdale Senior Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Helping seniors stay in their home longer

    Cons

    There is no support from upper management. It is 24/7 on call, working every weekend -zero home/life balance. Staff is under appreciated and over worked.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more support when needed, rather than just asking "how can I support you", actually follow thru with helping. Appreciate your staff - that will go a very long way!! Let them know they are valued, they are doing a great job and don't let their hard work go unnoticed. Provide motivation and positive rewards/feedback.

    Brookdale Senior Living2019-02-01
Found 124 reviews