Brookfield Renewable Reviews | Glassdoor

Brookfield Renewable Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Brookfield Renewable CEO Sachin Shah
Sachin Shah
48 Ratings
Pros
  • "Highly recommended for students seeking quality experience with excellent opportunities to learn (including from senior management)(in 12 reviews)

  • "It is a great work environment and is a short distance from downtown Ottawa over the bridge to Gatineau(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are currently no cons of working at Brookfield(in 7 reviews)

  • "The fast paced nature of the company only allows for a short adjustment period, which can be overwhelming for some(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brookfield Renewable for more than a year

    Pros

    They are great to work for. Management provides guidance when needed and they are great about letting you do your job.

    Cons

    Shifting offices frequently can slow down work.

    Brookfield Renewable2017-04-28
  2. "Interesting and dangerous work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Albany, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brookfield Renewable full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Good pay in union environment

    Cons

    The lower level managers come and go, no real operation knowledge, big gaps in communication between management and workers

    Advice to Management

    Consult more with workers save yourself a bunch of money.

    Brookfield Renewable2019-03-24
  3. "Machine Tender maximizing paper quality and Tonage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Brookfield Renewable

      Pros

      Good pay, benefits,close to home,

      Cons

      Dusty,Dirty, very hot,variable shifts,could close at any minute

      Brookfield Renewable2018-12-12
    • "Well capitalized and respectful culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Brookfield Renewable full-time

      Pros

      Well capitalized organization with large asset base. Respectful culture with high-quality professionals. Good benefits. Healthy work-life balance.

      Cons

      Headquarter-centric, which can be a disadvantage outside of Canada.

      Brookfield Renewable2017-12-14
    • "Grill Room Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Server/Bartender in Chili Center, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Brookfield Renewable part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Employee meals, organized schedules, polite and respectful managers

      Cons

      Unhappy members, long hours on your feet, holiday work

      Advice to Management

      none

      Brookfield Renewable2017-10-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Operations Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director, Operations Management in Lewiston, ME
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Brookfield Renewable full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Brookfield continues to offer me opportunities to learn new skills and develop myself professionally and personally. I’m excited to work in an organization with a strong leadership culture and a healthy growth mandate. The opportunities I have been afforded would be hard to replicate elsewhere.

      Cons

      Brookfield expects a lot from its employees, so be prepared to work hard. As the business has grown and will continue to grow, organizational changes have and will continue to occur. These changes can temporarily disrupt employees' work lives.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the good work. We have a strong culture and a bright future ahead of us. Brookfield remains an excellent place to work and grow.

      Brookfield Renewable2016-12-21
    • "Brookfield Renewable: Intern Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineering Intern in Watertown, NY
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Brookfield Renewable

      Pros

      I enjoyed working at Brookfield Renewable throughout my internship. It was a great experience that brought me ample opportunities to apply what I'm learning in school to the real world. I worked closely with project managers, supervisors and designers on actual engineering projects/problems the company was working on during my time there. I was also able to go out in the field on numerous occasions to many of Brookfield's...

      Show More

      Cons

      I really don't have much to say about Brookfield Renewable for the "cons" section. The only thing I might say is that some days are definitely slower than others, but I feel like that happens at any job.

      Advice to Management

      A little advice I would give to management would be to hire a few more civil engineers. There are numerous facilities and structures that were constructed in the early 1900's that are now in need of some civil engineering brains to restore them.

      Brookfield Renewable2016-08-09
    • "Great Company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Brookfield Renewable full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      BREG brings a unique combination as both an asset manager and operator. This uniqueness makes tax work at BREG very challenging and rewarding. We constantly learn new things and grow along the way. BREG is very fast paced and attract great people to the business. People here are not afraid of changes and constantly looking for ways to improve the ways we are doing business. In Brookfield, you won't hear somebody saying...

      Show More

      Cons

      Don't have any right now.

      Advice to Management

      Welcome more communications (like quarterly) from the senior management about the business outlook.

      Brookfield Renewable2016-04-19
    • Helpful (4)

      "Constant Reorganization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Financial Analyst 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Brookfield Renewable

      Pros

      Makes payroll every month. The parent company is well financed, and their willingness to invest clients money for management fees and for bragging rights, despite the likely prospect of losing money, means there is an opprotunity to learn about certain aspects of business on someone else's dime.

      Cons

      Constantly being reorganized. Folks from Canada come down every so often to RIF entire groups, without regard to competence. Because of the resulting gaps, expect to work very hard.

      Brookfield Renewable2016-01-29
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great company that is under the radar....."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Brookfield Renewable full-time

      Pros

      Every day presents unique situations to learn and grow. Consistently busy with projects that you are given ownership of. Great pay and benefits. Friendly people. You are consistently presented with new challenges and you must manage your time and resources effectively.

      Cons

      None come to mind at this time.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to improve communicating organizational changes (Reorgs) more effectively.

      Brookfield Renewable2015-12-31
    Found 95 reviews