Brooklyn Public Library Reviews | Glassdoor

Brooklyn Public Library Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Brooklyn Public Library CEO Linda E. Johnson (no image)
Linda E. Johnson
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "depending on a librarians specialty, great professional development opportunities available(in 4 reviews)

  • "amazing programs to support patrons(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "An entry level experience into customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Associate III 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brooklyn Public Library full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment to grow in your career and help the community at the same time.

    Cons

    Work can be montonous, some supervisor can be over bearing.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees concerns.

    Brooklyn Public Library2019-08-02
  2. "Interesting - they often promote the idea of cross training and certain positions (TRS) have constant trainings."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brooklyn Public Library

    Pros

    Opportunity to experience new things and share knowledge others.

    Cons

    Too much petty politics in certain locations make working stressful

    Advice to Management

    Before you keep adding to the ever growing work load get off the third floor and actually deal with the public and the problems at the branches

    Brooklyn Public Library2019-09-09
  3. "Department of Public Safety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SPECIAL OFFICER in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brooklyn Public Library full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    3 weeks paid vacation if you stay long enough

    Cons

    Low pay and limited advancement opportunities

    Brooklyn Public Library2019-09-24
  4. "Good experience for a student in high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Shelf Organizer 

    I worked at Brooklyn Public Library part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -It’s a fairly easy job/straight forward -Medium paced

    Cons

    -Depending on the branch, you will be a around a lot of noisy children -Can be boring/very redundant

    Brooklyn Public Library2019-07-02
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brooklyn Public Library part-time

    Pros

    coworkers are friendly, good hours

    Cons

    low pay, always having funding issues

    Brooklyn Public Library2019-06-01
  6. "Adult Learning Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instructor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brooklyn Public Library part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, I really feel respected by my supervisors and students. Good professional development opportunities with RAEN and internally. I started out as a volunteer, then was hired as an instructor. The BPL really believes in promoting from within.

    Cons

    No full time instructor positions. If you have another job, it can be difficult juggling professional development opportunities with your jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to respect your instructors as important players in your organization. Having full time instructors can really benefit multiple sites.

    Brooklyn Public Library2019-05-28
  7. "Salaries are lowish, conflicts in branches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Librarian 

    I worked at Brooklyn Public Library full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    As long as you are in the union the benefits are good Many coworkers are great

    Cons

    Salaries are not high enough to keep up with the cost of living

    Brooklyn Public Library2019-03-24
  8. "page"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brooklyn Public Library part-time

    Pros

    easy. stress free, easy commute

    Cons

    low pay, and boring work

    Brooklyn Public Library2018-12-12
  9. "Must have a passion for public service to love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Library Information Supervisor in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brooklyn Public Library full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *daily opportunities to really help people *great team and committee work available *depending on a librarians specialty, great professional development opportunities available

    Cons

    Employees can have widely different experiences from positive to negative based on the branch they are assigned. Quality of management varies from branch to branch.

    Brooklyn Public Library2018-10-08
  10. "librarian"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Brooklyn Public Library full-time

    Pros

    Fabulous , love public libraries great service

    Cons

    Tough to interact with the public

    Brooklyn Public Library2018-08-17
Found 72 reviews