Brooks Brothers Reviews | Glassdoor

Brooks Brothers Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 564 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Brooks Brothers CEO Claudio Del Vecchio
Claudio Del Vecchio
307 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper management is super negative(in 19 reviews)

  • "Not enough hours for sales associates which hinders hiring and whether they stay or leave(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Brooks Brothers part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Learned the suit industry inside and out.

    Cons

    No real downsides fairnwork for fair pay

    Brooks Brothers2019-02-22
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brooks Brothers full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    So many opportunities to move up in the company and team work culture is appreciated.

    Cons

    nonstop busy day, I like it but know not everyone can handle it.

    Brooks Brothers2019-05-06
  3. "LET THEM EAT CAKE -HIGHER UPS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brooks Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Awesome sales associates to work with. A company with lots of history and lineage to learn from.

    Cons

    Disorganized. You will never get any transparency from the higher ups. There is no such thing as equal pay. Sales associates were getting paid more than the store leads. EQUAL OPPORTUNITY RIGHTS will get violated from time to time. “No big deal, it’s Brooks Brothers”. Even the on-boarding is difficult for new employees.

    Advice to Management

    MAKE THIS A GREAT PLACE TO WORK BY PROVIDING THE RESOURCES TO YOUR SALES TEAM IN ORDER TO REACH QUOTA AND GET DAY TO DAY TASKS DONE INSTEAD OF MAKING IT A “WE’LL SEE WHEN WE CROSS THAT BRIDGE AND SPONTANEOUSLY COME UP WITH A SOLUTION” ENVIRONMENT.

    Brooks Brothers2019-05-16
  4. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in The Woodlands, TX

    I have been working at Brooks Brothers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, flexible scheduling, cultured

    Cons

    Will have to with here longer to see

    Brooks Brothers2019-03-25
  5. "I learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brooks Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a great team and was not micro managed

    Cons

    A positive culture was not promoted corporately and I also felt my work life balance was poor

    Brooks Brothers2019-04-02
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brooks Brothers full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Quality clothing with a company that has had a great heritage.

    Cons

    Too much negativity in the company and it trickles down to the stores. The company doesn’t give the store manager enough hours to properly run the store. Constantly cutting hours and more concerned about opening credit cards. They want to staff store with only part time employees who don’t have the same commitment as full time associates. My advice is to look elsewhere if you are looking to be in retail.

    Advice to Management

    Get a better understanding as to what it takes to run a store and value the talent you have before more quit.

    Brooks Brothers2019-03-24
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Biltmore Forest, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Brooks Brothers full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Discount on clothes was good.

    Cons

    Constantly cutting hours , no raises , no room for advancement, no appreciation for employees hard work , constantly pushed to open high interest credit cards .

    Advice to Management

    Start appreciating and rewarding highly productive employees .

    Brooks Brothers2019-03-19
  8. "Neutral"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visual Merchandising Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brooks Brothers full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    *Bonus *Easy work *Everybody is responsible for everybody *Very intimate selling and transactions can take a long time *Associate Recognition budgets are given out to stores that perform well *Celebrates diversity

    Cons

    -Company will not pay internal employees as much as what they would pay an external candidate. -District managers will insist store managers give sub-par reviews to keep from not having to give out raises.

    Brooks Brothers2019-03-14
  9. "Great Company to work for with great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Operations Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brooks Brothers full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Excellent values & leadership. Managers really care about associate development

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth

    Brooks Brothers2019-02-06
  10. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brooks Brothers part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Laid back environment and 60% off everything.

    Cons

    Not enough pay. No incentives

    Advice to Management

    Pay more

    Brooks Brothers2019-02-07
Found 564 reviews