Brookville Center for Children's Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Brookville Center for Children's Services Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
33%
Approve of CEO
Brookville Center for Children's Services CEO Michael Mascari (no image)
Michael Mascari
3 Ratings
  1. "Behavior support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookville Center for Children's Services full-time

    Pros

    Tons of support & constant supervision and guidance

    Cons

    Sometimes it’s challenging working with people that aren’t very interested in the field

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2018-07-26
  2. "Teacher assistant- Loved working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher Assistant in Woodbury, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Brookville Center for Children's Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff was always so supportive and friendly. The kids made coming to work each day fun. You learn to love these kids and really want them to succeed. I didn’t dread coming to work each and every day. My team was amazing. I always felt very appreciated by the management. The hours were always amazing. Holidays off. Breaks etc.

    Cons

    The pay. It’s not the Directors fault. It’s the people above them. For all of the work and heart that the employees put into their jobs there needs to be better compensation.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more so they stay

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2019-03-12
  3. "Teacher Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brookville Center for Children's Services full-time

    Pros

    vacation, lunch break, work hours

    Cons

    Pay, staff can be aloof

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2018-07-01
  4. "TA-Assistant Group Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Old Westbury, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookville Center for Children's Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I made a few friends working there. FEW... The children are cute... but you really have to have the patience to work with them. Some days can be better than others... It's the greatest feeling ever when the parents come early for their child!

    Cons

    The people you work with, first off.. I'd like to say racism exists extremely.. EVERYONE is out to get everyone. Trust no one. Literally.. It makes you become depressed after awhile especially if you are forced to work in a room you are normally never assigned to. I'm going to quit. Ha, Management you're in for quite a surprise.

    Advice to Management

    Management... IS THAT REAL? First off to management, you need to really do something about the amounts of workers you have. There is never coverage, and on top of that you are always out of ratio because they can never hire anyone. Literally put flyers out to the world that you're hiring. Or come see for yourself how bad it is. The environment itself is bad, and then you don't even properly train employees. You just... have the former ones yell at them.

    Show More
    Brookville Center for Children's Services2017-03-01
  5. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Preschool Teacher in New Hyde Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Brookville Center for Children's Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work overtime. Opportunities to be creative. Not extremely demanding work.

    Cons

    Some gossip among teachers. Some teachers harder to work with than others.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, overall, but maybe sit in on some of the classes from time to time and make sure the teachers are really doing their best.

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2017-01-19
  6. "Teacher Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant in Laurelton, NY

    I have been working at Brookville Center for Children's Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good, pay is OK.

    Cons

    Some of the downsides of job can be treatment.

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2016-07-25
  7. "BCCS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Brookville Center for Children's Services

    Pros

    It's a fun, friendly working environment where the teachers really seem to care about their students. An easy way to gain classroom experience if looking to pursuit teaching. Also, after working a year, they provide monetary support for graduate school.

    Cons

    The pay. It is tough and unrealistic to think of this as a long-term position (TA) nor does anyone. It for many, is a stop on the road to becoming a teacher.

    Advice to Management

    None. Everyone here is very helpful and on the same page; to help the children learn and gain independence.

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2016-02-22
  8. "Special Education teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brookville Center for Children's Services

    Pros

    Nice place to work, friendly staff, great kids and families

    Cons

    No cons at this time only

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2016-01-08
  9. "Run! (Residential Program)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Brookville Center for Children's Services

    Pros

    The children are the best part of the job. They make wanting to come to work easy and fun. The beach setting is nice.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive and does not attract truly highly qualified candidates. The work environment often seems to be a playground for teens. No work/life balance for management as they are on/call 24/7.

    Advice to Management

    New Management! Competitive pay! Better work environment!

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2015-11-23
  10. "BCCS review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Direct Support Professional in Valley Stream, NY

    I worked at Brookville Center for Children's Services for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned a lot and gained many valuable experiences during my two years here

    Cons

    It was stressful at times, though every experience was valuable.

    Brookville Center for Children's Services2015-06-23
Found 12 reviews