Brookwoods Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Brookwoods Group Reviews

10 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Sweney
9 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. "Excellent management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Communications Specialist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookwoods Group (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've been a Brookwoods Group employee for four years, and this company is a first-class operation. Management is highly experienced and John Sweney knows how to get things done. Great benefits, great people.

    Cons

    No cons here. Only good stuff to report. The Brookwoods Group team knows how to make things happen.

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Aug 22, 2016 – VP Operations

    At Brookwoods Group we believe our employees working in the field for clients are important to both Brookwoods Group and to our client customers. We are always ready to match talent to the right job.


  2. "love working for Brookwoods"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Writer in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Writer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookwoods Group full-time

    Pros

    I've been with Brookwoods for 4-1/2 years as a contractor with ConocoPhillips. It has been a very fulfilling experience all the way around. The benefits are good, and the team members are consummate professionals. I would also say that they hire only the best and provide superb value to their company clients.

    Cons

    I don't really have any negatives. I once begrudged the fact I wasn't a "real" employee, but working with Brookwoods has made me rethink that that.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have any advice to give. Management seems to be doing a great job on its own.

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Aug 22, 2016 – VP Operations

    With great employees working at top notch companies we are always glad to put the 2 components together.

  3. "A great company to work for and a very fulfilling job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookwoods Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Brookwoods Group definitely has a family atmosphere. The management team lets the team do their jobs without looking over their shoulders and has always been very generous and fair with salaries, commissions, bonuses, vacation, PTO and a full paid benefits package. That's why the company has next to no internal turnover of employees. Everyone here loves being here, including every one of our employees that we place in a contract role.

    Also, it is always extremely nice to not only assist very talented professionals land in their perfect role, but ensuring that every client gets the most closely-matched person to fill their needs as well.

    Cons

    The only real con I can think of is that there are still too many companies that don't yet know about the great service we provide, which means that too many companies are still making bad hires and costing themselves both valuable time and lots of money unnecessarily.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you're doing. You've found a real winning formula. Keep building the company's presence in Houston, Texas, the Gulf Coast region and across the rest of the country.

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Aug 10, 2016 – VP Operations

    Brookwoods Group is proud of the service we provide to many fortune 500 companies and many mid to small size organizations as well. As word continues to spread about the way we treat our placements... More


  4. "The Brookwoods Group--Great at What They Do!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I first came to know the Brookwoods team through the city's marketing and communications leadership initatives and events--they are masters at sensing industry trends and customer needs. Then I worked with them directly as a candidate for a role at a global energy company, for which I was eventually hired. They continue to stay in touch as a valuable resource, ensuring a win-win between company and employee.

    Cons

    I really don't have any, as my experience has been positive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Aug 7, 2015 – VP Operations

    Brookwoods Group takes pride in the people we employ and in the fact that so many of our consultants eventually become permanent employees of our client. Thanks for your comments


  5. "Great company, very employee-focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager Contractor At Dow Chemical in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Communications Manager Contractor At Dow Chemical in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookwoods Group (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The people of Brookwoods Group keep me informed and make sure I have the resources to provide the best services I can. That is saying something since I just hit the three-year mark. Their consistency and attention to clients sets them apart from any other company I have ever worked with.

    Cons

    Really, none. I've never had an issue.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! The regular communications and occasional, additional follow-ups have made this a great place to work.

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – VP Operations

    We respect all of the people who work for us in the field working for our clients or in our office. As a management team we know it is important to follow up, listen and spend time with the... More


  6. "Management at Brookwoods Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Vice President Operations in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brookwoods Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Quality process is our mission. Finding great people for outstanding roles takes time and the right skills. The cost of a bad hire can cause problems for the candidate and for the employer. We take the time, but it is worth it. We have a great track record matching the right person to the right job.
    Our benefits packages are comparable to corporate employment, this keeps contract employees happy to work on the projects they are assigned.

    Cons

    We do not have a job for everyone, but we do like to get to know as many professionals as possible. Our process takes time and some individuals both on the client side and the candidate side do not want to put in that effort.


  7. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The people are total pros. Been here over 9 years. Experienced working with some amazing professionals. Learned so much about staffing and recruiting. Been able to add value here and have my voice heard. The knowledge in our office is very high level, most of us have sat in the roles for which we recruit, and we enjoy what we do.

    Cons

    We don't have a job for everybody that comes through the door. I wish we did! We've worked with some fantastic, mature, exceptional professionals. A few not so much but hey, we all stub our toe once in a while.

    Advice to Management

    We have already input additional systems to assist us in making better matches for our roles and it's been quite successful. We also have opened up into additional verticals making our business offering more attractive to our clients and candidates.

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – VP Operations

    The Business Development staff at Brookwoods Group goes the extra mile. They build relationships and understand the client’s needs and what it will take to work in that particular client... More

  8. "Opportunity for professional growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Brookwoods Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    For the field professionals, they really go out of the way to fit the right person to the right opportunity, more so than other staffing firms.

    Cons

    For the field professionals, you are really working day-to-day for the client, even though your paycheck comes from Brookwoods, so you better be really comfortable with the client (the company and the people you work with).

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – VP Operations

    Brookwoods Group takes the time to get to know both the clients and the candidates. This gives us the advantage of making sure we have the right match. We may take a little longer to place good... More


  9. "Open communication, support, ability to experience new and interesting things."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    People, opportunity to work with top global companies, opportunity to develop professionally, ability to write own destiny and support of that from team.

    Cons

    Winning the lotto would be a reason to leave. I've not won the lotto so having to work, this is the best place for me! :)

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – VP Operations

    We work hard at Brookwoods Group to match the right people to the right clients. We are fortunate to have so many large Fortune 500 clients to match candidates to.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Overall I grew from the experience in spite of the many toxic situations that occurred while I was employed there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Meeting many marketers and communicators in the corporate sector was a great plus

    Cons

    Management is very uninterested in the opinions and ideas of their employees
    You are frowned upon if you need time off
    Most of the feedback given is only when if's negative
    Salaries are below market
    Management is unwilling to make marketing improvements
    Environment is not supportive of career growth

    Advice to Management

    Let go and let the people you hire do what you hired them to do
    Get a different COO

    Brookwoods Group Response

    Aug 4, 2015 – CEO

    As we communicated at the time of this employee's separation in 2012, we appreciate their input, we acknowledge that we did not adopt many of their suggested "marketing improvements", and we... More