Broward County Schools Elementary Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Broward County Schools Elementary Teacher Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
4%
Recommend to a Friend
3%
Approve of CEO
Broward County Schools CEO Robert W. Runcie
Robert W. Runcie
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I get to help children daily.

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive.

    Advice to Management

    I'm on summer vacation and I am looking for a career change.

    Broward County Schools2015-07-02
  2. "underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Parkland, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    working with children, time off for families

    Cons

    underpaid, must work 2-3 jobs to live

    Broward County Schools2019-09-23
  3. "Elementary school teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Teacher, Elementary School in Coral Springs, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff, good principal, A rated school, majority speak English

    Cons

    B rated or less schools, low income schools, poor language skills

    Broward County Schools2018-06-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked and underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Elementary Teacher in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools

    Pros

    Medical benefits for the employees, same schedule as your school ages child, unpaid summers off (a blessing for some and a hardship for others).

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid, administrators at the KC Wright building are a mess and don't know what the other hand is doing, they are not very competent. Meanwhile, Broward County does not treat teachers as professionals and micromanage every move made in the classroom with constant testing of students.

    Advice to Management

    Let teachers do their job; stop micromanaging teacher's every move and breath; ridiculous and obscene amount of testing of children; administrators downtown are a mess changing standards, curriculum, testing, and teacher expectations yearly. Do they even know what they are doing??

    Broward County Schools2017-05-23
  5. "My duties as a Spanish teacher consist of teaching the Spanish language to students Hispanic Heritage as well as Non-Nat"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Elementary School Spanish Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The position as an Spanish teacher gives me the opportunity to teach diverse culture in Spanish and Spanish language arts to my students. My classes are tailor to help students through multiple assignment to put in practice what they have learned and further their experience by employing their knowledge skills on their work.

    Cons

    I don't have any to mention.

    Broward County Schools2017-03-21
  6. "Losing quality educators"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Elementary Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools

    Pros

    A large community of educators to turn to for guidance and support. A plethora of learning opportunities to increase our abilities to provide our students with the most up to date learning opportunities!

    Cons

    The low salaries and expectations that take away from the learning for our students! Many times the people ousted the school walls implement things that affect the moral of all employees within the school.

    Advice to Management

    Give the principals the opportunity to maintain and build positive relationships with their staff. Be able to realize what factors are truly important for the success of our students and to maintain a tolerable work environment.

    Broward County Schools2016-09-26
  7. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Elementary Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Depends on your particular school, but the curriculum is district-wide and easy to transition from school to school.

    Cons

    Administrators can and often abuse their power. Also, there is a policy of allowing women and blacks to gain principal positions even if they really aren't qualified. Tenure is no longer so you can get let go at any point during the year or end of the year.

    Broward County Schools2016-08-30
  8. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Elementary Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools

    Pros

    Great insurance and benefits, and summers off

    Cons

    Highly stressful environment, long work days, lack of discipline, particularly in Title-1 schools

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the curriculum that works instead of constantly changing; too much emphasis on testing

    Broward County Schools2016-03-28
  9. "Teachers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good benefits good pay team work improving the lives of children

    Cons

    lots of extra work hours with no pay for overtime not flexible hours very political environment small chance of advancement

    Broward County Schools2015-07-17
  10. "Certified elementary school teacher (k-6) with extensive background and experience working with children."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Elementary Education Teacher in Broward Gardens, FL

    I have been working at Broward County Schools part-time

    Pros

    I have been working for Broward County Schools for the last eight years. I know a little bit about the school systems. There is a flexibility with the curriculum and the district really cares about what the students need and about keeping their culture interactive.

    Cons

    It's been a great experience working for Broward County Schools because the school district is so diverse.

    Advice to Management

    No advise possible to management at the moment.

    Broward County Schools2015-04-25
Found 12 reviews