Broward County Schools Middle School Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Middle School Teacher

Broward County Schools Middle School Teacher Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Broward County Schools CEO Robert W. Runcie
Robert W. Runcie
3 Ratings
  1. "It was ok..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you love working with kids you will enjoy your time teaching. However, the district is very problematic.

    Cons

    The district is not he best. The school your work at will make your experience better, or significantly discourage you.

    Broward County Schools2019-04-01
  2. "Education"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle School Language Arts Teacher in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Teaching in today’s public schools systems is a challenging but rewarding experience. Broward county provides so much support and training to make an education career as rewarding as possible.

    Cons

    Challenging is the key word for all who choose to teach these days. Every school, county and state have many challenges to overcome for both teachers and students.

    Broward County Schools2019-04-16
  3. "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Teacher in Coral Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time

    Pros

    Good Health insurance and better salary than other places that i have worked

    Cons

    District is large and impersonal

    Advice to Management

    Get in touch with your teachers and ask them what the real problems are with education

    Broward County Schools2016-12-03
  4. "Sometimes lacking the big picture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Middle School Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    District is fairly well-organized for being so large; has some innovative programs and practices in place, much depends on the school placement, there was decent funding professional development opportunities when I was there.

    Cons

    Budget freezes kept teachers salaries virtually locked in place without step raises, little opportunity for advancement, big variations in how well resourced different schools are, too much bureaucracy, corruption and politics in high places

    Advice to Management

    Schools should be focused on more meaningful indicators of progress and performance, rather than simply trying to comply with top down mandates that can seem arbitrary and lacking in depth or understanding of context.

    Broward County Schools2014-08-13
  5. "Better in Broward Than Dade"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Organized, friendly environment, great workshops, supportive co-workers.

    Cons

    10 month salary. Unless you save, you must find work for the summer.

    Advice to Management

    sometimes more concerned with pleasing parents as opposed to taking care of their teacher.

    Broward County Schools2014-04-06
  6. "great but where's the $$"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle School Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great staff and great students...time off and benefits are a nice perk

    Cons

    Too many different programs being initiated in the schools...trying to take away our academic freedom...money is low...no raise is 6 years...

    Broward County Schools2013-09-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Better than no Job-But if you have a choice--Do not go into education."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Middle School Teacher in Hollywood, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools

    Pros

    8 unpaid weeks off in the summer. Holidays off Very easy to take a sick/personal day.

    Cons

    Underpaid Unfair expectations Crazy urban students, with poor parental support. As of right now we still have not gotten our 2009-2010 contract figured out. I have zero Idea how long it will take to get the 2010-2011 contract done..

    Advice to Management

    Our management, is supposed to support the teachers. In many cases, they do just the opposite. They will sell out teachers in a second, if it will help them. My advice?? Remember what it was like back when you were in the classroom... And do the things that you wanted your administrator to do for you..

    Broward County Schools2010-05-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "The kids are great, management is incompetent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Middle School Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools

    Pros

    There is satisfaction in providing students with the knowledge skills needed to lead a productive life. Hours allow for additional employment. Holidays and summers off are advantageous.

    Cons

    Salary subject to financial stability of the district and state. Advancement impacted by the individual values and goals of your principal.

    Advice to Management

    Truly apply shared-decision making that includes all stakeholders not just management and a chosen few.

    Broward County Schools2011-07-21
Found 8 reviews