Broward County Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Broward County Schools Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 369 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Broward County Schools CEO Robert W. Runcie
Robert W. Runcie
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "Live by the beach, great benefits, many opportunities(in 14 reviews)

  • "Excellent school system which provides extensive professional development at all levels of the organization(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Drama, low pay, miss breaks because of things going on(in 14 reviews)

  • "the pay is below poverty levels and there is no continuing education reimbursement there is no paid vacation and no benefits(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great District"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavior Technician in Pompano Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff, PTO, and students.

    Cons

    Low pay for the workload.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Broward County Schools2019-09-09
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher in North Lauderdale, FL

    I have been working at Broward County Schools part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible; work when you want to.

    Cons

    Jobs not always available where you want to work.

    Broward County Schools2019-08-29
  3. "Easy to get into, Perfect for students attending college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Substitute Teacher in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The schedule is very flexible, and often times if a sub coordinator likes you, they are likely to call you back for future jobs. Very good as a second job to supplement income

    Cons

    No benefits for this position, if you have a day job during the week, this may not be the best option

    Broward County Schools2019-08-23
  4. "Loved Teaching in Broward County"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Teacher are given a small stipend in the beginning of the year for classroom supplies. The principal at my school was caring and listed to what we needed as teachers. The health care benefits are also pretty good.

    Cons

    The salary and the demands to teach to the standardized tests.

    Broward County Schools2019-08-14
  5. "Horrible Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Educator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time

    Pros

    Summers off and all holidays off

    Cons

    Placing administrators (Principals & Assistant Principals) who are not qualified or capable of leading. Very little increase in pay - Union has to argue with the district to get teachers pennies

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring your friends to lead when they are not capable of doing the job.

    Broward County Schools2019-08-13
  6. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Education Teacher in Lauderdale Lakes, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits of working with the district includes the benefits

    Cons

    The cons of working with the district is the pay

    Advice to Management

    Increase earning and growth potential

    Broward County Schools2019-07-25
  7. "Must have a big heart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working as a team with others

    Cons

    Behavior system does not work

    Broward County Schools2019-08-01
  8. "great school district..and great leadership from our amazing superintendent Mr.. Runcie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Specialist in Deerfield Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    the superintendent as a vision for our school district, and am glad am apart of his vision

    Cons

    great district to work for

    Advice to Management

    be fair, respect all talent and treat employees like myself with dignity and honesty.recognize people like myself for my experience, knowledge and education.

    Broward County Schools2019-07-11
  9. "Elementary Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great insurance for (self), Abide by contracted hours

    Cons

    Expensive to ensure your family

    Broward County Schools2019-06-24
  10. "Enjoy my time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time

    Pros

    great coworkers, feel like family

    Cons

    no cons to report here

    Broward County Schools2019-06-21
Found 369 reviews