Broward County Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Broward County Schools Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 374 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Broward County Schools CEO Robert W. Runcie
Robert W. Runcie
140 Ratings
  1. "Love Hate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Facilitator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional Development and opportunities for self development. No two days are the same.

    Cons

    The salary is horrible. Even at the district level you’re payed a teacher salary.

    Advice to Management

    Create pathways for leaders that fall outside of school based experience. Not everyone wants to be a principal.

    Broward County Schools2019-03-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Broward County Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time

    Pros

    To enjoy teaching you have to be at a school that has a supportive administration. I have seen both sides and it makes all the difference. The students are the same everywhere. One minute you are being stern with them the next minute they do something to make you laugh/smile.

    Cons

    The district expects even more from teachers while not giving them the best pay. Every year is it something new we have to do in addition to everything else we had to do in the past year.

    Broward County Schools2019-03-13
  3. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cafeteria Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Perfect work schedule.

    Cons

    Supervisors and above should be fair and consistent.

    Advice to Management

    Be more involved in the developement of your employees.

    Broward County Schools2019-02-23
  4. "IT must be about " Vocation""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unique Aid in Lauderhill, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time

    Pros

    To learn that it is not about you..with the years...someone will stop to say thanks.

    Cons

    Students without Parents, discipline is just a word, most of the time not soupor from your school administration, and it is about politics !!

    Advice to Management

    Time to start by changing everyone...school board members , Superintendent...

    Broward County Schools2019-03-22
  5. "High School Math Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - High School Math Teacher in Pembroke Pines, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    excellent esprit de corp among teaching staff

    Cons

    challenging job satisfying needs of students, parents, and administration

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Broward County Schools2019-02-10
  6. "Does not pay educators what they are worth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guidance Director in Broward Highlands, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful, professional people that provide a caring environment for students. Overworked but underpaid.

    Cons

    Technology is extremely outdated with the district using multiple and complicated portals to access student information. The pay is so low it is pathetic. There are few, if any, young teachers in any of the schools that I have encountered. In fact, just the opposite...I encountered a substitute teacher will into her 70's in a public high school. I regularly see elderly-type teachers with canes and walkers,... believe it or not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It is hard to believe that Broward County has so many hard-working educators who are willing to do an incredible amount of work with such little compensation. After 24 years teaching out of state making $84,000, Broward pays me a fraction of that at $46,000, basically what I made in my early years of teaching. Wake up Florida, in order to improve education, you must invest in your teachers.

    Broward County Schools2019-02-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Broward County Schools for less than a year

    Pros

    fun, learning experience, students were ok

    Cons

    large class size, no first year training

    Broward County Schools2019-01-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mental Health Senior Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavior Tech/Specialist in West Park, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Ability to positively impact the live of at-risk children and adolescents

    Cons

    Limited consequences for student that display at-risk behaviors

    Advice to Management

    Positive collaborative behavior interventions saves lives

    Broward County Schools2019-02-05
  9. "Good hours, have to love kid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher Assistant 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Broward County Schools full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours, year round pay, time off

    Cons

    Drama, low pay, miss breaks because of things going on

    Broward County Schools2019-01-31
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Broward County Schools full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Holidays and summers off, plus the salary is better than most in the state.

    Cons

    Way too much politics, and requirements to increase grades for failing kids. This is done so that the school gets a better overall grade, but the student hasn't learned anything and did not deserve a passing grade.

    Advice to Management

    Be more honest.

    Broward County Schools2019-01-22
Found 374 reviews