Brown & Brown Absence Services Group Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Brown & Brown Absence Services Group CEO Mike Shunney
Mike Shunney
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Maybe bagel Fridays but the bagels weren't great either(in 24 reviews)

  • "The Advocator Group is a great place to work(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "I worked at the advocator group for almost a year after graduating college(in 9 reviews)

  • "There's also very little room for climbing up the ladder unless you are related or friends with upper management(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      This company is incredible to be a part of!

      Apr 1, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Daytona Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Higher than average pay, plenty of paid time off, supportive working environment, great benefits, opportunity for advancement

      Cons

      I haven't really found any cons

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A great place to work!

      Apr 2, 2021 - Advocate Liaison in Daytona Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, team mates, and working environment.

      Cons

      No cons at the moment.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Incompetency Abounds

      Mar 23, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Daytona Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is flexible with allowing you to work remotely.

      Cons

      In my experience there is lack of room for career growth. Despite the name, this company is separate from Brown and Brown Insurance - they do not share an HR department. It's an okay place to work for a year or two but you will quickly hit a ceiling if you want to move forward in your career. The pay is very low and most people are paid hourly. Overtime is not encouraged in my department despite the high turnover rate and constant covering of other people's work. The HR department offers a job shadowing program but that's all in terms of career growth and development. The previous CEO was excellent and energetic. Revenue seems to be down under the current CEO and his weekly company wide emails seem self-indulgent. In my experience there is no incentive to work above the bare minimum.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Can't say enough positive things about this company!

      Sep 26, 2020 - Process Specialist in Wakefield, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At TAG, I have always felt like a valued team member. I've been working here for 4 years so far - first as an intern, then as a Process Specialist, and now as a Team Resources Coordinator. With this company, hard work is recognized and rewarded. The core values of this company are not just words on a wall; they are practices I have seen consistently in every roll that I have held here so far. Create Opportunity, Enrich Lives, and Grow through Innovation. Great people to work with and a great cause to work for. Seamless transition from in-person to remote working environment at the start of COVID-19 and still doing everything they can to protect teammate's health so that we can continue to successfully support our clients.

      Cons

      There is a lot of hard work to be done. If you're looking for somewhere to work hard towards a good cause that you believe in alongside a great team, this is the place for you.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Brown & Brown Absence Services Group Response

      We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your time with our organization so much and that you have a positive outlook on the future! It is particularly meaningful to us that you have seen the core values put into action, as these drive our goal to provide disabled individuals with excellent, kind, and compassionate service. Your journey through several different roles within our organization represents the kind of growth and development opportunities we aim to provide all of our teammates. We are pleased to have teammates like you, who share our passion for these values, on board! We are also happy to hear that you have been pleased by our COVID-19 response; the health and safety of our teammates is paramount to us, so we are committed to still providing our clients with exceptional service while remaining in a remote work model until we are confident we can safely bring our teammates back together in-person. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback – we’re glad to have you on the team!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Jan 4, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Wakefield, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Teammates 1st/Health & well-being/Remote work from home/Student loan payback match. The work culture is inclusive, respectful and friendly with engaging activities. TAG keeps teammates informed with monthly town hall meetings. They’re also very receptive to ideas and feedback which is intergraded into the work culture.

      Cons

      No cons at this time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Jan 5, 2021 - Claim Handler in Daytona Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive Management and CEO is awesome!

      Cons

      There isnt any cons Ive found.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      These are not just reviews from disgruntled employees!

      Nov 9, 2020 - Client Advocate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule , holidays & weekends off

      Cons

      Overworked and under appreciated , over priced benefits, low moral

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      People who care

      Jan 25, 2020 - Client Advocate in Daytona Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people not only care about our clients, but also about each employee. The top executives listened to what employees needed most for them to love their jobs. The dress code was changed, flex hours were added, I-Pad stations were made available for use during down time, internal hiring is followed, and shadowing opportunities are available to learn about other jobs in the company. Remote work positions are available. Top executives have an open door policy and Julie Turpin, who knows employees by name, has taken time to teach relaxation time and focuses on "whole person" satisfaction.

      Cons

      The company is constantly looking for ways to improve its service to clients and its efficiency. Sometimes changes are not communicated to the employees who need to know as they do the work on a daily basis. There are no re-training or "brush-up" sessions offered. Our employees are spread out over several offices in Massachusetts and Florida. You don't get to meet them in person even though you work with them everyday. A common complaint is the high expense of health care.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Brown & Brown Absence Services Group Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback – we appreciate your kind words and are happy to have you on our team! We’re pleased to hear that the teammates investments we have implemented over the past year have meant so much to you! Teammate satisfaction is key to our success, so we look forward to continuing to make changes that matter most to our stunning teammates like you! We’re also happy that you have enjoyed and utilized opportunities to get to know our CEO, Julie, better. We also appreciate her willingness to share things that have made an impact in her life personally, like the relaxation techniques you referenced, with our team! Thank you for also sharing honest and constructive feedback regarding communication and training. As a company with multiple office locations, it is important to us that our teammates feel as connected to one another and to our processes as possible. We always push ourselves to think differently about communication and ways it could potentially be improved, as keeping our teammates informed plays a vital role in our success. We also understand your desire to meet your colleagues in person, which is why we’ve recently begun utilizing video technology like Skype and Zoom for meetings to increase visibility and help form deeper relationships. Lastly, regarding the high costs of healthcare, this is something we know matters deeply to our teammates and it is a regular topic of conversation. Changes like this are very challenging to make, but we appreciate your honesty and hope to be able to provide teammates with solutions to this in the future. Thank you, again, for your time and your helpful feedback – we’re looking forward to a great 2020!

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Unreal

      Aug 10, 2020 - Client Advocate in Daytona Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team members Lunches (sometimes) Julie took the time to say good morning to all staff.

      Cons

      Poor management Favoritism Over loaded with claims Poor manners by management Not trustworthy Wants you to be loyal to the Advocator Group but not loyal or respectful to you. High turnover

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Brown & Brown Absence Services Group Response

      We are glad to hear that you enjoy working with your fellow teammates and are sorry to hear that you have not felt supported by members of the management team. You state that members of the management team have behaved improperly by gossiping, demonstrating favoritism, and disrespecting other teammates. We take these claims very seriously, as these behaviors are inconsistent with our core values. However, we cannot engage in further conversation about your experiences on this platform. Since your review indicates you are a current employee, we ask that you please bring your concerns directly to any member of the management or senior leadership team so they can be addressed through the proper channels. We thank you for your time and consideration.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor management

      Aug 9, 2020 - Client Advocator in Daytona Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co workers and little treats here and there.

      Cons

      Poor management team from supervisors up to second in command.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Brown & Brown Absence Services Group Response

      We appreciate when teammates take the time to leave their feedback, and we are sorry to hear that your overall outlook on the company is negative. We take the hiring process very seriously, and while we seek to offer advancement opportunities internally as much as possible, we also regularly make external hires. Ultimately, our hiring decisions are made very carefully to ensure the members of our leadership teams, and teammates in all other roles within the organization, are highly qualified. If you have had a negative experience with a supervisor or other leader or feel that you/your fellow teammates have been treated unfairly, we take that very seriously as well. It’s important to us that our teammates feel heard and valued, and since your review indicates you are a current employee, we strongly encourage you to bring your concerns directly to Human Resources for discussion.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 94 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Brown & Brown Absence Services Group Job Seekers

    Client Advocate
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Brown & Brown Absence Services Group? Share Your Experiences

    Brown & Brown Absence Services Group logo
    or