BrownGreer Reviews | Glassdoor

BrownGreer Reviews

Updated Aug 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 134 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
BrownGreer CEO Orran L. Brown
Orran L. Brown
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great co-workers and a nice work environment(in 8 reviews)

  • "Bonuses, Ice Cream, Co-workers and Fun Budgets(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Micromanagement, no job security(in 16 reviews)

  • "BrownGreer is a project-based company and business needs change year to year(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I've been really happy with the five years that I've spent at BrownGreer and would highly recommend it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Reviewer in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrownGreer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The day to day is relatively fascinating. I enjoy the people with whom I work, and the firm is flexible and promotes a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    The length of your employment can be tenuous, depending on the amount of work available. Similarly, the pay is good but raises and growth potential can be inconsistent.

    BrownGreer2017-05-18
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claim Reviewer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BrownGreer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and good bonuses

    Cons

    At the time they only offered temporary employment

    BrownGreer2019-08-11
  3. "No Growth....Micro managed to death"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications Specialist in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BrownGreer full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Doesn't require much thinking. Made good connections. Good stepping stone job

    Cons

    micro managed. Adults treated like highschoolers. They hire based on projects, and you're easily replaceable as they use 3rd party hiring agencies to fill spots.

    Advice to Management

    Restructure from the ground up. When I worked there, everyone in communications agreed that the system was poor. Most people just didn't leave because they get to comfortable, but would leave in a heartbeat at the sign of a new opportunity. Management is aware, but there's no reason to change anything as that's the nature of the beast. Money is coming in and they're hitting their numbers.

    BrownGreer2019-07-16
  4. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Reviewer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BrownGreer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexibility with schedule

    Cons

    Boring work and no room for growth

    BrownGreer2019-02-21
  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BrownGreer full-time

    Pros

    Very helpful staff everyone helps each other.

    Cons

    Can get very busy very fast.

    BrownGreer2018-11-15
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It was the right fit for me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BrownGreer full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    At the claims reviewer level, BrownGreer provides a solid opportunity for recent grads and JDs to get their foot in the door to a company that works on relevant/newsworthy projects like the BP oil spill and NFL concussion settlements. When I was later promoted to an analyst position, they gave me the opportunity to work across teams and gain valuable management and analytical/reporting experience. The benefits were... solid, my pay was fair-to-good and I rarely took my work home except during a few crunch times. I enjoyed working with a diverse group of co-workers as well as my managers. BG frequently promotes from within and opportunities are definitely available, especially during the ramp-up period for new projects.

    Show More

    Cons

    BrownGreer is a project-based company and business needs change year to year. So, reductions in force were inevitable during my time there (although mass hirings were, too). I found that the best way to ensure job security was to try and excel at my current role while making contacts on other teams to provide me with additional work when my primary projects ran low.

    BrownGreer2018-09-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BrownGreer full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are some very intelligent people.

    Cons

    Worst working experiencing of my life. Will never forget the horrific treatment from upper management. There is zero respect for your personal life or time away from work.

    Advice to Management

    Stand up to Orran and stop letting him treat his colleagues like garbage because he is in a bad mood. Respect time away from work and foster a better work/life balance.

    BrownGreer2018-09-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "While it lasts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BrownGreer full-time

    Pros

    PTO, break rooms, flexible schedule, business casual dress code.

    Cons

    Massive lay offs, favoritism, looks favored over skills

    Advice to Management

    Pay more attention to the people doing the actual work vs all the "managers"

    BrownGreer2018-07-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Seek employment elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Reviewer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BrownGreer full-time

    Pros

    PTO, no other pros about working here.

    Cons

    Seasoned employees are paid the same or less than temporary agency new hires to do the same tasks. This firm will only acknowledge you if you are part of one of the cliques, part of a favored family unit that works there, or are of a specific demographic that they favor. If you are a friend or family member of one of the chosen few, you may receive opportunities not offered to others. If not, don't waste your... time even applying to this poorly managed firm. Tense daily working environment. Lack of adequate training.

    Show More
    BrownGreer2018-05-13
  10. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BrownGreer full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, some fun events

    Cons

    Micromanagement, no job security

    BrownGreer2018-02-19
Found 134 reviews