Brunswick Bowling Products Reviews | Glassdoor

Brunswick Bowling Products Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
5 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Brunswick Bowling Products full-time

    Pros

    Long history of taking care of employees and customers.

    Cons

    Bowling industry is contracting.

    Brunswick Bowling Products2015-11-28
  2. "brunswick"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Birthday Party Host in Ellicott City, MD
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Brunswick Bowling Products

      Pros

      The job paid fairly well because I was a birthday party host which allowed me to make minimum wage in addition to tips, instructions were clear

      Cons

      Hours were very inconsistent and sometimes very long, instructions were unclear at times, not much responsibility or feedback was given

      Advice to Management

      Get younger people to go into management. Alot of the people in charge were old and had been working there for a long time, they would blurt out orders and expect everyone to know exactly what to do without clear instructions.

      Brunswick Bowling Products2016-03-08
    • "Trade Compliance Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Brunswick Bowling Products

      Pros

      Good learning and growth opportunities for lower level employees. I was able to build a solid network by working with other divisions across the corporation.

      Cons

      There was not much room for advancement and the raises for internal promotions were insultingly low.

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of some of those executives. Do you really 100+ executives?

      Brunswick Bowling Products2016-02-17
    • "General Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Brunswick Bowling Products full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      In the distant past it was a great organization, with wonderfully invested leaders who always had your back. They had great expectations, but provided the support & training to allow you to fulfill your true potentials

      Cons

      In the more recent past the leadership changed and seemed to no longer value the multitude of 20+ year veteran managers.

      Advice to Management

      N/A This division was sold off a year ago.

      Brunswick Bowling Products2015-07-06
    • "General Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - General Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Brunswick Bowling Products full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Every guest came to have fun. You can build fantastic friendships and change people's day.

      Cons

      After more than a decade as a manager for Brunswick the bowling center business was sold off to Bowlmor AMF. This was a sad day. Within months all hourly employees lost vacation time completely, management had vacation time reduced, health insurance doubled or tripled in cost, 401k match was yanked, profit sharing was eliminated, and payroll was expected to be cut by 20-30%. Work harder and have your benefits hacked away....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Sell the company, take your profits, and let someone who cares take over. Your focus on immediate profit with little concern over what is right for the long term health of the business and happiness of employees is dispicable.

      Brunswick Bowling Products2015-07-16
    • "Server"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Brunswick Bowling Products

      Pros

      There are none. This place is run by idiots.

      Cons

      Terrible management. Terrible Customers. Terrible pay.

      Advice to Management

      Actually manage people

      Brunswick Bowling Products2015-07-10
    • "A great first job experience and friendly people."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Brunswick Bowling Products part-time

      Pros

      I always felt like I had the backs of my coworkers. There was mutual helpfulness throughout the whole alley and that made everyone's jobs a lot easier.

      Cons

      The downsides of working at brunswick was some of the customers that came in but i suppose thats with any business.

      Advice to Management

      Make sure who you are hiring will get along with everyone else in the alley. The best way I think a company works is that the people who work together actually get along.

      Brunswick Bowling Products2015-05-08
    • "Brunswick's"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Marietta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Brunswick Bowling Products

      Pros

      Everything is well, they give you opportunities to advance, and they are REALLY flexible with your schedule.

      Cons

      Management was unorganized and sloppy most of the time.

      Brunswick Bowling Products2015-01-06
    • "food and beverage manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Food and Beverage Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Brunswick Bowling Products full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      created my own schedule, managers worked on developing me, business to sell fun

      Cons

      pay was below national average for titles, primary worked nights and weekends with long hours, upper management only cared about how you could play the numbers game with them when they played little contribution to the bottom line.

      Advice to Management

      pay employees better and develop employee incentive programs. Also cut out some of the "home office" personnel or have them take pay cuts to save on your payrol

      Brunswick Bowling Products2014-12-21
    • "Brunswick Loyalty"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Brunswick Bowling Products

      Pros

      My co-workers were great and deserve more than the corps give them

      Cons

      No loyalty. Corporate doesn't care about it's employees.

      Advice to Management

      Try knowing your employees better and appreciate them more. The corporate office knows nothing about the facilities around the country or the people that run them. You are just worrying about your paycheck and your job. The little people are the ones who make YOUR salary.

      Brunswick Bowling Products2014-12-16
    Found 45 reviews