Bubbles Salon Reviews | Glassdoor

Bubbles Salon Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Ann Ratner
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Let us keep it real!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Bubbles Salon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of chances to make a great career here!

    Cons

    Better Retail split on sales

    Advice to Management

    Face it, some people aren't meant to be a successful stylist... We all do the same thing from cut to color... we try our best tor achieve our guests request! One thing that is hard to teach or learn is product sales and presentation. You can't buy swag or fake the funk. You can be the greatest colorist or whatever, but if you don't have people/retail skills you basically selling yourself short. Many negative comments...

    Show More
    Bubbles Salon2017-08-25
  2. "Not a long term job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bubbles Salon part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and easy system to learn.

    Cons

    There wasn't any room for growth. Super low pay.

    Bubbles Salon2019-03-19
  3. "Receptionist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Bubbles Salon part-time

      Pros

      There really were no pros

      Cons

      Horrible company and management as well as employees

      Bubbles Salon2018-08-20
    • "Decent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bubbles Salon full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Affordable educational opportunities. ACE training, great place to build your client book and get better at hair because the prices are so cheap.

      Cons

      Difficult to make more money beyond base level, so better to build your skills and clientele for two years or less then leave. Receptionists are paid little, so they have no incentive to care. The low advancement potential for services encourages stylists to focus on speed instead of quality. Dated-looking interior, very 1980s.

      Advice to Management

      Find the staff who do care and try to cultivate their careers by way of promotion, salary raises, and a long-term plan with regular check-ins on progress. Good energy breeds good energy!

      Bubbles Salon2018-07-02
    • "Prejudice, Poor Managment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shampoo Assistant in Arlington, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bubbles Salon part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Employee Discount Great Down to Earth Stylist

      Cons

      too much work for little pay Prejudice management Stressful Working environment Hard to get vacation days

      Advice to Management

      my advice to management is to take communication classes and employee sensitivity classes or to get out of the customer service industry altogether. its not for them.

      Bubbles Salon2018-07-01
    • "Stylist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Rockville, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Bubbles Salon full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      PTO, benefits, education, fun, discounts on retail/tools

      Cons

      Low pay, health care benefits could be better

      Bubbles Salon2018-01-19
    • "Terrible experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Receptionist in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Bubbles Salon part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      A few good co-workers and an opportunity to get hair styled for free

      Cons

      Upper level management is rude and unapproachable, particular stylists tend to treat receptionists harshly, hostile work environment

      Bubbles Salon2018-01-09
    • Helpful (2)

      "Receptionist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Washington, DC
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bubbles Salon part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good manager, fun staff, got my hair done often, learned a lot about hair and products, hours worked well for part-time, it was nice seeing hair transformations, fun place to work at if you're not worried about money

      Cons

      Never given a raise after 2 years, stylists tried bullying you into giving them walk in retail sales, clients yelled at receptionist over the stylist overcharging (what can you do?) because stylists added long hair or flat iron charges even though they actually didn't apply. Stylists were messy and didn't clean up or fold towels.

      Bubbles Salon2016-10-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Stylist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Bubbles Salon

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Awesome education advancement opportunities.

      Cons

      Poor choices in some management.

      Advice to Management

      Remember to show staff they are more valued and appreciated.

      Bubbles Salon2016-09-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "Being a stylist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Bubbles Salon

      Pros

      good coworkers fun atmosphere continuing education

      Cons

      hard to make money long hours picky customers

      Bubbles Salon2016-03-28
    Found 24 reviews