Buck Design Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Buck Design Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Excellent place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Studio Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Buck Design full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people, fun projects, and great work atmosphere

    Cons

    More PTO would be beneficial

    Buck Design2019-08-05
  2. "Depends on what you are looking for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Buck Design for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, nice and friendly people. The vibe is pretty chill. There is no overtime work unless the project is close to its deadline.

    Cons

    I personally figured out this place is not for me. I was looking for a place where I can learn and grow. However, they don't have enough seniors here. Their management/ production is also pretty bad. Everything is so slow. This might be different based on the team....

    Buck Design2019-09-27
  3. "Great team and company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 2D Animator in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Buck Design full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team of talented individuals that are all super friendly and willing to help each other out.

    Cons

    Most exciting projects usually get assigned to freelancers

    Buck Design2019-08-11
  4. "3d Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Buck Design

    Pros

    Chill and casual environment. Talented coworkers trusted each other.

    Cons

    Only one position as each role. Not much space to improve as individual.

    Buck Design2019-01-14
  5. "Great collaborative and creative environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Buck Design full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are incredibly-talented, responsible and dependable. The clients are mostly high profiled. The company, overall, is very stable. Catered lunch is always nice.

    Cons

    The company is in the midst of a significant expansion and management seems to be figuring out the company's identity as a larger body of diverse individuals. Long hours sometimes but that's expected in commercial industry and for a client-based business. Weekend work is compensated fairly.

    Buck Design2018-10-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Overrated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Buck Design for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting building, a bit old and dilapidated

    Cons

    No benefits, bi-polar tendencies

    Buck Design2017-09-29
  7. "Nice Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Systems Administrator in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Buck Design for more than a year

    Pros

    The hours are decent and the people who i got to work with are amazingly creative and in general fun to be around. I only left to go back to school and get my masters degree.

    Cons

    Being on call on the weekends sucks and i have to sometimes go in at odd hours to fix server issues however that is part of the job.

    Advice to Management

    Give us more time not on call it makes it difficult to plan going out with people due to this.

    Buck Design2016-12-06
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Systems Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Buck Design

    Pros

    The Artists and producers are amazing and professional.

    Cons

    The constant micromanaging of some of the people in the LA office makes it VERY hard to get anything done.

    Advice to Management

    Let NY work the way NY likes to work and let LA work the way LA works.

    Buck Design2016-05-12
  9. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Buck Design

    Pros

    Smart and creative people that really love CG. They are all really patient and supporting. They like to answer technical questions and share their experience with interns. Great place.

    Cons

    The deadlines are tight, sometimes has to stay late.

    Buck Design2015-06-11
  10. Helpful (12)

    "Fantastic Team Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Buck Design

    Pros

    Great creative environment with talented and caring support staff.

    Cons

    Long hours and many people work weeks with no day off.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to push back on clients so that your team doesn't get burned out and end up providing diminishing returns.

    Buck Design2014-02-12
Found 12 reviews