Buckman Reviews | Glassdoor

Buckman Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Junai Maharaj
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Family Owned/Private Company, Cares about the community and employees, great culture, growing, many locations available(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Possui quadro enxuto, o que pode levar uma sobrecarga de cada colaborador(in 4 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains as the company gets larger, but exciting nonetheless(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work environment, opportunities to learn and grow, amazing people, great business growth perspective.

    Cons

    Sometimes slow to make decisions.

    Buckman2019-07-08
  2. "Hard to recommend this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing/Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Buckman full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Used to be a stable, family-friendly, positive company.

    Cons

    "New" Buckman has become an environment of nervous workers, negativity, and back-stabbing others to make yourself look good. Employees are scared, afraid they will be the next loyal ones to be tossed to the curb.

    Advice to Management

    Take a hard look at what you're doing.

    Buckman2019-07-05
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay Great environment Friendly employees Excellent benefit options Retiree benefits Open communication from leadership

    Cons

    New employee, no cons so far

    Buckman2019-05-07
  4. "Technical Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Buckman

    Pros

    Amazing place to work. Great for learn and build a career.

    Cons

    High Pressure. Life quality had been lost.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing this great job, guys.

    Buckman2019-04-06
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analytical Chemist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Buckman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent at training their employees.

    Cons

    Direction of the company is unclear right now.

    Buckman2019-02-14
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of Change/Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Buckman full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well established, privately-held company with long, stable history to this point.

    Cons

    Currently undergoing a lot of changes to strategy and organizational structure, resulting in growing pains and more turnover than historically normal. Stressful environment. Lot of recent terminations, cutting of workforce. Profits are down.

    Buckman2019-02-10
  7. "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Buckman full-time

    Pros

    flexible hours and fairly regular training

    Cons

    unknown future and limited access to resources

    Advice to Management

    Support all scientists.

    Buckman2018-11-01
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckman full-time

    Pros

    I had always heard Buckman was an amazing company to work for and when a position in my field opened up I applied immediately. The people are so nice here. I feel challenged everyday and could not enjoy my job more.

    Cons

    Honestly, I don't really have any cons about working here. The only thing I could say is that things move slowly sometimes, but that's true with almost job.

    Buckman2018-07-13
  9. "Company with great value and friendly colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Buckman full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company has a great value (100% responsibility, trust, communication, healthy conflict, etc). Everyone in the company is friendly and easy to work with, which is great for introverted researcher like me. In R&D, we also have our own office and spacious research bay. What is even better is a lot of training available throughout the year if we want to develop certain work-related skills.

    Cons

    None so far for two months' working at Buckman.

    Buckman2018-04-12
  10. "Best Job Right Out Of College!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Buckman full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started interning at Buckman right out of college and knew a month into it that I wanted to be here full time. The culture is truly phenomenal. Everyone is friendly and helpful. My team has taught me so much! I couldn't have asked for a better job.

    Cons

    I don't have any complaints. The job is fast-paced and exciting. But that is a good thing.

    Buckman2018-04-12
Found 61 reviews