Bulk Barn Foods Reviews | Glassdoor

Bulk Barn Foods Reviews

Updated Feb 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
17%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Bulk Barn Foods CEO Craig Ofield (no image)
Craig Ofield
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours for students/part time(in 7 reviews)

  • "Easy work, hired with a joke of an interview(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, concerns are largely ignored by head office(in 12 reviews)

  • "Full - Time positions are not available(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company culture

    Cons

    no cons. Love the company

    Bulk Barn Foods2019-08-21
  2. "Good entry level starting point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stock Manager in Ontario, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Bulk Barn Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    teaches the basics to service industry standards business can be seasonal meaning you are given downtime throughout the year to learn more skills Depending on the location the work environment can be rewarding

    Cons

    Head offices lack of communication can understanding of ground level work can lead to headaches.

    Bulk Barn Foods2018-04-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Poor training, too many demands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Team Member in Ontario, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff Variety of duties Relaxed interview

    Cons

    Manager was cruel and abusive Training was not thorough enough Excessive knowledge expected of newcomers

    Bulk Barn Foods2016-07-27
  4. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, and good food.

    Cons

    Lots of cleaning was involved.

    Continue reading
    Bulk Barn Foods2020-02-19
  5. "Excellent place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Store Associate in Ottawa, ON
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture, hours are good for students, work is relatively light

    Cons

    the rate of pay could be a bit better

    Continue reading
    Bulk Barn Foods2020-02-13
  6. "average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser 

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers. Reasonable manager. Not a lot of stress.

    Cons

    Not enough employee. Assigned too much in to little time when closing

    Bulk Barn Foods2020-02-12
  7. "Very negative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Keyholder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount and some people I work with

    Cons

    No training hours so people are undertrained from cashier to management. Definitely no leaders in this company. No where to move up and if you do, the higher you go the faster you can fall. Write-ups are more encouraged than praise. Micromanage literally everything. Managers are more like puppets that kiss butt. Higher ups don't offer help because they are too worried about someone else taking their job. Too much manipulation and lies.

    Continue reading
    Bulk Barn Foods2020-02-24
  8. "Great work environment, very low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing co-workers, had such a fun time working there -Great way to interact with people -Incredibly flexible

    Cons

    -Low pay for supervisors, they receive twice as less of a salary than the store manager even though both jobs are incredibly similar. -Management doesn't really care about their employees -High turnover

    Bulk Barn Foods2020-02-08
  9. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with. Fun environment.

    Cons

    YOu have to memorize a lot of the codes.

    Bulk Barn Foods2020-02-06
  10. "Lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Bulk Barn Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Schedule is very flexible.

    Cons

    Management does not care about you. Clients will do anything to walk all over you.

    Bulk Barn Foods2020-01-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 149 reviews